Canti C

In the labyrinth of revolution
Sun 26.02.23 Theme 17:45 Concert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche Historical Museum Basel

"Canti C"

D

he Canti C appeared in Venice in 1503 as the twelfth publication of the famous pioneer of music notation Ottaviano Petrucci. After editions dedicated to the masses of Josquin, Obrecht, Brumel, Ghiselin and Pierre de la Rue, he prepared a new collection of French, Italian, Flemish and Latin songs. He searched for rarer works, including songs dating back to the 1460s. In addition to these wonderful classics, the program gives us the opportunity to enjoy daring new arrangements – such as Tart ara, J’ay pris amours and Le serviteur – while honoring the Flemish language.

Miriam Trevisan – voice | Claire Piganiol – harp, organetto | Elizabeth Rumsey – renaissance viola da gamba | Brian Franklin – renaissance viola da gamba | Baptiste Romain – renaissance violin, vielle, rebec; conductor

2302 February flyer Canti C

Program booklet ReRenaissance Canti C

Or see also below: Program and Text & History foldout

Brian Franklin, Liz Rumsey, Baptiste Romain, Claire Piganiol, Miriam Trevisan ©Andrew Burn

Video

Petrucci’s biggest flop?

Video blog for Canti C, In the Labyrinth of Revolution, February 26, 2023 (Hosted by Jonas Wolf ; Video shot and edited by Andrew Burn)

Interview

Interview with gambist Brian Franklin

Thomas Christ: In 1977 you came to Basel to study with Jordi Savall at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis. You started teaching viola da gamba in Switzerland 40 years ago, have participated in many renowned ensembles and have recorded numerous early music CDs. How do you find early music as a native American, was the viola da gamba your instrument of choice from a young age?

Brian Franklin: I grew up in Toronto, Canada and had played cello at first, but also recorder and a little piano. Together with my older brother I listened to a lot of early music on records, everything from the Middle Ages to Bach. Actually, our neighbors were “to blame” because they had records with works by Bach played on original instruments. It’s always amazing how randomly some things turn out. At some point came the desire to play the viola da gamba. And there was even a small viol scene in Toronto in the seventies!

TC: The title of our February program “Canti C” refers to the third collection of songs by Ottaviano Petrucci (1503), who is considered the inventor of music printing and the first important music publisher. Your ensemble is called “Canti B,” referring to Petrucci’s second and smallest collection of songs (1502). How did you come up with that name?

BF: When you start an ensemble, it is often very difficult to find a suitable name. Scientific considerations are not always in the foreground. So I have to admit that in the ensemble “Canti B” we actually play only a few works from Canti B. In the beginning, we dealt a lot with Frottole, which was also published by Petrucci, which in turn created a clear link to his work. However, we simply liked the name “Canti B”.

TC: Is it true that we owe the high status of the viola da gamba primarily to the French? Louis XIV is said to have preferred the viola da gamba to the violin – or was the viola da gamba already in vogue as the leading string instrument during the Renaissance?

BF: The viola da gamba was indeed a leading string instrument already in the Renaissance, but not first in France, but on the Iberian Peninsula and in Italy, and somewhat later also in England, in German-speaking countries, and then in France.

TC: Were you also interested in building bridges from early music to other musical eras and genres, or to dance?

BF: My interest also went in the direction of contemporary music. I played in a trio with recorder and harpsichord for 20 years, we regularly commissioned works for our instrumentation and conceived concert programs with a mixture of early and new music. As a gambist, I had less experience with new music than my colleagues. That contemporary music is played on the recorder is almost common practice, and the harpsichordist composed himself. The ensemble no longer exists and I don’t really play new music anymore, but more Renaissance music.

TC: My last question is about the place of Renaissance music in today’s music scene: unlike Baroque music, music before 1600 is only just beginning to be rediscovered. Do you think it will soon enjoy similar popularity or will it remain more reserved for a niche audience?

BF: It would be very nice if Renaissance music would enjoy a similar popularity as Baroque music in the foreseeable future. Whether it will really come to that, I don’t know, of course, but I assume that the times of the absolute niche audience in Renaissance music are slowly but surely over. I remain optimistic and I am always happy when there is a possibility to play and also listen to beautiful and interesting concerts of Renaissance music. ReRenaissance thanks!

weiterlesen

Column

I’m in…
David Fallows

Petrucci seems to have led a life of bold experimentation. His first printing, the Odhecaton of 1501, was famously a single risk venture as well as a massive innovation effort.

{%CAPTION%}

A year later he broke with the choirbook pattern he had used for his earliest books and moved to partbooks with Misse Josquin an enormously harder business because you had to provide four roughly equal sized books with a limited number of pages in each, making it all work out with the eight-page gatherings that he used in all his books. But that turned out to be stunning success: Misse Josquin went into at least four editions and was followed by monographic mass books by almost all the other famous composers of the time, always in sets of little partbooks. Two years after that he boldly opened his frottola series, which ran to eleven volumes. And in 1507 he started in with lute tablatures, which may have been slightly less successful, because it ran to only six volumes.

But the one that seems to have been a disaster was Canti C, which was his attempt at a seriously big collection, 168 leaves containing 139 pieces. This was more than double the size of any of his other publications. And he never tried it again. The limits of its success can also be seen in the dearth of manuscript or printed copies of materials in Canti C compared with, for example the Odhecaton and Canti B or Misse Josquin: all three were mercilessly pirated by later publishers for example, but not Canti C.

Not that the contents had any less power. Canti C positively bursts with marvellous music, much of it well known from earlier copies. And most of it is less well known today than the music of those other three volumes. That is a great pity; and I am correspondingly hungry to hear this concert.

(Translation: Marc Lewon)

weiterlesen

Program

Program booklet ReRenaissance Canti C

Favus distillans – Johannes Ghiselin (active 1491-1505)
fol. 150v-151r

Vostre a jamais / Je n’ay deuil – John Ghiselin
fol. 159v-160r

Helas hic moet my liden – John Ghiselin
fol. 162v-163r

Tart ara mon cuer sa plaisance – Jean Molinet (1435-1507)
fol. 123v-124r

 

Tartara – Henry Isaac (c1450-1517)
fol. 136v-138r

 

J’en ay dueil que je ne suis morte – Jean de Okeghem (c1410-1497)

Rose plaisant odorant comme graine – Jean [Philipon] Dusart (†1485)
fol. 121v-122r

La hault d’alemaigne – Mathurin Forestier (active 1500-1535)
fol. 151v-152r

Ay mi ay mi wat zal ic doen – anonymous
fol. 125v-126r

Le serviteur – Martin Hanart (†1582)
fol. 166v-117r

Prenez sur moi vostre exemple amoureux – Jean de Okeghem
fol. 167v

Vueit ghy – anonymous
fol. 155v-156r

Forseulement – Alexander Agricola (c1446-1506)
fol. 3v-4r

Forseulement – Jacob Obrecht (1458-1505)
fol. 4v-5r

Forseulement – Gilles Reingot (active 1500)
fol. 23v-25r

 

Myn hert heeft altijts verlanghen – Pierre de la Rue (c1452-1518)
fol. 7v-8r

J’ay pris amours – anonymous
fol. 40v-41r

J’ay pris amours – anonymous
fol. 54v-55r

 

Texts & History

Baptiste Romain program notes

Like the two earlier collections of instrumental music edited by Petrucci, Canti C is a testament to the rise of secular music around 1500. These prints set in motion the spread of polyphonic Franco-Flemish chansons to different social circles. With Canti C, Petrucci wanted to build on the success of Odhecaton A and Canti B. Canti C far exceeded the scope of his previous publications, with a total of 139 pieces. In addition to a large number of four-part pieces, it includes some notable two- and five-part pieces for the time, as well as a final section of 24 three-part pieces. The program presents music from the 1460s and 1470s, as well as more recent works that revisit and showcase that material: a tribute to the great composers of the past.

The Flemish composer Johannes Ghiselin, also known as Verbonnet, plays a more important role in Canti C than in the two previous instrumental volumes. His setting of the motto of Charles the Bold (“Je l’ay empris”) indicates that he was probably active at the Burgundian court in the 1470s.

A pupil of Johannes Okeghem, he was also one of Josquin des Prez’s closest companions at the chapel of Ercole I d’Este in Ferrara. After Ghiselin fled the city in 1505 from the plague epidemic, he was mentioned in the books of the Guild of Our Lady in Bergen op Zoom in 1507, whereupon his trace is lost.

The program opens with his three-part paraphrase of the antiphon Favus distillans. This text from the Song of Songs was traditionally sung on the feasts of the Assumption and the Nativity of Mary. In Ghiselin’s piece, the two upper voices move in a homogeneous and florid manner, while the tenor renders the Phrygian Gregorian melody in long values. Vostre a jamais / Je n’ay deuil is a song that has survived without lyrics, probably a five-line rondeau. As a tribute to his teacher, Ghiselin composed the countertenor part around the opening motif of the rondeau J’en ay deuil que je ne suis morte by Johannes Okeghem. This song, already widespread in the Loire Valley in the 1460s, focuses on the pain of a woman who longs for death as a result of the loss of her friend. The four polyphonic voices in this work are unusually distant from each other in terms of the time of its composition, creating an impression of distance and isolation.

The rondeau Tart ara mon cueur sa plaisance is the only composition by Jean Molinet whose attribution is certain. This poet and historiographer, who was active at the Burgundian court in the 1460s and 1470s, is associated with many important musicians of his time. He carried on a poetic correspondence with Antoine Busnoys, Loyset Compère, Verjus, and apparently also consorted with Okeghem, since he wrote two epitaphs on the composer’s death, one of which was set to music by Josquin des Prez. Tart ara mon cueur sa plaisance stands out as an early example of a four-part song and for its obvious popularity, which made it one of the most copied songs of its decade. Heinrich Isaac, who was active in the same cultural circles as Obrecht and Ghiselin, composed more than 20 instrumental pieces based on pre-existing songs. His Tart ara is a long fantasia on Molinet’s tenor, beside which the superius and bassus move very freely, exchanging melodic phrases, reversing them, and playing with the motivic sequences so beloved of Isaac.

A native of Hainaut, Okeghem spent most of his active career at the court of the French king and probably never traveled to Italy. As one of the most important musicians of the Respected in the 15th century and highly regarded by his contemporaries for both his artistic and human qualities, his death in February 1497 was mourned by the poets and musicians of the time, including Guillaume Crétin, Jean Molinet, Josquin, John Lupi, and Loyset Compère. Petrucci decided to conclude Canti C with the canonic rondeau Prenez sur moi vostre exemple amoureux, one of Okeghem’s works, which had been criticized by music theorists of the 16th century has been most discussed, especially because of its enigmatic key signature. The single voice presented to the players must be performed in three voices in a strict canon, with each voice beginning in a different key at intervals of fourths. The combination of these lines is not only a technical masterpiece, but also gives the music a nostalgic, dreamy atmosphere.

Okeghem’s reputation among the composers of his time is perhaps no better illustrated by the praise of poets or theorists than by the many works of the 15. and early 16th century that are based directly on his songs or quote his music. Fors seulement occupies a special place among these compositions: In Canti C there are five arrangements of this rondeau. Among the three versions we have selected, Jacob Obrecht’s is certainly the most striking, transposing the cantus firmus into the hypophrygian mode, placing it in the countertenor, and combining it with the original initial motive in the other voices.

Compared to the previous two volumes, Petrucci has included in Canti C more pieces with Dutch titles. Myn hert heeft altijts verlanghen, Vueit ghy, Ay mi ay mi wat zal ic doen and Helas hic moet my liden testify to a certain preference for this language and remind us of the origins of most of the composers represented here. In general, these Flemish songs have survived only moderately. They were also not often used as models for other compositions, which makes them rarely heard works.

Prof. Baptiste Romain

 

2024

September

The Bassanos

Homage to the recorder
Sun 29.09.24

October

Magnum opus musicum 1604

Obituary for Orlando di Lasso
Sun 27.10.24 18:15 Concert

Martinskirche
Basel

November

Du Fay 550

Music for a lifetime
Sun 24.11.24 18:15 Concert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

December

Now sing and rejoice

Sing-along Concert
Sun 29.12.24 17:45 Workshop 18:15 Concert

Barfüsserkirche

Canti C

Im Labyrinth der Revolution
So 26.02.23 Thema 17:45 Konzert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche Historisches Museum Basel

«Canti C»

D

ie Canti C erschienen 1503 in Venedig als zwölfte Veröffentlichung des berühmten Pioniers des Musiknotendrucks Ottaviano Petrucci. Nach Ausgaben, die den Messen von Josquin, Obrecht, Brumel, Ghiselin und Pierre de la Rue gewidmet waren, bereitete er eine neue Sammlung aus französischen, italienischen, flämischen und lateinischen Liedern vor. Er suchte nach selteneren Werken, darunter nach Liedern, die bis in die 1460er Jahre zurückreichten. Neben diesen wunderbaren Klassikern gibt uns das Programm die Gelegenheit, gewagte neue Bearbeitungen zu geniessen – wie Tart ara, J’ay pris amours und Le serviteur – und dabei zugleich die flämische Sprache in Ehren zu halten.

Miriam Trevisan – Gesang | Claire Piganiol – Harfe, Organetto | Elizabeth Rumsey – Renaissancegambe | Brian Franklin – Renaissancegambe | Baptiste Romain – Renaissancevioline, Vielle, Rebec; Leitung

2302 Februarflyer Canti C 

Programmbooklet ReRenaissance Canti C

Oder siehe auch unten: Ausklapper Programm und Text & Geschichte

Brian Franklin, Liz Rumsey, Baptiste Romain, Claire Piganiol, Miriam Trevisan ©Andrew Burn

Video

Petrucci’s biggest Flop?

Videoblog zu Canti C, Im Labyrinth der Revolution, 26. Februar 2023 (Hosted by Jonas Wolf ; Video shoot and edit by Andrew Burn)

Interview

Interview mit dem Gambisten Brian Franklin

Thomas Christ: 1977 kamst du nach Basel, um bei Jordi Savall an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis zu studieren. Du hast vor 40 Jahren als Dozent für Viola da Gamba in der Schweiz begonnen, bei vielen namhaften Ensembles mitgewirkt und zahlreiche CDs mit Früher Musik eingespielt. Wie findet man als gebürtiger Amerikaner zur Frühen Musik, war die Gambe bereits in jungen Jahren dein bevorzugtes Instrument?

Brian Franklin: Ich bin in Toronto, Kanada aufgewachsen und hatte zunächst Cello gespielt, aber auch Blockflöte und ein bisschen Klavier. Zusammen mit meinem älteren Bruder hörte ich viel Frühe Musik auf Platten, alles von Mittelalter bis Bach. Eigentlich waren unsere Nachbarn «schuld», da sie Platten mit Werken von Bach, gespielt auf Originalinstrumenten, besassen. Es ist immer wieder erstaunlich, wie zufällig manche Sachen sich entwickeln. Irgendwann kam der Wunsch, Gambe zu spielen. Und in den Siebzigerjahren gab es sogar eine kleine Gambenszene in Toronto!

TC: Der Titel unseres Februar-Programms «Canti C» bezieht sich auf die dritte Liedersammlung Ottaviano Petruccis (1503), welcher als Erfinder des Notendrucks und als erster bedeutender Musikverleger gilt. Dein Ensemble nennt sich «Canti B» und bezieht sich damit auf Petruccis zweite und kleinste Liedersammlung (1502). Wie seid ihr zu diesem Namen gekommen?

BF: Wenn man ein Ensemble gründet, ist es oft sehr schwierig, einen passenden Namen zu finden. Wissenschaftliche Überlegungen stehen da nicht immer im Vordergrund. So muss ich zugeben, dass wir im Ensemble «Canti B» eigentlich nur wenige Werke aus Canti B spielen. Wir haben uns am Anfang viel mit Frottole beschäftigt, die auch von Petrucci verlegt wurden, was wiederum eine klare Verbindung zu seinem Schaffen schuf. Der Name «Canti B» hat uns aber einfach gefallen.

TC: Stimmt es, dass wir den hohen Stellenwert der Gambe vornehmlich den Franzosen zu verdanken haben? Louis XIV. soll die Gambe gegenüber der Geige vorgezogen haben – oder war die Gambe bereits in der Renaissance als führendes Streichinstrument en vogue?

BF: Die Gambe war tatsächlich schon in der Renaissance ein führendes Streichinstrument, aber nicht zuerst in Frankreich, sondern auf der iberischen Halbinsel und in Italien, etwas später auch in England, im deutschsprachigen Raum und dann in Frankreich.

TC: Hat es dich auch interessiert, Brücken von der Alten Musik zu anderen Musikepochen und -genres oder zum Tanz zu schlagen?

BF: Mein Interesse ging auch in Richtung zeitgenössischer Musik. Ich habe 20 Jahre lang in einem Trio mit Blockflöte und Cembalo gespielt, wir gaben regelmässig Werke für unsere Besetzung in Auftrag und konzipierten Konzertprogramme mit einer Mischung aus Früher und Neuer Musik. Als Gambist hatte ich weniger Erfahrung mit Neuer Musik als meine Kolleg:innen. Dass man auf der Blockflöte zeitgenössische Musik spielt, ist fast Usus, und der Cembalist komponierte selbst. Das Ensemble existiert nicht mehr und ich spiele eigentlich keine Neue Musik mehr, dafür mehr Renaissancemusik.

TC: Meine letzte Frage betrifft den Stellenwert von Renaissancemusik in der heutigen Musikszene: Im Gegensatz zu Barockmusik steht Musik vor 1600 erst am Anfang ihrer Wiederentdeckung. Wird sie sich deiner Meinung nach bald einer ähnlichen Beliebtheit erfreuen oder wird sie eher einem Nischenpublikum vorbehalten bleiben?

BF: Es wäre sehr schön, wenn sich die Renaissancemusik in absehbarer Zeit einer ähnlichen Beliebtheit wie die Barockmusik erfreuen würde. Ob es wirklich so weit kommt, weiss ich natürlich nicht, aber ich gehe davon aus, dass die Zeiten des absoluten Nischenpublikums bei der Renaissancemusik langsam aber sicher vorbei sind. Ich bleibe optimistisch und freue mich immer, wenn es die Möglichkeit gibt, schöne und interessante Konzerte mit Renaissancemusik zu spielen und auch zu hören. ReRenaissance sei Dank!

weiterlesen

Kolumne

Ich bin dabei …
David Fallows

Petrucci scheint ein Leben voll kühner Experimente geführt zu haben. Sein erster Druck, das Odhecaton von 1501, war bekanntlich ein einziges Risikounternehmen und zugleich eine gewaltige Innovationsanstrengung.

Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. David Fallows

Ein Jahr später gab er das Chorbuchformat auf, das er für seine ersten Veröffentlichungen verwendet hatte (und bei dem alle Stimmen auf einer Doppelseite untergebracht wurden), und ging mit Misse Josquin zu Stimmbüchern über – ein ungleich schwierigeres Unterfangen, weil er dafür vier Bücher (für jede Stimme eines) von ungefähr gleichem Umfang mit einer begrenzten Anzahl von Seiten pro Buch herstellen und dabei mit seinem Standard von acht Seiten pro Lage auskommen musste. Die Publikation aber wurde ein überwältigender Erfolg: Misse Josquin erlebte mindestens vier Auflagen und es folgten weitere Messen-Drucke von fast allen anderen berühmten Komponisten der Zeit, stets in Form von kleinen Stimmbuchsätzen. Zwei Jahre später begann er kühn seine Frottola-Reihe, die auf elf Bände anwuchs. Und 1507 begann er mit Tabulaturen für Laute, die vielleicht etwas weniger erfolgreich waren, weil sie im Endeffekt nur sechs Bände umfassen sollten.

Als Desaster jedoch scheinen sich die Canti C herausgestellt zu haben, sein Versuch einer wirklich grossen Sammlung von 139 Stücken auf 168 Folios. Sie war mehr als doppelt so umfangreich wie alle seine anderen Veröffentlichungen. Und er sollte etwas Vergleichbares nie wieder versuchen. Der begrenzte Erfolg dieses Drucks zeigt sich auch darin, dass es kaum handschriftliche oder gedruckte Kopien des Materials aus den Canti C gibt, verglichen etwa mit dem Odhecaton und Canti B oder Misse Josquin: Alle drei wurden von späteren Verlegern gnadenlos raubkopiert, Canti C jedoch nicht.

Nicht, dass der Inhalt weniger attraktiv gewesen wäre: Canti C strotzt geradezu vor wunderbarer Musik, von der vieles bereits in früheren Quellen zu finden ist. Und das meiste davon ist heute weniger bekannt als die Musik der drei anderen Publikationen. Das ist wirklich schade, und ich bin entsprechend gespannt, dieses Konzert zu hören.

(Übersetzung: Marc Lewon)

weiterlesen

Programm

Programmbooklet ReRenaissance Canti C

Favus distillans – Johannes Ghiselin (tätig 1491–1505)
fol. 150v–151r

Vostre a jamais / Je n’ay deuil – Johannes Ghiselin
fol. 159v–160r

Helas hic moet my liden – Johannes Ghiselin
fol. 162v–163r

Tart ara mon cuer sa plaisance – Jean Molinet (1435–1507)
fol. 123v–124r

 

Tartara – Heinrich Isaac (c1450–1517)
fol. 136v–138r

 

J’en ay dueil que je ne suis morte – Jean de Okeghem (c1410–1497)

Rose plaisant odorant comme graine – Jean [Philipon] Dusart (†1485)
fol. 121v–122r

La hault d’alemaigne – Mathurin Forestier (tätig 1500–1535)
fol. 151v–152r

Ay mi ay mi wat zal ic doen – anonym
fol. 125v–126r

Le serviteur – Martin Hanart (†1582)
fol. 166v–117r

Prenez sur moi vostre exemple amoureux – Jean de Okeghem
fol. 167v

Vueit ghy – anonym
fol. 155v–156r

Forseulement – Alexander Agricola (c1446–1506)
fol. 3v–4r

Forseulement – Jacob Obrecht (1458-1505)
fol. 4v–5r

Forseulement – Gilles Reingot (tätig 1500)
fol. 23v–25r

 

Myn hert heeft altijts verlanghen – Pierre de la Rue (c1452–1518)
fol. 7v–8r

J’ay pris amours – anonym
fol. 40v–41r

J’ay pris amours – anonym
fol. 54v–55r

 

Text & Geschichte

Programmnotizen von Baptiste Romain

Wie die beiden früheren von Petrucci herausgegebenen Sammlungen von Instrumentalmusik ist auch Canti C ein Zeugnis für den Aufschwung der weltlichen Musik um 1500. Diese Drucke setzten die Verbreitung polyphoner franko-flämischer Chansons in unterschiedliche Gesellschaftskreise in Gang. Mit Canti C wollte Petrucci an den Erfolg von Odhecaton A und Canti B anknüpfen. Canti C überstieg den Umfang seiner früheren Publikationen mit insgesamt 139 Stücken bei weitem. Neben einer Vielzahl an vierstimmigen Stücken sind einige für die Zeit bemerkenswerte zwei- und fünfstimmige sowie ein Schlussabschnitt mit 24 dreistimmigen Werken enthalten. Das Programm präsentiert Musik der 1460er und 1470er Jahre, aber auch neuere Werke, die jenes Material wiederaufgreifen und zur Geltung bringen: eine Hommage an die grossen Komponisten der Vergangenheit.

Der flämische Komponist Johannes Ghiselin, auch Verbonnet genannt, spielt in Canti C eine bedeutendere Rolle als in den beiden vorangegangenen Instrumentalbänden. , Seiner Vertonung des Mottos Karls des Kühnen («Je l’ay empris») lässt sich entnehmen, dass er wahrscheinlich in den 1470er Jahren am Burgunder Hof tätig war.

Als Schüler von Johannes Okeghem war er auch einer der engsten Gefährten von Josquin des Prez an der Kapelle von Ercole I d’Este in Ferrara. Nachdem Ghiselin 1505 vor der Pestepidemie aus der Stadt geflohen war, wurde er 1507 in den Büchern der Liebfrauen-Gilde in Bergen op Zoom erwähnt, woraufhin sich seine Spur verliert.

Das Programm wird mit seiner dreistimmigen Paraphrase der Antiphon Favus distillans eröffnet. Dieser Text aus dem Hohelied wurde traditionell an den Marienfesten Mariä Himmelfahrt und Mariä Geburt gesungen. In Ghiselins Stück bewegen sich die beiden Oberstimmen auf homogene und floride Weise, während der Tenor die phrygische gregorianische Melodie in langen Werten wiedergibt. Vostre a jamais / Je n’ay deuil ist ein ohne Text überliefertes Lied, wahrscheinlich ein fünfzeiliges Rondeau. Als Hommage an seinen Lehrer komponierte Ghiselin die Kontratenorstimme um das Anfangsmotiv des Rondeaus J’en ay deuil que je ne suis morte von Johannes Okeghem. Dieses Lied, das bereits in den 1460er Jahren im Loiretal verbreitet war, stellt den Schmerz einer Frau in den Vordergrund, die sich infolge des Verlusts ihres Freundes nach dem Tod sehnt. Die vier polyphonen Stimmen sind in diesem Werk hinsichtlich seiner Entstehungszeit ungewöhnlich weit voneinander entfernt, wodurch ein Eindruck von Distanz und Isolation entsteht.

Das Rondeau Tart ara mon cueur sa plaisance ist die einzige Komposition von Jean Molinet, deren Zuschreibung sicher ist. Dieser Dichter und Historiograph, der in den 1460er und 1470er Jahren am burgundischen Hof tätig war, wird mit vielen bedeutenden Musikern seiner Zeit in Verbindung gebracht. Er führte eine dichterische Korrespondenz mit Antoine Busnoys, Loyset Compère, Verjus und verkehrte offensichtlich auch mit Okeghem, da er zwei Epitaphien zum Tod des Komponisten schrieb, von denen eine von Josquin des Prez vertont wurde. Tart ara mon cueur sa plaisance zeichnet sich als frühes Beispiel eines vierstimmigen Liedes und durch seine offensichtliche Beliebtheit aus, die es zu einem der am häufigsten kopierten Lieder seines Jahrzehnts machte. Heinrich Isaac, der in denselben kulturellen Kreisen wie Obrecht und Ghiselin aktiv war, komponierte mehr als 20 Instrumentalstücke, die auf bereits existierenden Liedern basieren. Sein Tart ara ist eine lange Fantasie über den Tenor von Molinet, neben dem sich der Superius und der Bassus sehr frei bewegen, die melodischen Phrasen austauschen, umkehren und mit den von Isaac so geliebten motivischen Sequenzen spielen.

Der aus dem Hennegau stammende Okeghem verbrachte den grössten Teil seiner aktiven Laufbahn am Hof des französischen Königs und reiste vermutlich nie nach Italien. Als einer der wichtigsten Musiker des 15. Jahrhunderts angesehen und von seinen Zeitgenossen sowohl wegen seiner künstlerischen als auch menschlichen Qualitäten sehr geschätzt, wurde sein Tod im Februar 1497 von den Dichtern und Musikern der Zeit beklagt, u. a. von Guillaume Crétin, Jean Molinet, Josquin, Johannes Lupi und Loyset Compère. Petrucci beschloss, Canti C mit dem kanonischen Rondeau Prenez sur moi vostre exemple amoureux abzuschliessen, einem der Werke Okeghems, das von Musiktheoretikern des 16. Jahrhunderts am meisten diskutiert wurde, insbesondere wegen seiner rätselhaften Schlüsselsignatur. Die einzige Stimme, die den Spieler:innen präsentiert wird, muss dreistimmig in einem strengen Kanon ausgeführt werden, wobei jede Stimme im Quartabstand in einer anderen Tonart beginnt. Die Kombination dieser Linien ist nicht nur eine technische Meisterleistung, sondern verleiht der Musik auch eine nostalgisch verträumte Atmosphäre.

Okeghems Ruf unter den Komponisten seiner Zeit wird vielleicht nicht besser durch das Lob von Dichtern oder Theoretikern illustriert als durch die vielen Werke des 15. und frühen 16. Jahrhunderts, die direkt auf seinen Liedern basieren oder seine Musik zitieren. Fors seulement nimmt unter diesen Kompositionen eine besondere Stellung ein: In Canti C finden sich fünf Bearbeitungen dieses Rondeaus. Unter den drei von uns ausgewählten Versionen ist die von Jacob Obrecht sicherlich die markanteste, die den Cantus firmus in den hypophrygischen Modus transponiert, in den Kontratenor setzt und mit dem ursprüngliche Initialmotiv in den anderen Stimmen kombiniert.

Im Vergleich zu den beiden vorherigen Bänden hat Petrucci in Canti C mehr Stücke mit niederländischen Titeln aufgenommen. Myn hert heeft altijts verlanghen, Vueit ghy, Ay mi ay mi wat zal ic doen und Helas hic moet my liden zeugen von einer gewissen Vorliebe für diese Sprache und erinnern uns an die Herkunft der meisten der hier vertretenen Komponisten. Im Allgemeinen sind diese flämischen Lieder nur mässig überliefert. Sie wurden auch nicht oft als Vorlage für andere Kompositionen verwendet, was sie zu selten gehörten Werken macht.

Prof. Baptiste Romain

 

Galerie

2024

September

Die Bassanos

Hommage an die Blockflötenfamilie
So 29.09.24 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Oktober

Magnum opus musicum 1604

Nachruf auf Orlando di Lasso
So 27.10.24 18:15 Konzert

Martinskirche
Basel

November

Du Fay 550

Musik fürs ganze Leben
So 24.11.24 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Dezember

Nun singet

... und seid froh!
So 29.12.24 17:45 Mitsing-Workshop 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

2025

September

Festival 2025 «ARCADIA»

Fr 26.09.25 bis 28.09.2025

Basel, Martinskirche