Mary already

In tempore pestilencie - counterfactual for a given occasion
Fri 15.05.20

Online

Mary already - In tempore pestilenciae

“Maria zart” is a movement by the otherwise unknown Pfabinschwantz, which we had planned to perform at the Barfüsserkirche on the occasion of the opening concert of the new ReRenaissance series – a meeting of musicians and listeners that seems unthinkably far away at this point. When we play this piece, we like to give a tongue-in-cheek account of the notion at the time that anyone who played or heard it was immune from the “French disease” (and received 40 days worth of purgatory indulgences to boot). Although none of us is superstitious enough to assume that a song could mysteriously save us from the recent pandemic, we think there is a shred of truth in the notion that music can invigorate the mental state and strengthen it against the unseen enemy.

“Maria zart”, in this setting by the otherwise unknown Pfabinschwantz, was in the program for the opening concert of the ReRenaissance series in Basel – a meeting of musicians and listeners which in this moment seems unthinkably far away. When we perform this piece we are happy to be able to tell our audience, with a wink, that anyone who plays or hears it will be immune to the “French illness”, and also receive an indulgence of 40 days from purgatory; such was the belief at the time it was written. Although none of us now is superstitious enough to think that listening to a song can mysteriously save us from the pandemic, there is a glimmer of truth in the idea that music can elevate the mind and strengthen it against the invisible enemy.

Jacob Lawrence – Tenor

Baptiste Romain – Clein violin

Tabea Schwartz – Great violin

Elizabeth Rumsey – Grand Violin

Marc Lewon – lute

Direction: grassroots

Video audio editing: Leonardo Bortolotto

IN TEMPORE PESTILENTIAE

Mary already, you wear the crown of angels as a prince. You step up and give us rest. The sinner thirsts for it, so that in distress he may follow his commandment and thus be delivered from the burden. So we ask you, now speak for us and report the request: Lord, protect us all from the great death. Your’ divine power may acquire the Confederation in adversity. (Marco Leoni – Note also the coronas/fermatas in the facsimile from his hand).

IN TIME OF PESTILENCE Beautiful Maria, You wear, like a prince, the crown granted you by the angels. Come near to us and give us Peace. May the sinner in his distress thirst to turn towards His guidance, and so be delivered from tribulation. Thus, we implore you, intercede for us now and present our plea: Lord, protect us all from the Great Death. May the Swiss Confederation in this time of affliction be granted your divine strength. (Marco Leoni)

Video

Mary already

The first three concerts in 2020 had to be postponed, so this counterfactual by Maria Zart was created, song lyrics with reference to the Corona.

Interview

Elisabeth Stähelin, initiator and administrative director of the association and the monthly concerts “ReRenaissance”, is interviewed by Dr. Thomas Christ, enthusiastic concertgoer and lover of the Basel cultural scene, who, with a degree in art history and ius and a lot of life experience under his belt, has been supporting ReRenaissance on the board since January.

{%CAPTION%}

Thomas Christ (TC): At the end of last year, a new association was formed in Basel that wants to dedicate itself exclusively to early music – this despite the fact that, especially in Basel’s baroque scene, several renowned ensembles have been struggling for survival for many years. What are your motivations?

Elisabeth Stähelin (ES): I have noticed in recent years that, on the one hand, there are some Baroque fans who comment on a repeat performance of, for example, Vivaldi’s Seasons with “Perhaps another piece could have been played” – and that, on the other hand, Renaissance music is finding a slowly but steadily growing and increasingly sympathetic audience, even though it still has to be described as exclusive and the concerts have to be searched for with a magnifying glass.

In addition, and this is an important point, Basel and the region are home to a concentration of experts in Renaissance music that is unique in the world. This results from the fact that the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis – the name of the Early Music Department of the Academy of Music and the FHNW School of Music, respectively – attracts professionals from all over the world with its teaching content and high quality. In Basel, we have a beacon of early music – I much prefer to call it early music rather than early music, and I hope that this designation will become established in the German-speaking world.

Not only the history, religion, philosophy and aesthetics of the years 1400-1600 differ greatly from later times, but also the music; we want to open up a new field of experience for the audience.

TC: The program design has already progressed into 2021; what is it about in terms of timing and content?

ES: To be honest: This question does not concern my profession! We have narrowed down the music to the period from 1400 to 1600, but I have nothing to do with the programming directly. This task is in the hands of the musical steering committee, consisting of recorder player and gambist Tabea Schwartz, lutenist Prof. Dr. Marc Lewon and gambist Elizabeth Rumsey. They are currently working to complete the program for 2021. Personally, it is simply very important to me that the most diverse corners of Renaissance music and the world are covered – for example, we want to consider dance music, outdoor ensembles or rare instruments – highly polyphonic as well as monodic compositions should be performed as well as music from other European strongholds of the Renaissance.

TC: What is the connection to Basel?

ES: Basel was an important center of the Renaissance; think of the Basel Council 1431-1449 or the founding of the University in 1460; during this period, paper making and letterpress printing flourished here. In Basel, quite a few still unknown treasures of the Renaissance can be discovered, for example in the manuscript collection of the university. The March program was based on the Kettenacker songbook from the Amerbach collection. In Basel, there are still some well-preserved buildings from the Renaissance, such as the Spiesshof on the Heuberg with its famous coffered ceiling or the town hall. The political structures of the city of Basel that are still in place today find their roots in this period.

TC: How did the collaboration with the Historisches Museum Basel come about?

ES: Since May 2019, we were looking for suitable premises. We rattled around Basel looking for Renaissance venues suitable for concerts. We discovered much more than expected: Kaisersaal, Münstersaal in Bischofshof, various guild halls such as Safran- or Schlüsselzunft, Zum hohen Dolder, Schützensaal, etc. We could well have found a special room for each concert. In the end, the main concern was to find a central location for the concerts, which take place on the last Sunday of each month, that would make it possible to present a wide variety of musical formats without the musicians and the audience having to reorient themselves each time. The Barfüsserkirche is optimally accessible, and the collaboration with the Historical Museum turns out to be very inspiring.

TC: Renaissance music is probably less known even to the inclined audience than the compositions of the following centuries. Will the performance series be enriched with lectures or appropriate texts?

ES: How exactly the interface between museum operations and the concert will function logistically on Sunday afternoon still seems a bit unclear; we have to gather experience first. We hope to be able to offer accompanying introductory lectures from 2021 onwards. For the time being, we will print a detailed program booklet in each case and provide advance information on the website with illustrations and texts. This includes in particular the monthly column on the concert by Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. David Fallows and a monthly interview with a musician or another person involved in the project. With the monthly newsletter we always point out the updates.

TC: You were able to attract renowned ensembles for the monthly concerts. Who is responsible for the program design?

ES: As far as the mention of well-known ensembles is concerned, I must clearly disagree. The program includes many musicians from well-known ensembles, but no such ensembles per se. This is precisely one of the special features of our project: unlike most other concert series, we start with a content-related theme and then look for musicians* from the region who can realize this theme together in the best possible way. For each concert we put together a specific, new concert group – although that is not one of my tasks either, but the task of the aforementioned three-person management team responsible for the music.TC: Are performances in other Swiss cities also planned?

ES: Other concert organizers have already approached us with this question, but our priority at the moment is to establish this series in Basel. We hope that a large and stable regular audience will develop among the Basel population. However, we think that our series will definitely spread throughout Switzerland over time. We already receive support, for example, from the Göhner Foundation based in Zug or a private benefactor from Lucerne.

TC: Does the Department of Culture of the Canton of Basel-Stadt support the project or do you live off private third-party funding, i.e. foundations?

ES: We are very happy and grateful that quite a few foundations and private benefactors have confidence in us and the project, so that we can definitely start. From the municipal side, we receive support contributions for two specific concerts of this season through the Swisslos Fund Basel-Stadt.

TC: How are you dealing with the Corona crisis? I assume there will be program shifts. Does that cause problems, especially in terms of venues?

ES: As far as the venue is concerned, we already have the commitment of the Historisches Museum Basel that we can continue to use the Barfüsserkirche in 2021. Unfortunately, just the first two concerts had to be canceled. However, we can plan the monthly concerts on a rolling basis, so to speak, and simply jump in as soon as health conditions make concerts possible again. Fortunately, the foundations also show great understanding for the complex situation.

TC: You’ve been working on this project for almost a year now. How do you personally experience this work?

ES: In the 80s I was active in concert life myself and led an ensemble for baroque and classical music as a violinist, then I shifted my work mainly to violin pedagogy. I now very much enjoy the challenges in the conceptual work and in the set-up for this concert series and experience it as a great enrichment; I am, after all, virtually “the girl for everything”: be it the immersion in the world of foundations, the double-entry bookkeeping, the copywriting or the design of the website, be it the design of the advertising that is as artistically appropriate as possible – the fact that we can produce the monthly flyers in letterpress in cooperation with the Paper Museum, for example, pleases me very much.

The cooperation in the steering committee and the board of directors is excellent, the support for our project among the musicians and the scientific advisory board is enormous.

2024

September

The Bassanos

Homage to the recorder family
Sun 29.09.24 18:15 Concert

Barfüsserkirche,
Historical Museum Basel

October

Magnum opus musicum 1604

Tribute to Orlando di Lasso
Sun 27.10.24 18:15 Concert

Martinskirche
Basel

November

Du Fay 550

Music for a lifetime
Sun 24.11.24 18:15 Concert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

December

Now sing and rejoice

Sing-along Concert
Sun 29.12.24 17:45 Workshop 18:15 Concert

Barfüsserkirche

Maria schon

In tempore pestilencie – Kontrafaktur aus gegebenem Anlass
Fr 15.05.20

Online

Maria schon – In tempore pestilenciae

«Maria zart» ist ein Satz des ansonsten unbekannten Pfabinschwantz, den wir anlässlich des Eröffnungskonzerts der neuen Reihe ReRenaissance in der Barfüsserkirche aufführen wollten – eine Begegnung von Musikern und Zuhörern, die uns zu diesem Zeitpunkt undenkbar weit entfernt erscheint. Wenn wir dieses Stück spielen, berichten wir gerne augenzwinkernd von der damaligen Vorstellung, dass jeder, der es spielte oder hörte, vor der „französischen Krankheit“ gefeit war (und obendrein Ablass im Wert von 40 Tagen Fegefeuer erhielt). Obgleich keiner von uns so abergläubig ist, anzunehmen, dass uns ein Lied auf mysteriöse Weise vor der jüngsten Pandemie bewahren könnte, denken wir, dass ein Fünkchen Wahrheit in der Vorstellung liegt, Musik könne die geistige Verfassung kräftigen und gegen den unsichtbaren Feind stärken.

“Maria zart”, in this setting by the otherwise unknown Pfabinschwantz, was in the programme for the opening concert of the ReRenaissance series in Basel – a meeting of musicians and listeners which in this moment seems unthinkably far away. When we perform this piece we are happy to be able to tell our audience, with a wink, that anyone who plays or hears it will be immune to the „French illness“, and also receive an indulgence of 40 days from purgatory; such was the belief at the time it was written. Although none of us now is superstitious enough to think that listening to a song can mysteriously save us from the pandemic, there is a glimmer of truth in the idea that music can elevate the mind and strengthen it against the invisible enemy.

Jacob Lawrence – Tenor

Baptiste Romain – Clein Geige

Tabea Schwartz – Groß Geige

Elizabeth Rumsey – Groß Geige

Marc Lewon – Laute

Regie: basisdemokratisch

Video-Audioschnitt: Leonardo Bortolotto

IN TEMPORE PESTILENTIAE

Maria schon, du trägst die Kron‘ der Engel als ein Fürste. Tritt du herzu und gib uns Ruh‘. Der Sünder darnach dürste, dass er in Not nach sei’m Gebot sich richte und so werde erlöset von der Schwerde. So bitt‘ wir dich, nu für uns sprich und meld‘ die Bitt‘: Herr, uns behüt‘ all‘ vor dem großen Sterben. Dein‘ göttlich‘ Kraft die Eidg’noßschaft mög‘ in der Not erwerben. (Marco Leoni – Man beachte auch die Coronas/Fermaten im Facsimile aus seiner Hand)

IN TIME OF PESTILENCE Beautiful Maria, You wear, like a prince, the crown granted you by the angels. Come near to us and give us Peace. May the sinner in his distress thirst to turn towards His guidance, and so be delivered from tribulation. Thus, we implore you, intercede for us now and present our plea: Lord, protect us all from the Great Death. May the Swiss Confederation in this time of affliction be granted your divine strength. (Marco Leoni)

Video

Maria schon

Die ersten drei Konzerte 2020 mussten verschoben werden, da entstand diese Kontrafaktur von Maria Zart, Liedtext mit Bezug auf die Corona.

Interview

Elisabeth Stähelin, Initiatin und administrative Leiterin des Vereins und der Monatskonzerte «ReRenaissance», wird interviewt von Dr. Thomas Christ, begeisterter Konzertgänger und Liebhaber der Basler Kulturszene, der mit einem Studium von Kunstgeschichte und Ius und viel Lebenserfahrung im Gepäck seit Januar ReRenaissance im Vorstand unterstützt.

Elisabeth Stähelin

Thomas Christ (TC): In Basel formierte sich Ende letzten Jahres ein neuer Verein, der sich ausschliesslich der Frühen Musik widmen will – dies obwohl insbesondere in der Basels Barockszene seit vielen Jahren einige namhafte Ensembles ums Überleben kämpfen. Was sind eure Beweggründe?

Elisabeth Stähelin (ES): Mir ist in den letzten Jahren aufgefallen, dass es einerseits bei den Barockfans doch zum Teil Leute gibt, die eine nochmalige Aufführung z. B. der Jahreszeiten von Vivaldi mit „Vielleicht hätte man auch ein anderes Stück spielen können?“ kommentieren – dass anderseits Renaissance-Musik eine langsam aber stetig wachsende und immer verständnisvollere Zuhörerschaft findet, wiewohl man diese immer noch eher als exklusiv bezeichnen muss und die Konzerte mit der Lupe zu suchen sind.

Dazu kommt, und das ist ein wichtiger Punkt, dass Basel und die Region seitens der Musiker*innen ein weltweit in dieser Konzentration einmaliges Potential an Expert*innen für Renaissancemusik beherbergt. Das ergibt sich daraus, dass die Schola Cantorum Basiliensis – so heisst die Abteilung für Alte Musik der Musikakademie bzw. der Hochschule für Musik FHNW – mit ihrem Unterrichtsinhalt und ihrer hochstehenden Qualität Fachpersonen aus der ganzen Welt anzieht. Wir verfügen da in Basel quasi über einen Leuchtturm der Frühen Musik – ich nenne sie viel lieber Frühe als Alte Musik und hoffe, dass sich diese Bezeichnung im deutschsprachigen Raum durchsetzt.

Nicht nur Geschichte, Religion, Philosophie und Ästhetik der Jahre 1400–1600 unterscheiden sich stark von der späteren Zeit, sondern auch die Musik; wir wollen dem Publikum damit ein neues Erlebnisfeld eröffnen.

TC: Die Programmgestaltung ist bereits bis ins 2021 gediehen; worum geht es in zeitlicher und inhaltlicher Hinsicht?

ES: Ehrlich gesagt: Diese Frage betrifft nicht mein Metier! Wir haben die Musik auf die Zeit von 1400 bis 1600 eingegrenzt, aber mit der Programmgestaltung habe ich direkt gar nichts zu tun. Diese Aufgabe liegt in den Händen des musikalischen Leitungskreises, bestehend aus der Blockflötistin und Gambistin Tabea Schwartz, dem Lautenisten Prof. Dr. Marc Lewon und der Gambistin Elizabeth Rumsey. Sie sind momentan daran, das Programm für 2021 zu vervollständigen. Mir persönlich ist es einfach sehr wichtig, dass verschiedenste Ecken der Renaissancemusik und der Welt abgedeckt werden – zum Beispiel wollen wir Tanzmusik, Outdoor-Ensembles oder seltene Instrumente berücksichtigen –höchst polyphone wie auch monodische Kompositionen sollen zur Aufführung kommen wie auch Musik aus anderen europäischen Hochburgen der Renaissance.

TC: Worin besteht der Bezug zu Basel?

ES: Basel war ein bedeutendes Zentrum der Renaissance; man denke an das Basler Konzil 1431–1449 oder an die Gründung der Universität 1460; in dieser Zeit erblühten hier die Papierherstellung und der Buchdruck. In Basel sind nicht wenige noch unbekannte Schätze der Renaissance zu entdecken, so zum Beispiel in der Handschriftensammlung der Universität. Das Märzprogramm beruhte auf dem Liederbuch des Kettenacker aus der Amerbach-Sammlung. In Basel stehen noch einige gut erhaltene Bauten aus der Renaissance, wie zum Beispiel der Spiesshof am Heuberg mit seiner berühmten Kassettendecke oder das Rathaus. Die heute noch geltenden politischen Strukturen der Stadt Basel finden ihre Wurzeln in dieser Zeit.

TC: Wie kam es zur Zusammenarbeit mit dem Historischen Museum Basel?

ES: Seit Mai 2019 waren wir auf der Suche nach geeigneten Räumen. Wir klapperten Basel nach für Konzerte geeigneten Renaissanceräumlichkeiten ab. Dabei entdeckten wir viel mehr als erwartet: Kaisersaal, Münstersaal im Bischofshof, diverse Zunftsäle wie Safran- oder Schlüsselzunft, Zum hohen Dolder, Schützensaal etc. Wir hätten durchaus für jedes Konzert einen speziellen Raum finden können. Schlussendlich lag doch das Anliegen im Vordergrund, für die am letzten Sonntag jedes Monats stattfindenden Konzerte einen zentralen Ort zu finden, der es ermöglicht, verschiedenste Formate der Musik zu präsentieren, ohne dass die Musiker*innen und das Publikum sich jedes Mal wieder neu orientieren müssen. Die Barfüsserkirche ist optimal erreichbar, und die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Historischen Museum entpuppt sich als sehr inspirierend.

TC: Renaissancemusik ist auch dem geneigten Publikum wahrscheinlich weniger bekannt als die Kompositionen der folgenden Jahrhunderte. Wird die Aufführungsreihe mit Vorträgen oder entsprechenden Texten bereichert?

ES: Wie genau am Sonntag-Nachmittag die Schnittstelle vom Museumsbetrieb zum Konzert logistisch funktionieren wird, scheint noch etwas unklar, da müssen wir erst Erfahrungen sammeln. Wir hoffen, ab 2021 dann auch jeweils begleitende Vorträge zur Einführung anbieten zu können. Vorerst werden wir jeweils ein ausführliches Programmheft drucken und auf der Webseite vorweg mit Illustrationen und Texten informieren. Dazu gehören insbesondere auch die monatliche Kolumne zum Konzert von Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. David Fallows und ein monatliches Interview mit einer Musiker*in oder einer im Projekt involvierten anderen Person. Mit dem monatlichen Newsletter weisen wir jeweils auf die Aktualisierungen hin.

TC: Für die allmonatlichen Konzerte konntet ihr namhafte Ensembles gewinnen. Wer ist für die Programmgestaltung verantwortlich?

ES: Was die Erwähnung namhafter Ensembles betrifft, muss ich klar widersprechen. Wohl findet man im Programm viele Musiker*innen aus namhaften Ensembles, aber keine solchen Ensembles an sich. Das ist gerade eine der Besonderheiten unseres Projekts: Anders als die meisten anderen Konzertreihen gehen wir von einem inhaltlichen Thema aus und suchen dann Musiker*innen aus der Region, die dieses Thema gemeinsam optimal verwirklichen können. Für jedes Konzert stellen wir eine spezifische, neue Konzertgruppe zusammen – wobei das allerdings auch nicht zu meinen Aufgaben zählt, sondern die Aufgabe des obengenannten für die Musik zuständigen Dreierleitungsteams ist.TC: Sind auch Auftritte in anderen Schweizer Städten geplant?

ES: Andere Konzertveranstalter sind zwar mit dieser Frage schon auf uns zugekommen, aber prioritär liegt unser Ziel momentan darin, diese Reihe in Basel zu etablieren. Wir hoffen, dass sich in der Basler Bevölkerung ein grosses und stabiles Stammpublikum entwickelt. Wir denken aber, dass unsere Reihe durchaus mit der Zeit auch schweizweit ausstrahlen wird. Schon jetzt erhalten wir Unterstützung zum Beispiel durch die Göhner-Stiftung mit Sitz in Zug oder einen privaten Gönner aus Luzern.

TC: Unterstützt das Kulturdepartement des Kantons Basel-Stadt das Projekt oder lebt ihr von privaten Drittmitteln, sprich von Stiftungen?

ES: Wir sind sehr froh und dankbar, dass nicht wenige Stiftungen und private Gönner Vertrauen in uns und das Projekt legen, so dass wir definitiv starten können. Von städtischer Seite erhalten wir Unterstützungsbeiträge an zwei spezifische Konzerte dieser Saison durch den Swisslos-Fonds Basel-Stadt.

 TC: Wie geht ihr mit der Corona Krise um? Ich nehme an, es kommt zu Programmverschiebungen. Führt das insbesondere in Sachen Veranstaltungsorte zu Problemen?

ES: Was den Veranstaltungsort betrifft, haben wir schon jetzt die Zusage des Historischen Museums Basel, dass wir 2021 weiter die Barfüsserkirche nutzen können. Leider mussten gerade die ersten beiden Konzerte abgesagt werden. Wir können mit den allmonatlichen Konzerten aber quasi rollend planen und steigen einfach ein, sobald die gesundheitlichen Bedingungen Konzerte wieder ermöglichen. Auch die Stiftungen bringen erfreulicherweise grosses Verständnis für die komplexe Situation auf.

TC: Du arbeitest jetzt bald schon ein Jahr für dieses Projekt. Wie erlebst du persönlich diese Arbeit?

ES: In den 80er Jahren war ich selbst im Konzertleben aktiv und leitete als Geigerin ein Ensemble für Barock und Klassik, dann verlegte ich meine Arbeit schwerpunktmässig in die Violinpädagogik. Ich geniesse jetzt die Herausforderungen in der Konzeptarbeit und im Aufbau für diese Konzertreihe sehr und erlebe es als eine grosse Bereicherung; ich bin ja quasi „Mädchen für alles“: sei es das Eintauchen in die Welt der Stiftungen, die doppelte Buchhaltung, das Texten oder die Gestaltung der Webseite, sei es die möglichst künstlerisch passende Gestaltung der Werbung – dass wir die Monatsflyer in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Papiermuseum im Buchdruckverfahren produzieren können, gefällt mir zum Beispiel sehr.

Die Zusammenarbeit im Leitungskreis und im Vorstand klappt hervorragend, der Support für unser Projekt unter den Musiker*innen und im wissenschaftlichen Beirat ist enorm.

2024

September

Die Bassanos

Hommage an die Blockflöte
So 29.09.24 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Oktober

Magnum opus musicum 1604

Nachruf auf Orlando di Lasso
So 27.10.24 18:15 Konzert

Martinskirche
Basel

November

Du Fay 550

Musik fürs ganze Leben
So 24.11.24 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Dezember

Nun singet

... und seid froh!
So 29.12.24 17:45 Mitsing-Workshop 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel