Lamentations

A Lenten Evensong with music by Thomas Tallis
Sun 25.02.24 Concerts 17:15 and 19:15

Kartäuserkirche
Basel

The horse trapped with velvet, led by two equerries; the Sargeant of the Vestrie; Children of the Chapel Royal. Part of the funeral procession of Queen Elizabeth I to Westminster Abbey, 28 April 1603 © British Library

"T

allis is dead, and Music dies.” Thus wrote William Byrd in his elegy on the death of his teacher, Thomas Tallis. Tallis, affectionately known as the father of English music, took up his post in the royal chapel in 1543 and served the British royal family for more than 40 years. He maintained his reputation as the country’s greatest composer during the turbulent reigns of four monarchs with changing faiths. He continually adapted his compositional style to suit Protestant and Catholic sensibilities, earning the favor of his respective rulers.

Tallis’ Lamentations are of monumental importance to the English choral tradition. Probably composed in the early years of Elizabeth I’s reign, these settings subtly demonstrate the unique so-called ‘ambidenominational’ style that emerged from the constant vacillation between Protestant and Catholic during Tallis’s lifetime.

In the form of a Lenten Evensong, a vocal ensemble joined by an organ frame Tallis’ Lamentations with other works from throughout his life, providing an intimate insight into one of the most important compositional works of the English Renaissance.

Jacob Lawrence – voice; direction

Tessa Roos – voice

Loïc Paulin – voice

Henry van Engen – voice

Elam Rotem – voice

Joseph Laming – organ

Loïc, Henry, Tessa, Jakob, Elam

Video

Lamentations

Aus der Probe zu «Lamentations»  – Englische Vokalmusik zur Fastenzeit. Jacob Lawrence, Elam Rotem, Henry van Engen, Tessa Roos und Loïc Paulin, Gesang. Video von Vivianne Caragea.

Interview

Jacob Lawrence, director and singer in February’s concert, answers questions from Thomas Christ.

It is a pleasure and an honor for our Forum of Early Music to invite the Australian tenor for an interview. He has been known to our audiences for years, since Jacob Lawrence has often performed in our concert series in the Barfüsserkirche and made prominent guest appearances abroad.

TC: Of course we are aware of the international appeal of our Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, but let me start by asking you a question: How does a boy soprano in Melbourne end up in Basel at the Schola Cantorum? What mentors and circumstances led you to Switzerland in 2016?

JL: My mother is a harpsichordist and my father a church musician, so I grew up in a house full of early music. All through my vocal studies degree in Australia, I engaged more and more with early music as part of my own career, but when I finished that degree, I wasn’t sure what my next step would be. I was in love with Renaissance music, and it felt back then like a language that I’d learned by immersion, without any understanding of its grammar and syntax. A friend of mine who had studied cornetto in England mentioned the Schola to me and gave me Anne Smith’s “Performing 16th century music” to read, and I fell completely in love with it. The perspective this book gave me, as well as his encouragement and meeting students from the Schola at summer schools around Europe all led me to audition at the Schola, where I studied for 4 years.

TC: You are a well-known figure among Renaissance music lovers, yet your international performances, as well as the prizes you have received, are in the field of Baroque music – two neighboring disciplines, but we would like to know something about the different approach to that style of music, of course from the singer’s point of view, perhaps in terms of freedom of interpretation, drama or narrative art.

JL: The freedom of interpretation for any performer is a very interesting question. Baroque music today is more often performed in institutions that function in the mainstream, such as opera houses and large festivals, and hence there are simply more stages for which to develop a manner of performing this music than Renaissance music. This leads to a greater saturation of baroque music in the mainstream and creates a broader and more homogenous style, which it is relatively easier for a singer to emulate, as opposed to in Renaissance music, where I feel that a lot of people, myself included, feel a great pressure to newly decode music for every performance, and find a sound that best suits each individual microcosm of style. On top of this, there is a perception that as the Baroque is not so far back in history as the Renaissance, and it’s performative traditions closer to those that still exist today (for instance public opera houses), it is easier to find our way to its sound through the living tradition that led from it, of which we as modern singers are still a part. I guess that because there is more of an established performance style in baroque music, there are fewer questions, so people often feel more free to simply perform and engage, whereas in Renaissance music, where we often feel as if all we have are questions, there is a much larger pressure to present an individually thought out and cohesive new style for every project.

TC: Today there is more and more experimentation in the so-called cross-over area, or a possible dialog between the improvisation patterns of early music and jazz. What do you think of this?

JL: The freedom, fluidity, and risk taking that many masterful Jazz musicians feel and display, which is the result of thousands of hours of immersion in, and highly focussed study of the styles they are performing, are absolutely something that all musicians should aspire to emulate. Improvisation is one aspect, but I don’t feel that doing early music “like jazz” or having a jazz player among early musicians necessarily leads to better improvisation. We should all be inspired by the amount of hard work that goes into performing anything at a high level, and while it’s always good to have a level to aspire to, I think people perhaps get too carried away with shortcuts to improvisation, and don’t give enough importance to simply studying their style. In the end, jazz performers simply know their style so well that they can produce it in the moment, and I think this is certainly something early musicians should try to emulate in our own field. All that being said, early music/jazz crossovers can certainly yield fun results!

TC: In addition to Monteverdi’s “Ulysses” and Purcell’s “Aeneas”, you also sang in Haydn’s opera “Armida”. Aren’t they worlds apart when it comes to vibrato, for example? Can every tenor manage that, or where do you see the different skills that need to be mastered?

JL: I think that performing at a high level in many different styles makes it much harder to have a cohesive and secure technique in any one of them. If one assumes that vocal technique has vastly changed since the 16th century, and that performing Verdelot madrigals and Händel opera require vastly different techniques, one does run into problems. Each of us has only one voice, and though it is possible to train and use parallel muscle memories and capabilities, it is much, much easier to use one at a time. There’s a reason that an olympic runner doesn’t train for the 100m and the marathon at the same time, or even in the same lifetime, though they both use the same fundamental physical mechanics. I love so many different styles, and part of the joy of my career is slipping into them whenever I can, so even though it provides more challenges, I don’t think I would be happy doing it any other way.

TC: As a baroque singer, you witnessed the rediscovery of Baroque music on the big stages. Fifty years ago, many Baroque pieces were still little known to a wide audience. How do you assess the process of rediscovering the rich repertoire of the Renaissance – will this music remain a niche product or will this more intimate music also find its way into the media mainstream?

JL: I’m so happy that Baroque music has found its way into the mainstream to the degree that it has, and I think it has earned and is well suited to its place there. I would be very happy if there were more opportunities to perform Renaissance music and develop its performance, but I think that there are unique challenges which mean that we need to fundamentally rethink the way it is presented. A lot of Baroque music which we consume today was written for big audiences and big stages, with the support of huge amounts of funding by rich patrons. Today we still have big audiences and big stages, but how best to perform a madrigal intended to be sung by friends sitting around the dinner table, or lute suites to be played behind a curtain to help the king get to sleep? The music is beautiful and can still be appreciated by an audience in a concert hall, but it lacks something which a Mahler symphony, designed for the concert hall and still performed there today, does not. Of course audiences don’t necessarily consider context, but I think it’s really important for performers to interrogate how we ask for the public’s engagement, rather than simply giving up and saying “no one wants to hear Renaissance music”. It’s really exciting today to see how people are managing to present Renaissance music in ways that it engages with audiences outside of a traditional concert hall context.

 

Column

Why I’ll be there …
David Fallows

If you ask lovers of sixteenth-century music what is the most perfect composition from the middle of the century, quite a few would instantly reply “The Lamentations of Thomas Tallis”. But actually, as with almost everything by Tallis, we really have no idea when he composed them. Almost all his music is known only from manuscripts copied long after his death, with the striking exception of the motets in his joint publication with Byrd, Cantiones sacrae (1575). And what is demonstrated with particular clarity in John Milsom’s recent edition of the Cantiones sacrae (Early English Church Music, vol. 56: 2014) is that Tallis went through any number of recompositions of his works. So from the researcher’s or the historian’s viewpoint Tallis is one of the most intractable composers of the century.

Another problem that faces everybody who has ever performed or recorded the Lamentations is that they last only twenty minutes. How do you fill out a concert or a CD? In this case it seems to me that the musicians have made an excellent choice: a selection of smaller pieces that do nothing to subtract from the sheer majesty of the Lamentations. Shorter keyboard pieces, the most famous of his metrical psalm settings (the one Ralph Vaughan Williams chose for his Fantasy on a Theme by Thomas Tallis) and ending with one of the most perfect of the Cantiones sacrae motets, and one with a stunningly complex history, “O sacrum convivium”.

Program

A lenten evensong with music by Thomas Tallis

Opening sentence
Hear the voice and prayer
Certaine notes set forth in foure and three parts (London: John Day, 1560)

Introit
Veni redemptor
The Mulliner Book (Thomas Mulliner, c.1545-1570)

Preces
Preces in C
Peterhouse Partbooks (John Cosin, c.1625-1640)

Psalm
Psalm 2: Why fumeth in sight
The Whole Psalter translated into English Metre (London: John Daye, 1567)

Old testament reading
Lamentations 1: 1-2
Sadler Partbooks (John Sadler, c.1565–85)

Organ Interlude
Clarifica me pater
The Mulliner Book (Thomas Mulliner, c.1545-1570)

Magnificat
Dorian Service
The First Book of Selected Church Music (London: John Barnard, 1641)

New testament reading
Verily, verily
Peterhouse Partbooks (John Cosin, c.1625-1640)

Nunc Dimittis
Dorian Service
The First Book of Selected Church Music (London: John Barnard, 1641)

Organ Interlude
Felix Namque
The Fitzwilliam Virginal Book (Anon, c. 1610)

Preces
Preces in C
The First Book of Selected Church Music (London: John Barnard, 1641)

Anthem
Lamentations 1:3-5
Sadler Partbooks (John Sadler, c.1565–85)

Postlude
O Sacrum Convivium
Cantiones quae ab argumento sacrae vocantur (London: Thomas Vautrollerius, 1575)

2024

September

The Bassanos

Homage to the recorder family
Sun 29.09.24 18:15 Concert

Barfüsserkirche,
Historical Museum Basel

October

Magnum opus musicum 1604

Tribute to Orlando di Lasso
Sun 27.10.24 18:15 Concert

Martinskirche
Basel

November

Du Fay 550

Music for a lifetime
Sun 24.11.24 18:15 Concert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

December

Now sing and rejoice

Sing-along Concert
Sun 29.12.24 17:45 Workshop 18:15 Concert

Barfüsserkirche

Lamentations

Englische Vokalmusik zur Fastenzeit
So 25.02.24 Konzert 17:15 und 19:15

Karthäuserkirche
Theodorskirchplatz 7, Basel

Zeichnung des Trauerzuges von Elisabeth I. von England zur Westminster Abbey, c1603 © British Library

«T

allis ist tot, und die Musik stirbt» – so schrieb William Byrd in seiner Elegie zum Tod seines Lehrmeisters Thomas Tallis. Liebevoll  als Vater der englischen Musik bezeichnet, übernahm Tallis 1543 seinen Posten in der königlichen Kapelle und diente der britischen Königsfamilie mehr als 40 Jahre lang.

Er wahrte sein Ansehen als grösster Komponist des Landes während der turbulenten Regierungszeiten von vier Monarchen mit wechselndem Glauben. Seinen Kompositionsstil passte Tallis dabei kontinuierlich an die protestantischen und katholischen Empfindungen an und erwarb sich so die Gunst seiner jeweiligen Dienstherren.

Tallis’ «Lamentations of Jeremiah» wurden wahrscheinlich in den ersten Jahren der Herrschaft von Elisabeth I. komponiert und zeigen auf subtile Weise den sogenannten «ambidenominationalen» Stil, der entstanden ist im ständigen Schwanken zwischen protestantischer und katholischer Kirchenmusikpraxis. Zusammen mit kleineren Werken aus der Zeit als «Evensong» gestaltet, gibt das Konzert einen intimen Einblick in dieses bedeutende Werk der englischen Renaissance.

 

Jacob Lawrence – Gesang; Konzept, Leitung;

Tessa Roos, Loïc Paulin, Henry Van Engen, Elam Rotem – Gesang;

Josef Laming – Orgel

Eintritt frei, Kollekte

Als Gönner oder Gönnerin können Sie uns optimal unterstützen.
Als Gönner:in a Cappella erhalten Sie auf Wunsch das Programmheft zugesendet.
Als Gönner:in  Consort erhalten Sie zusätzlich einen reservierten Sitzplatz in jedem Konzert.

 

Loïc Pulin, Henry van Engen, Tessa Roos, Jacob Lawrence, Elam Rotem © Vivianne Caragea

Video

Lamentations

Aus der Probe zu «Lamentations»  – Englische Vokalmusik zur Fastenzeit. Jacob Lawrence, Elam Rotem, Henry van Engen, Tessa Roos und Loïc Paulin, Gesang. Video von Vivianne Caragea.

Interview

Jacob Lawrence, der Leiter und Sänger des Februarkonzerts 2024, antwortet auf Fragen von Thomas Christ.

Jacob Lawrence ist dem ReRenaissance-Publikum bereits seit einigen Jahren bekannt, denn neben seinen prominenten Gastauftritten im Ausland ist Jacob Lawrence schon öfters in den Konzerten in der Barfüsserkirche aufgetreten.

Thomas Christ: Natürlich wissen wir um die internationale Strahlkraft der hiesigen Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, dennoch sei die erste Frage erlaubt: Wie kommt man als Knabensopran in Melbourne nach Basel an die Hochschule für Alte Musik? Welche Mentoren und Umstände begleiteten dich 2016 direkt in die Schweiz?

Jacob Lawrence: Meine Mutter ist Cembalistin und mein Vater Kirchenmusiker, ich bin also in einem Haus voller alter Musik aufgewachsen. Während meines Gesangsstudiums in Australien beschäftigte ich mich immer mehr mit alter Musik, aber als ich das Studium beendet hatte, war ich mir nicht sicher, was mein nächster Schritt sein würde. Ich hatte mich in die Musik der Renaissance verliebt, und sie war damals für mich wie eine Sprache, die ich durch Eintauchen gelernt hatte, ohne ihre Grammatik und Syntax zu verstehen.

Ein Freund, der in England Zink studiert hatte, erzählte mir von der Schola und gab mir Anne Smiths «Performing 16th Century Music» zu lesen, in das ich mich sofort verliebte. Die Perspektive, die mir dieses Buch vermittelte, sowie seine Ermutigung und die Begegnungen mit Schüler:innen der Schola bei Sommerschulen in Europa führten dazu, dass ich an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis vorspielte und dann vier Jahre dort studierte.

TC: Du bist im Fanclub der Renaissancemusikliebhaber:innen eine bekannte Grösse, dennoch bewegen sich deine internationalen Auftritte, wie auch die erhaltenen Preise mehr im Bereich der Barockmusik, einer Nachbar-Disziplin. Gerne würden etwas über den unterschiedlichen Approach zu diesen Musikstilen erfahren, natürlich aus der Sicht des Sängers, vielleicht bezüglich Interpretationsfreiheit, der Dramatik oder der Erzählkunst.

JL: Die Freiheit der Interpretation ist eine sehr interessante Frage. Barockmusik wird heute häufiger in Institutionen aufgeführt, die im Mainstream funktionieren, wie z. B. Opernhäuser und grosse Festivals, und daher gibt es einfach mehr Bühnen, für die man eine Art der Aufführung dieser Musik entwickeln kann, als für die Renaissancemusik. Das führt zu einer grösseren Sättigung der Barockmusik im Mainstream und schafft einen breiteren und homogeneren Stil, den ein/e Sänger/in relativ leicht nachahmen kann, im Gegensatz zur Renaissancemusik, bei der ich das Gefühl habe, dass viele Leute, mich eingeschlossen, einen grossen Druck verspüren, die Musik für jede Aufführung neu zu entschlüsseln und einen Klang zu finden, der am besten zu jedem einzelnen Mikrokosmos des Stils passt. Hinzu kommt, dass der Barock in der Geschichte nicht so weit zurückliegt wie die Renaissance und seine Aufführungstraditionen vielleicht näher an denen liegen, die es heute noch gibt (z. B. öffentliche Opernhäuser), so dass es vielleicht einfacher ist, den Weg zu seinem Klang durch die lebendige Tradition zu finden, die aus ihm hervorging und zu der wir als moderne Sängerinnen und Sänger immer noch gehören. Ich vermute, weil es in der Barockmusik eher einen etablierten Aufführungsstil gibt, gibt es weniger Fragen, so dass sich die Leute oft freier fühlen, einfach aufzutreten und sich einzulassen, während in der Renaissancemusik, wo wir oft das Gefühl haben, dass wir nur Fragen haben, ein viel grösserer Druck besteht, bei jedem Projekt einen individuell durchdachten und zusammenhängenden neuen Stil zu präsentieren.

TC: Es wird heute mehr und mehr im sog. Cross-over Bereich experimentiert, oder ein möglicher Dialog zwischen den Improvisationsmustern der Frühen Musik und des Jazz gesucht. Was hältst du davon?

JL: Die Freiheit, die Flüssigkeit und die Risikobereitschaft, die viele meisterhafte Jazzmusiker/innen empfinden und an den Tag legen, sind das Ergebnis tausender Stunden des Eintauchens in die Stile, die sie spielen, und des konzentrierten Studiums dieser Stile – etwas, das alle Musiker/innen anstreben sollten. Die Improvisation ist ein Aspekt, aber ich glaube nicht, dass es zwangsläufig zu einer besseren Improvisationspraxis führt, wenn man Alte Musik „wie Jazz“ spielt oder einen Jazzmusiker unter den Alten Musikern hat. Wir sollten uns alle von der harten Arbeit inspirieren lassen, die nötig ist, um etwas auf hohem Niveau zu spielen, und obwohl es immer gut ist, ein Niveau zu haben, das man anstreben kann, denke ich, dass die Leute sich vielleicht zu sehr zu Abkürzungen bei der Improvisation hinreissen lassen und dem Studium ihres Stils nicht genug Bedeutung beimessen. Schliesslich kennen Jazzmusiker/innen ihren Stil so gut, dass sie es im Moment komponieren können, und ich denke, das ist etwas, das wir als Alte Musiker/innen in unserem Bereich nachahmen sollten. Abgesehen davon kann ein Crossover zwischen Alter Musik und Jazz durchaus unterhaltsame Ergebnisse bringen!

TC: Neben Monteverdis Odysseus und Purcells Aeneas warst du auch in Haydns Oper Armida zu hören. Liegen da nicht z. B. in der Frage des Vibrato Welten dazwischen? Schafft das jeder Tenor, oder wo siehst du die unterschiedlichen Anforderungen, die zu meistern sind?

JL: Ich denke, wenn man auf hohem Niveau in vielen verschiedenen Stilen auftritt, ist es viel schwieriger, eine zusammenhängende und sichere Technik in einem dieser Stile zu haben. Wenn man davon ausgeht, dass sich die Gesangstechnik seit dem 16. Jahrhundert stark verändert hat und dass die Aufführung von Verdelot-Madrigalen und Händel-Opern sehr unterschiedliche Techniken erfordern, stößt man auf Probleme. Jeder von uns hat nur eine Stimme, und obwohl es möglich ist, parallele Muskelspeicher und Fähigkeiten zu trainieren und zu nutzen, ist es viel, viel einfacher, jeweils nur eine zu benutzen. Es gibt einen Grund dafür, dass ein olympischer Läufer nicht gleichzeitig für die 100 m und den Marathon trainiert, obwohl beide dieselben grundlegenden körperlichen Mechanismen nutzen. Ich liebe so viele verschiedene Stile und ein Teil der Freude an meiner Karriere besteht darin, in sie hineinzuschlüpfen, wann immer ich kann. Obwohl es mehr Herausforderungen bietet, glaube ich nicht, dass ich glücklich wäre, es anders zu machen.

TC: Du hast als Barocksänger die Wiederentdeckung der Barockmusik auf den grossen Bühnen miterlebt. Vor 50 Jahren waren viele Barockstücke einem breiten Publikum noch wenig bekannt. Wie beurteilst du den Prozess der Wiederentdeckung des reichen Repertoires der Renaissance – bleibt diese Musik ein Nischenprodukt oder findet diese intimere Musik ebenfalls Eingang in den medialen Mainstream?

JL: Ich bin so froh, dass die Barockmusik ihren Weg in den Mainstream gefunden hat, und ich denke, dass sie ihren Platz dort verdient hat und gut dafür geeignet ist. Ich würde mich sehr freuen, wenn es mehr Möglichkeiten gäbe, Renaissancemusik aufzuführen und ihre Aufführung weiterzuentwickeln, aber ich denke, dass es einzigartige Herausforderungen gibt, die bedeuten, dass wir die Art und Weise, wie sie präsentiert wird, grundlegend überdenken müssen. Ein Grossteil der Barockmusik, die wir heute konsumieren, wurde für ein grosses Publikum und grosse Bühnen geschrieben und von reichen Mäzenen mit riesigen Summen unterstützt. Heute haben wir immer noch ein grosses Publikum und grosse Bühnen, aber wie führt man am besten ein Madrigal auf, das von Freunden am Esstisch gesungen werden soll, oder Lautensuiten, die hinter einem Vorhang gespielt werden, damit der König einschlafen kann? Die Musik ist wunderschön und kann immer noch von einem Publikum im Konzertsaal genossen werden, aber es fehlt ihr etwas, was eine Mahler-Sinfonie, die für den Konzertsaal konzipiert wurde und dort auch heute noch aufgeführt wird, nicht hat. Natürlich berücksichtigt das Publikum nicht unbedingt den Kontext, aber ich denke, es ist wirklich wichtig, dass wir als Interpreten hinterfragen, wie wir das Publikum ansprechen, anstatt einfach aufzugeben und zu sagen: «Niemand will Musik der Renaissance hören». Es ist wirklich aufregend zu sehen, wie es heute gelingt, Renaissancemusik so zu präsentieren, dass sie das Publikum auch ausserhalb des traditionellen Konzertsaals anspricht.

weiterlesen

Kolumne

Ich bin dabei

von David Fallows
Übersetzung: Marc Lewon

Viele Liebhaber der Renaissancemusik würden auf die Frage nach der höchstvollendeten Komposition aus der Mitte des Jahrhunderts ohne Zögern Thomas Tallis‘ Lamentations nennen. Doch wie bei fast allen Werken seinen wissen wir nicht genau, wann Tallis sie komponiert hat. Praktisch seine gesamte Musik ist nur aus Handschriften bekannt, die lange nach seinem Tod verfasst wurden, mit der bemerkenswerten Ausnahme der Motetten in Byrd’s Cantiones sacrae (1575). Und was John Milsom in seiner kürzlich erschienenen Ausgabe der Cantiones sacrae (Early English Church Music, Bd. 56: 2014) besonders deutlich macht, ist, dass Tallis eine grosse Anzahl seiner Werke im Laufe der Jahre umgeschrieben hat. Aus der Sicht des Forschers oder des Historikers ist Tallis also einer der widerspenstigsten Komponisten des Jahrhunderts.

Ein weiteres Problem, mit dem jeder konfrontiert ist, der die Lamentations jemals aufgeführt oder aufgenommen hat, ist, dass sie nur zwanzig Minuten dauern. Wie füllt man ein Konzert oder eine CD damit? In diesem Fall scheint es mir, dass die Musiker ausgezeichnete Entscheidungen getroffen haben: eine Auswahl kleinerer Stücke, die nicht von der schieren Majestät der Lamentations ablenken. Kürzere Stücke für ein Tasteninstrument, die berühmteste seiner metrischen Psalmvertonungen (die Ralph Vaughan Williams für seine Fantasie über ein Thema von Thomas Tallis wählte) und zum Schluss eine der vollkommensten Motetten der Cantiones sacrae mit einer erstaunlich komplexen Geschichte: «O sacrum convivium».

weiterlesen

Programm

2402 Februarflyer Web

2402_Programmheft Lamentations

Evensong zur Fastenzeit mit Musik von Thomas Tallis

Opening sentence
Hear the voice and prayer
Certaine notes set forth in foure and three parts (London; John Day, 1560)

Introit
Veni redemptor
The Mulliner Book (Oxford; Thomas Mulliner, c1545–1570)

Preces
Preces in C
Peterhouse Partbooks (Cambridge; John Cosin, c1625–40)

Psalm
Psalm 2: Why fumeth in sight
The Whole Psalter translated into English Metre (London; John Day, 1567)

Old testament reading
Lamentations 1: 1-2
Sadler Partbooks (Norwich; John Sadler, c1565–85)

Organ Interlude
Clarifica me pater
The Mulliner Book (Oxford; Thomas Mulliner, c1545–70)

Magnificat
Dorian Service
The First Book of Selected Church Music (London; John Barnard, 1641)

New testament reading
Verily, verily
Peterhouse Partbooks 

Nunc Dimittis
Dorian Service
The First Book of Selected Church Music

Organ Interlude
Felix Namque
The Fitzwilliam Virginal Book (Anonymous, c1610)

Preces
Preces in C
The First Book of Selected Church Music

Anthem
Lamentations 1:3–5
Sadler Partbooks

Postlude
O Sacrum Convivium
Cantiones quae ab argumento sacrae vocantur (London; Thomas Vautrollerius, 1575)

Galerie

2024

September

Die Bassanos

Hommage an die Blockflöte
So 29.09.24 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Oktober

Magnum opus musicum 1604

Nachruf auf Orlando di Lasso
So 27.10.24 18:15 Konzert

Martinskirche
Basel

November

Du Fay 550

Musik fürs ganze Leben
So 24.11.24 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Dezember

Nun singet

... und seid froh!
So 29.12.24 17:45 Mitsing-Workshop 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

2025

September

Festival 2025 «ARCADIA»

Musik als Hirtenparadies?
Fr 26.09.25 bis 28.09.2025

Basel, Martinskirche