Pren de bon cuer

Chansons for transverse flute consort from the prints of P. Attaingnant (1533)
Sun 25.04.21

Barefoot
Historical Museum Basel

"Pren de bon cuer" - Chansons for transverse flute consort from the prints of P. Attaingnant (1533)

I

n 1536, a small treasure arrived in Basel from Paris in the luggage of the Swiss theologian, pedagogue and lexicographer Johannes Fries: a fingering chart for the transverse flute, personally noted by him. Perhaps he had learned the instrument in Paris, or perhaps he had mastered it before his trip to France and had already played it in his native Switzerland. In any case, he must have known the prints of the Parisian Pierre Attaingnant, because as a lover and connoisseur, it cannot have escaped his notice that Attaingnant had explicitly intended his collection of chansons from 1533 for recorders and transverse flutes. The delicate and expressive sound of the traversoconsort and the melancholy chansons of his contemporaries seem to have left a lasting impression on Fries and accompanied him far beyond his trip to France.

Johanna Bartz – transverse flute; direction | Mara Winter, Tommaso Simonetta and Francesca Grilletto – transverse flutes | Rui Stähelin – lute, voice | Marc Lewon – organization

Four Swiss pipers. Urs Graf

Interview

Johanna Bartz – flutist and teacher for early transverse flutes

Thomas Christ (TC): Dear Ms. Bartz, you come from the Berlin area, came to Basel with your baroque flute via Brussels and became a lecturer for Renaissance transverse flute at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis at a young age. Was the flute born into your cradle or did you come to your instrument in a roundabout way? (Photo © G. Barroso)

Johanna Bartz (JB): I don’t come from a musical family, but my parents and siblings are all very music-loving, like to go to concerts, play instruments or sing in the choir. After I had turned out to be a rather hopeless case at the early musical education, my parents dared another attempt and sent me to a recorder group. I had incredible fun doing that.

When I was ten, I added the flute, on which I didn’t really like to play earlier music before 1800, but preferred to improvise, play my favorite songs from the radio or practice later music. The way to the traverso was rather coincidence than self-determined: When I was 14 years old, one of the teachers at the time at my home music school in Neustrelitz, Mecklenburg, suggested that I learn this instrument because there was just a new teacher for it and he thought I was “kind of the type for it”.
What fascinated me was that my traverso and baroque music teachers took a completely different path than I had known before, namely they showed me that music could also be thought of and conveyed structurally – for the first time I listened to the relationship between bass and upper voice, the harmonies were suddenly no longer something abstract from theory lessons, and the music suddenly took on rhetorical elements that I felt were more tangible than the somehow mystified musicality with which one was born or not. After that, one thing led to another – my first youth baroque trio, the tense waiting for the next Monday evening “Early Music – Morbach live” – radio broadcast of the rbb (Rundfunk Berlin Brandenburg), change of school to Berlin at the age of 17, failed entrance exams and new beginnings, study of the flute, instrumental pedagogy and transverse flute.
I became acquainted with the Renaissance traverso through the recordings of Kate Clark and the publications of Anne Smith. My teachers Christoph Huntgeburth in Berlin and Barthold Kuijken in Brussels gave a lot of space to my interest in Renaissance music. Christoph even built me my first Renaissance transverse flute! In 2013, I came to study in Basel, where I was able to study the repertoire from 1700 onwards in the classes of Marc Hantaï and the 16th century with Anne Smith.

TC: From corresponding bone finds we know that the flute is about as old as mankind, thus flute playing belongs to the most original needs of human forms of expression, but we know little about the history of the origin of the occidental transverse flute. Is it possible to outline some key points in a few sentences or even to show a reference to the French Renaissance?

JB: Little is known about the origin of the Western transverse flute.
In the case of some bone flute finds from the Upper Paleolithic of 40,000 years ago, it cannot be ruled out that some of the instruments were also played crosswise – but there is no evidence for this (yet).
There is some dubious evidence from late antiquity about transverse-blown flutes, but it is often assumed that early Asian traversos such as the Chinese di or Indian bansuri reached Europe via Byzantium in the tenth century. Flutes can certainly be traced in the medieval German-speaking world, and there especially in the area of sung poetry. An interesting source are the illustrations of flutists in the Cantigas de Santa Maria from the late 13. or early 14th century. Although there is always debate about how realistic the instruments or musical scenes depicted are, it is interesting to know that the Cantigas originate from an environment of fusion of Arabic, Jewish and Christian musical culture at the Spanish court, and at the same time contain more than a hundred pieces from other European cultures such as Italy, England, Germany or France. In France and Flanders at this time, the flute is also mentioned as a military instrument, but also appears in the circles around Guillaume de Machaut in the France of the 14th century around. After that, around 1400, it is depicted there mainly as an angelic instrument. The use of the traverso in the 15th century (in France) has been researched very little so far: Except for Swiss Confederates who played the instrument as mercenaries in combination with a drum, e.g., in Burgundy in the 1470s, and some written mentions, the source material is rather thin. Only at the beginning of the In the 16th century, the traverso became widely used not only as a military instrument, but also in consort throughout Europe.

TC: As you know from your concert activities, baroque literature has enjoyed great popularity for several decades, including in particular baroque opera, singspiels, but also instrumental works in old performance practice. The rich musical literature of the Renaissance has yet to make this breakthrough, can you share a prediction or your insights on this?

JB: Based on my concert activity, I can confirm this – as an active musician, I play the repertoire from 1700 onwards much more often than Renaissance music. However, a change has been taking place for a few years now – there are more and more young accomplished ensembles for Renaissance music and the expressive language of this era is becoming more and more natural. I believe this is due to a steadily growing number of audio and video productions and, above all, to the simplified access to these recordings through the Internet, but also to the digitization of the sources. Unfortunately, many concert organizers and festivals react very hesitantly to these developments. It always takes pioneering ensembles or musicians to open the doors to pave the way for something similar to enter the prestigious festivals. We see such developments again and again in the field of baroque music. Unfortunately, in my opinion, the public is given too little credit – often genuine musical discoveries fall victim to more economic thinking. This debate is nothing new, but interestingly, the problem remains topical …
Until a few years ago, the Renaissance traverso was played by only a few specialized musicians, who founded their own ensembles and consorts. Since a few years the instrument enjoys an increasing popularity and it is more and more naturally used as an ensemble instrument or appreciated as a possible instrumentation for virtuoso diminutions. There is a great overall interest and enthusiasm among flutists, which has given the instrument a tremendous boost in new and virtuoso professional players and many enthusiastic amateur musicians.
So my “prognosis” at least about the spread of the Renaissance traverso is a rather optimistic one!

TC: You also devote yourself to experimental and electronic music. Are these completely new fields of experience or also crossover projects in which, for example, melodies from the Middle Ages or the Renaissance appear in new arrangements and thus also reach a new audience?

JB: Both, actually. In circles that have nothing to do with older music or historical instruments, I encounter a lot of interest. It becomes especially beautiful when honest curiosity comes from both sides, namely also from the “classical” or “early music” side – then, in the best case, a dialogue and ideas for new things emerge.

TC: You are not only a prize-winner of numerous international competitions, but as an “instrumental pedagogue” you also dedicate yourself to the basis of music education. Did I understand that correctly and can you briefly tell us something about your credo in terms of music education in our society?

JB: We live in an age in which musical appropriation processes should actually have reached the masses, but have not in many parts of society. Music and instrumental lessons or cultural events are reserved for the economically better off. Wherever there are no massive and regular subsidies for access to instrumental lessons in elementary school that go beyond one-day participation in education projects, entire generations of concertgoers, music lovers, and ultimately also the next generation of professionals are lost (this has, by the way, been noticeable at many European music academies for some years now). Musical specialization and excellence is unnecessarily often confused with demarcation – demarcation of an elite from marginalized groups, cultural circles, amateurs, or simply a broader mass. I am not so deluded as to believe that early music or renaissance music will ever become a mass phenomenon (although that is an interesting utopia, why not actually …), but easy access to this music should basically be provided for with more self-evidence. I am convinced that this music should belong to everyone, but this also means that we as cultural creators must create points of reference for the audience – so that the music does not degenerate into a piece of “undead” culture in need of preservation, but is perceived as genuine, individually relevant and worthy of protection.
In the spirit of “if we share it, it becomes more”.

weiterlesen

Column



I’m in … ” by David Fallows

To

“Pren de bon cuer
“, Apr 2021

Who was the purest composer of all? Some would call Mozart. Others vote for Hildegard von Bingen. I could make a convincing case for Orlando Gibbons or Webern. But certainly the wreath of honor belongs to Claudin de Sermisy. Every note has its place; every gesture is expressive; and never does he hustle for attention. For us, it represents the absolute quintessence of Parisian chanson in the 1520s and 1530s. Most of these pieces last only two or three minutes; but each one of them circumscribes and formulates a world of its own. In any case, the listening experience of his music is like a cool shower on a hot day: you suddenly realize how unnecessary the fuss is that other composers often make.

It is therefore a special pleasure to have a concert dedicated to this repertoire and at the same time setting up Claudin at all the key points of the program. On top of that, it is a special pleasure to hear him alongside his colleagues, some of whom were far more famous than he, others practically unknown. And we will all be able to decide for ourselves whether Claudin is really the purest of them all.
Pierre Attaingnant knew his clientele quite well: in his collection of 1533, he printed the song texts under all the pieces, but also added a very specific instruction that the music was particularly suitable for an ensemble of traversos or recorders. And in the right musician’s hands, these chansons are almost nothing without their lyrics. I cannot repeat often enough: each piece is characterized by extreme precision; and again: you would not want to change a single note. Enjoy.

(Translation: Marc Lewon)

weiterlesen

Program

Program Booklet April 2021

1. je ne puis pas – Guillaume Le Heurteur (fl 1530-1545)
Vingt et sept chansons musicales a quatre parties, Paris: Pierre Attaingant, 1533, no. 10, fol. 6v-7

2. jamais ung cueur – anonymous
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), no. 17, fol. 10

3. adieu mes amours – Josquin des Prez (1450/55-1521)
Rome, Biblioteca Casanatense, MS 2865 (“Canzoniere di Isabella d’Este,” also “Chansonnier Casanatense”; Ferrara, c1485), fol. 154v-156


4. pren de bon cuer – Pierre de Manchicourt (1510-1564)
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), no. 13, fol. 8

5. parle qui veult – Claudin de Sermisy (1490-1562)
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), no. 3, fol. 2

6. on dit quamour – Pierre Vermont (1495-1533) or Pernot Vermont (1495-1558)
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), no. 21, fol. 12

7th Pavane – Gaillarde – Pierre Attaingnant (1494-1551)
Six gaillardes et six pavanes avec treze chansons musicales a quatre parties le tout nouvellement imprime, Paris: Pierre Attaingnant, 1529, Pavane: No. 6, fol. 4v; Gaillarde: no. 2, fol. 1v


8. madame a soy – Clement Janequin (1485-1558)
Vingt et quatre chansons musicales a quatre parties composees par maistre Clement Jenequin, Paris: Pierre Attaingnant, 1533, no. 5, fol. 4v

9. en attendant – Clement Janequin
Vingt et quatre chansons (Attaingnant), no. 4, fol. 3v-4

10. il me suffit du temps – Clement Janequin
Vingt et quatre chansons (Attaingnant), no. 1, fol. 1v-2


11. hellas, hellas amour – Guillaume Le Heurteur
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), no. 14, fol. 8v

12. voyant souffrir – Jacotin Le Bel (1490-1555)
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), no. 22, fol. 12v

13 Amours, amours – Nicolas Gombert (1495-1560)
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), no. 7, fol. 4v

14th La Brosse – Pierre Attaingnant
Neuf basses dances, deux branles, vingt et cinq Pavennes, avec quinze Gaillardes, Paris: Pierre Attaingnant, 1530, no. 9, fol. 3v


15th Tourdion – Pierre Attaingnant
Neuf basses dances (Attaingnant), no. 7, fol. 3

16 Pour quoy donc ne – Pierre Passereau (fl 1509-1547)
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), no. 24, fol. 13v

17. les yeulx bendez – Pierre Vermont or Pernot Vermont
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), no. 6, fol. 4


18. jectes moy sur l’herbette – Johannes Lupi (1506-1539)
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), no. 16, fol. 9

19. par ung matin – Guillaume Le Heurteur
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), no. 12, fol. 7

20. hayne et amour – Pierre Vermont or Pernot Vermont
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), no. 23, fol. 13


21 Allons ung peu plaisant – Guillaume Le Heurteur
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), no. 9, fol. 5v

22. basse danse – Pierre Attaingnant
Neuf basses dances (Attaingnant), no. 1, fol. 1v

23. elle veult donc pas estrange – Claudin de Sermisy
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), no. 20, fol. 11v

24. sbon amour merite recompense – Jacotin Le Bel
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), no. 28, fol. 16

25. je navoye point – Claudin de Sermisy
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), no. 26, fol. 15

26 Pavane – Gaillarde – Pierre Attaingnant
Six gaillardes et six pavanes (Attaingnant), Pavane: No. 2, fol. 3v;
Gaillarde: no. 5, fol. 2v-3

2023

Februar

Canti C

In the labyrinth of revolution
Sun 26.02.23 Intro 17:45 Concert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche
Basel Historical Museum

März

Songs without words

The mystery of a textless chansonnier (c1473)
Sun 26.03.23 Intro 17:30 Concert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche
Historical Museum Basel

April

Dialogue of the keys II

Ammerbach with double m (and singing)
Sun 30.04.23 Theme 17:45 Concert 18:15

Mai

All in a Garden Green

Melodies to dance along ... or listen and look
Sun 28.05.23 afternoon

Place still open

Juni

The donkey crown

Animals & Creatures invite to the finissage
Sun 25.06.23 Theme 17:45 Concert 18:15

September

Biennale ReRenaissance 2023

Music and Power - Maximilian's Triumphal Procession
Fri 22.09.23 Opening Concert 19:30

Barfüsserkirche
Historical Museum Basel

Pren de bon cuer

Chansons für Traversflötenconsort aus den Drucken von P. Attaingnant (1533)
So 25.04.21

Barfüsserkiche
Historisches Museum Basel

I

m Gepäck des Schweizer Theologen, Pädagogen und Lexikographen Johannes Fries gelangt 1536 eine kleine Kostbarkeit aus Paris nach Basel: eine Grifftabelle für die Traversflöte, persönlich von ihm notiert. Vielleicht hatte er das Instrument in Paris erlernt, vielleicht beherrschte er es aber auch schon vor seiner Reise nach Frankreich und hatte es bereits in seiner Schweizer Heimat gespielt. Auf jeden Fall aber muss er die Drucke des Parisers Pierre Attaingnant gekannt haben, denn als Liebhaber und Kenner kann ihm nicht entgangen sein, dass Attaingnant seine Chansonsammlung von 1533 explizit für Block- und Querflöten vorgesehen hatte. Der delikate und ausdrucksstarke Klang des Traversoconsorts und die melancholischen Chansons seiner Zeitgenossen scheinen auf Fries einen bleibenden Eindruck hinterlassen und ihn noch weit über seine Frankreichreise hinaus begleitet zu haben.

Johanna Bartz – Traversflöte; Leitung | Mara Winter, Tommaso Simonetta und Francesca Grilletto – Traversflöten | Rui Stähelin – Laute, Gesang | Marc Lewon – Organisation

Vier Schweizer Pfeifer. Urs Graf

Programm

1. Je ne puis pas – Guillaume Le Heurteur (fl 1530–1545)
Vingt et sept chansons musicales a quatre parties, Paris: Pierre Attaingant, 1533, Nr. 10, fol. 6v–7

2. Jamais ung cueur – anonym
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), Nr. 17, fol. 10

3. Adieu mes amours – Josquin des Prez (1450/55–1521)
Rom, Biblioteca Casanatense, MS 2865 («Canzoniere di Isabella d’Este», auch «Chansonnier Casanatense»; Ferrara, c1485), fol. 154v–156


4. Pren de bon cuer – Pierre de Manchicourt (1510–1564)
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), Nr. 13, fol. 8

5. Parle qui veult – Claudin de Sermisy (1490–1562)
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), Nr. 3, fol. 2

6. On dit quamour – Pierre Vermont (1495–1533) oder Pernot Vermont (1495–1558)
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), Nr. 21, fol. 12

7. Pavane Gaillarde – Pierre Attaingnant (1494–1551)
Six gaillardes et six pavanes avec treze chansons musicales a quatre parties le tout nouvellement imprime, Paris: Pierre Attaingnant, 1529, Pavane: Nr. 6, fol. 4v; Gaillarde: Nr. 2, fol. 1v


8. Madame a soy – Clement Janequin (1485–1558)
Vingt et quatre chansons musicales a quatre parties composees par maistre Clement Jenequin, Paris: Pierre Attaingnant, 1533, Nr. 5, fol. 4v

9. En attendant – Clement Janequin
Vingt et quatre chansons (Attaingnant), Nr. 4, fol. 3v–4

10. Il me suffit du temps – Clement Janequin
Vingt et quatre chansons (Attaingnant), Nr. 1, fol. 1v–2


11. Hellas, hellas amour – Guillaume Le Heurteur
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), Nr. 14, fol. 8v

12. Voyant souffrir – Jacotin Le Bel (1490–1555)
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), Nr. 22, fol. 12v

13. Amours, amours – Nicolas Gombert (1495–1560)
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), Nr. 7, fol. 4v

14. La Brosse – Pierre Attaingnant
Neuf basses dances, deux branles, vingt et cinq Pavennes, avec quinze Gaillardes, Paris: Pierre Attaingnant, 1530, Nr. 9, fol. 3v


15. Tourdion – Pierre Attaingnant
Neuf basses dances (Attaingnant), Nr. 7, fol. 3

16. Pour quoy donc ne – Pierre Passereau (fl 1509–1547)
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), Nr. 24, fol. 13v

17. Les yeulx bendez – Pierre Vermont oder Pernot Vermont
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), Nr. 6, fol. 4


18. Jectes moy sur l’herbette – Johannes Lupi (1506–1539)
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), Nr. 16, fol. 9

19. Par ung matin – Guillaume Le Heurteur
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), Nr. 12, fol. 7

20. Hayne et amour – Pierre Vermont oder Pernot Vermont
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), Nr. 23, fol. 13


21. Allons ung peu plaisant – Guillaume Le Heurteur
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), Nr. 9, fol. 5v

22. Basse danse – Pierre Attaingnant
Neuf basses dances (Attaingnant), Nr. 1, fol. 1v

23. Elle veult donc pas estrange – Claudin de Sermisy
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), Nr. 20, fol. 11v

24. Sbon amour merite recompense – Jacotin Le Bel
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), Nr. 28, fol. 16

25. Je navoye point – Claudin de Sermisy
Vingt et sept chansons (Attaingnant), Nr. 26, fol. 15

26. Pavane Gaillarde – Pierre Attaingnant
Six gaillardes et six pavanes (Attaingnant), Pavane: Nr. 2, fol. 3v;
Gaillarde: Nr. 5, fol. 2v–3

Kolumne

«Ich bin dabei … » von David Fallows zu «Pren de bon cuer», Apr 2021

Wer war von allen der reinste Komponist? Manche würden Mozart nennen. Andere für Hildegard von Bingen stimmen. Ich könnte überzeugende Gründe für Orlando Gibbons oder Webern ins Feld führen. Aber sicherlich gebührt der Ehrenkranz Claudin de Sermisy. Jede Note hat ihren Platz; jede Geste ist ausdrucksstark; und niemals heischt er um Aufmerksamkeit. Für uns stellt er die absolute Quintessenz der Pariser Chanson in den 1520er und 1530er Jahren dar. Die meisten dieser Stücke dauern nur zwei oder drei Minuten; aber jedes einzelne davon umschreibt und formuliert eine eigene Welt. In jedem Fall gleicht das Hörerlebnis seiner Musik einer kühlen Dusche an einem heissen Tag: man erkennt plötzlich wie unnötig das Gedöns ist, das andere Komponisten oft veranstalten.

Daher ist es eine besondere Freude, ein Konzert zu haben, das diesem Repertoire gewidmet ist und zugleich Claudin an allen Schlüsselstellen des Programms aufstellt. Obendrein es ist ein spezielles Vergnügen, ihn neben seinen Kollegen zu hören, von denen einige weit berühmter waren als er, andere praktisch unbekannt. Und wir werden alle selbst entscheiden können, ob Claudin wirklich der reinste unter ihnen ist.
Pierre Attaingnant kannte sich ganz gut mit seinem Kundenkreis aus: in seiner Sammlung von 1533 druckte er die Liedtexte unter alle Stücke, fügte aber zusätzlich eine sehr konkrete Anweisung hinzu, dass die Musik sich besonders für ein Ensemble aus Travers- oder Blockflöten eignete. Und in den richtigen Musikerhänden geht diesen Chansons auch ohne ihre Texte fast nichts ab. Ich kann nicht oft genug wiederholen: jedes Stück zeichnet sich durch äusserste Präzision aus; und nochmals: man würde keine einzige Note ändern wollen. Geniessen Sie’s.

​(Übersetzung: Marc Lewon)

weiterlesen

Interview

Johanna Bartz – Flötistin und Dozentin für frühe Traversflöten

Thomas Christ (TC): Liebe Frau Bartz, Sie stammen aus der Gegend von Berlin, sind mit ihrer Barockflöte via Brüssel nach Basel gekommen und in jungen Jahren bereits Dozentin für Renaissance-Traversflöte an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis geworden. Ist Ihnen die Flöte in die Wiege gelegt worden oder sind Sie auf Umwegen zu Ihrem Instrument gestossen? (Foto © G. Barroso)

Johanna Bartz (JB): Ich komme nicht aus einer Musikerfamilie, aber meine Eltern und Geschwister sind alle sehr musikaffin, gehen gerne ins Konzert, spielen Instrumente oder singen im Chor. Nachdem ich mich bei der musikalischen Früherziehung als eher hoffnungsloser Fall entpuppt hatte, wagten meine Eltern noch einen Versuch und schickten mich in eine Blockflötengruppe. Das machte mir unglaublichen Spass.

Als ich zehn war, kam dann die Querflöte dazu, auf der ich frühere Musik vor 1800 eigentlich nicht besonders gerne spielte, sondern lieber improvisierte, meine Lieblingssongs aus dem Radio nachspielte oder eben spätere Musik übte. Der Weg zur Traverso war eher Zufall als selbstbestimmt: Als ich 14 Jahre alt war, schlug mir einer der damaligen Lehrer an meiner Heimatmusikschule im mecklenburgischen Neustrelitz vor, dieses Instrument zu lernen, da es gerade einen neuen Lehrer dafür gab und er dachte, ich sei «irgendwie der Typ dafür».
Was mich damals so gefesselt hat, war, dass meine Traverso- und Barockmusiklehrer einen ganz anderen Weg nahmen als ich das bisher kannte, und zwar zeigten sie mir, dass man Musik auch strukturell denken und vermitteln kann – zum ersten Mal hörte ich auf die Relation zwischen Bass- und Oberstimme, die Harmonien waren plötzlich nichts Abstraktes aus dem Theorieunterricht mehr und die Musik bekam plötzlich rhetorische Elemente, die ich als greifbarer empfand als die irgendwie mystifizierte Musikalität, mit der man nun mal geboren wurde oder eben nicht. Danach kam eines zum anderen – mein erstes Jugend-Barocktrio, das gespannte Warten auf die nächste montagabendliche «Alte Musik – Morbach live» – Radiosendung des rbb (Rundfunk Berlin Brandenburg), Schulwechsel mit 17 Jahren nach Berlin, gescheiterte Aufnahmeprüfungen und Neuanfänge, Studium der Flöte, Instrumentalpädagogik und Traversflöte.
Die Renaissance-Traverso habe ich durch die Aufnahmen von Kate Clark und die Publikationen von Anne Smith kennengelernt. Meine Lehrer Christoph Huntgeburth in Berlin und Barthold Kuijken in Brüssel haben meinem Interesse für Renaissancemusik viel Raum gegeben. Christoph hat mir sogar meine erste Renaissance-Traversflöte gebaut! 2013 bin ich dann zum Studium nach Basel gekommen, wo ich in den Klassen von Marc Hantaï das Repertoire ab 1700 und bei Anne Smith das 16. Jahrhundert studieren durfte.

TC: Aus entsprechenden Knochenfunden wissen wir, dass die Flöte etwa so alt ist, wie die Menschheit, das Flötenspiel also zu den ursprünglichsten Bedürfnissen menschlicher Ausdruckformen gehört, doch über die Entstehungsgeschichte der abendländischen Traversflöte wissen wir wenig. Ist es möglich, in wenigen Sätzen einige Eckpunkte zu skizzieren oder gar einen Bezug zur französischen Renaissance aufzuzeigen?

JB: Über die Entstehung der abendländischen Traversflöte ist wenig bekannt.
Bei einigen Knochenflötenfunden aus dem Jungpaläolithikum von vor 40.000 Jahren ist nicht auszuschliessen, dass einige der Instrumente auch quer gespielt wurden – Beweise gibt es dafür aber (noch) keine.
Es gibt einige zweifelhafte Indizien der Spätantike über quer geblasene Flöten, aber häufig wird vermutet, dass frühe asiatische Traversotypen wie die chinesische Di oder die indischen Bansuri über Byzanz im zehnten Jahrhundert nach Europa gelangten. Sicher lassen sich Flöten im mittelalterlichen deutschsprachigen Raum, und da besonders im Bereich der Sangspruchdichtung nachweisen. Eine interessante Quelle sind die Abbildungen von Flötisten in den Cantigas de Santa Maria aus dem späten 13. oder frühen 14. Jahrhundert. Obwohl immer wieder diskutiert wird, wie realistisch die dargestellten Instrumente oder musikalischen Szenen sind, ist es interessant zu wissen, dass die Cantigas aus einem Umfeld der Verschmelzung arabischer, jüdischer und christlicher Musikkultur am spanischen Hof stammen und gleichzeitig mehr als hundert Stücke aus anderen europäischen Kulturkreisen wie Italien, England, Deutschland oder Frankreich enthalten. In Frankreich und Flandern findet die Flöte zu dieser Zeit auch Erwähnung als Militärinstrument, taucht aber auch in den Kreisen um Guillaume de Machaut im Frankreich des 14. Jahrhunderts  herum auf. Danach, um 1400, wird sie dort vor allem als Engelsinstrument dargestellt. Der Gebrauch der Traverso im 15. Jahrhundert (in Frankreich) ist bisher sehr wenig erforscht worden: Bis auf Schweizer Eidgenossen, die als Söldner das Instrument in der Kombination mit einer Trommel z. B. im Burgund in den 1470er Jahren gespielt haben und einigen schriftlichen Erwähnungen, ist die Quellenlage eher dünn. Erst Anfang des 16. Jahrhunderts findet die Traverso nicht nur als Militärinstrument, sondern auch im Consort in ganz Europa weite Verbreitung.

TC: Wie Ihnen aus Ihrer Konzerttätigkeit bekannt ist, erfreut sich die Barockliteratur seit einigen Jahrzehnten grosser Beliebtheit, so insbesondere auch die Barockoper, die Singspiele, aber auch die instrumentalen Werke in alter Aufführungspraxis. Die reiche Musikliteratur der Renaissance hat diesen Durchbruch noch nicht geschafft, können Sie hierzu eine Prognose oder Ihre Erkenntnisse mit uns teilen?

JB: Anhand meiner Konzerttätigkeit kann ich dies bestätigen – als aktive Musikerin spiele ich viel öfter das Repertoire ab 1700 als Renaissancemusik. Allerdings findet seit ein paar Jahren ein Wandel statt – so gibt es mehr und mehr junge versierte Ensembles für die Musik der Renaissance und die Ausdruckssprache dieser Epoche wird immer selbstverständlicher. Ich glaube, das liegt an einer stetig wachsenden Zahl von Audio- und Videoproduktionen und vor allem auch an dem durch das Internet vereinfachten Zugang zu diesen Aufnahmen, aber auch an der Digitalisierung der Quellen. Leider reagieren viele Konzertveranstalter und Festivals sehr zögerlich auf diese Entwicklungen. Es müssen immer erst Vorreiterensembles oder -musiker die Türen öffnen, um den Weg für Ähnliches in die renommierten Festivals zu ebnen. Solche Entwicklungen sehen wir immer wieder auch im Bereich der Barockmusik. Leider wird dem Publikum meiner Meinung nach zu wenig zugetraut – oft fallen echte musikalische Entdeckungen einem eher wirtschaftlichen Denken zum Opfer. Diese Debatte ist nichts Neues, aber interessanterweise bleibt das Problem aktuell …
Die Renaissance-Traverso wurde bis vor wenigen Jahren von nur wenigen spezialisierten Musikern gespielt, die ihre eigenen Ensembles und Consorts gründeten. Seit ein paar Jahren erfreut sich das Instrument einer zunehmenden Beliebtheit und es wird immer selbstverständlicher als Ensembleinstrument eingesetzt oder als mögliche Besetzung für virtuose Diminutionen geschätzt. Es gibt insgesamt ein grosses Interesse und viel Enthusiasmus unter Flötisten, was dem Instrument einen enormen Schub an neuen und virtuosen professionellen Spielern und vielen begeisterten Laienmusikern gebracht hat.
Meine «Prognose» zumindest zur Verbreitung der Renaissance-Traverso ist also eine ziemlich optimistische!

TC: Sie widmen sich auch der experimentellen und der elektronischen Musik. Handelt es sich dabei um völlig neue Erfahrungsfelder oder auch um Crossover-Projekte, in welchen etwa Melodien aus dem Mittelalter oder der Renaissance in neuen Arrangements erscheinen und so auch ein neues Publikum erreichen?

JB: Eigentlich beides. In Kreisen, die nichts mit älterer Musik oder historischem Instrumentarium zu tun haben, stosse ich auf viel Interesse. Schön wird es besonders dann, wenn ehrliche Neugier von beiden Seiten kommt, nämlich auch von der «klassischen» oder «Alte-Musik-Seite» – dann entstehen im besten Fall ein Dialog und Ideen für Neues.

TC: Sie sind nicht nur Preisträgerin zahlreicher internationaler Wettbewerbe, sondern widmen sich als «Instrumentalpädagogin» auch der Basis der Musikerziehung. Habe ich das richtig verstanden und können Sie uns kurz etwas zu Ihrem Credo in Sachen Musikerziehung in unserer Gesellschaft sagen?

JB: Wir leben in einem Zeitalter, in der musikalische Aneignungsprozesse eigentlich in der breiten Masse angekommen sein sollten, es aber in vielen Teilen der Gesellschaft nicht sind. Musik- und Instrumentalunterricht oder kulturelle Veranstaltungen sind den wirtschaftlich besser Gestellten vorbehalten. Überall da, wo nicht auch massiv und regelmässig der Zugang zu Instrumentalunterricht in den Primarschulen, der über die tageweise Teilnahme an Education-Projekten hinausgeht, subventioniert wird, brechen komplette Generationen von Konzertbesuchern, Musikliebhabern und schliesslich auch der professionelle Nachwuchs weg (das macht sich übrigens seit einigen Jahren an vielen europäischen Musikhochschulen bemerkbar). Musikalische Spezialisierung und Exzellenz wird unnötigerweise oft mit Abgrenzung verwechselt – Abgrenzung einer Elite gegenüber marginalisierten Gruppen, Kulturkreisen, Laien oder einfach einer breiteren Masse. Ich bin nicht so verblendet zu glauben, dass Alte Musik oder Renaissancemusik jemals ein Massenphänomen wird (obwohl das eine interessante Utopie ist, warum eigentlich nicht …), aber für den einfachen Zugang zu dieser Musik sollte grundsätzlich mit mehr Selbstverständlichkeit gesorgt werden. Ich bin davon überzeugt, dass diese Musik allen gehören sollte, dazu gehört aber auch, dass wir als Kulturschaffende Bezugspunkte für das Publikum herstellen müssen – damit die Musik nicht zu einem konservierungsbedürftigen Stück «untoter» Kultur verkümmert, sondern als echt, individuell relevant und schützenswert empfunden wird.
Ganz im Sinne von «Wenn wir’s teilen, wird’s mehr».

weiterlesen

Bilder

2022

Oktober

Frisch gezwickt

Ein Basler Lautenparcours
So 30.10.22 16–17/18–19h Kaffee 17–18h

Klein- und Grossbasel
Haus zum Hohen Dolder

November

Transeamus: nach Bethlehem!

Spanische Vokalpolyphonie
So 27.11.22 17:30 Thema 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Dezember

Noël normand St. Ursanne

Rouen 1474
Sa 17.12.22 20:00 concert

St. Ursanne
Collégiale

Noël normand Zürich

Rouen 1474
So 18.12.22 11:00 Konzert

Zürich
Wasserkirche

Noël normand Basel

Rouen 1474
So 18.12.22 17:30 Thema 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Noël normand Berne

Rouen 1474
Mo 19.12.22 19:30 Concert

Berne
Eglise française

Noël normand Liestal

Rouen 1474
Di 20.12.22 19:30 Konzert

Liestal
Stadtkirche

Noël normand Brugg

Rouen 1474
Mi 21.12.22 19:30 Konzert

Brugg
Stadtkirche

Noël normand Biel/Bienne

Rouen 1474
Do 22.12.22 19:30 Concert

Biel/Bienne
Stadtkirche

2023

Januar

31 statt 12

Grenzgänge mit Vicentino
So 29.01.23 Thema 17:30 Konzert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Februar

Canti C

Im Labyrinth der Revolution
So 26.02.23 Talk 17:30 Konzert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche Historisches Museum Basel