Psalmy Dawida

Melodies for the Polish Psalter
Sun 26.06.22

Barfüsserkirche
Historical Museum Basel

Krakow, Colored Engraving From Civitates Orbi Terrarum, Braun And Hogenberg, 1576

D

he Polish-born singer Agnieszka Budzińska-Bennett and other specialists in early music take us on the trail of Mikolaj Gomólka (1535-1609).

The Polish composer set to music the Psalms of David set to rhyme by Jan Kochanowski. He placed the highest value on the connection between text and music. his sophistication in handling the nuances of the Polish language paved the way for a national style of art.

Agnieszka Budzińska -Bennett – vocals, direction | Marc Lewon – lute, renaissance guitar and alto viol | Leonardo Bortolotto – bass and treble viol | Caroline Ritchie – bass viol | Masako Art – triple harp and renaissance harp | Elizabeth Rumsey: production

Video

New Words, New Music – Polish Psalmody

Vlog June 2022 on “Psalmy Dawida” – Melodies from the Polish Psalter

Interview

Agnieszka Budzińska-Bennett – singer, harpist and musicologist

Thomas Christ (TC): How does a graduated Polish pianist come from Szczecin via Poznan to Basel to the Schola Cantorum? Did you come to early music via musicology or is there – as so often – a key musical experience?

Agnieszka Budzińska-Bennett (ABB): Since I was a teenager, my heart beat for early music. First it was the baroque music. Key experiences were the voices of Emma Kirkby, Paul Elliott and David Thomas in the legendary “Messiah” with Christopher Hogwood – to this day I get goose bumps when I hear this interpretation.

But then, when I was about 16 years old, I discovered the Middle Ages. It was the visionary recordings of René Clemencic, David Munrow and Gothic Voices (very difficult to get in Poland at that time). I find them incredibly important even today thanks to their transparency, their respect for the work and thanks to the incredible creative power – these were actually the great pioneers!
The “borderline experience” you mentioned was an excerpt from “Beowulf” performed by Benjamin Bagby (Sequentia), one of the greatest early music artists I have ever encountered. Imagine a fragment of an Anglo-Saxon epic, perhaps sung at some point (with no surviving musical notation) and not a word of it to be understood, performed by a single singer accompanying himself on a six-stringed lyre. Sometimes you could pick out a word that sounded like a mixture of English, German, or Old Norse, but generally there was nothing to understand (this was back in the days when Ben performed this epic without subtitles!). And yet it was such an amazing experience, in its own way such a clear message that each of us (and it happened during one of the legendary medieval music festivals in Stary Sącz in southern Poland) knew exactly when in this melodramatically recited text the dragon moved the third claw of his left hind leg and what was going on in the soul of the heroic Beowulf. That fascinated me to no end. At that moment I realized with great clarity the power of words to reach the listener so directly, both intellectually and emotionally. That’s when it occurred to me that I too would like to and could do something like that one day.

So I owe my career and aesthetics to my mentor and friend Ben, through this influence I also ended up in Basel, at that time the only place where you could study medieval music.

TC: You have studied in depth the roots of music, especially folk songs. We know the early music of Italy, France, Germany and England to some extent – what are the main differences to early music in Eastern Europe, especially in your musical homeland Poland?

ABB: I have never studied folk music (only a few ethnomusicological modules in my studies), but I have studied the oldest written witnesses of musical creation of many countries – including Poland, which, by the way, belongs to Central Europe. The differences are not so great: at the beginning there is liturgical music in Latin with borrowed material, then comes the local production in Latin and then also in the national language, there is a lot of exchange with neighboring countries (Germany, Bohemia, etc.) and also a great transfer of repertoire. Because of the relatively late Christianization (966), everything develops somewhat later than in Western Europe, but already in the late 13th century the fragments of the manuscripts from the Notre Dame in Paris are found in the monasteries of the Poor Clares in southern Poland – whether they were actually performed is another question – and we know of local attempts to study the four-part harmony, which was extremely rare at that time. And in the 15th century in Poland we are indeed up-to-date: the international and local repertoires live harmoniously side by side, and there are composers who immediately incorporate the latest achievements into local practice, such as Nicholas de Radom, who shortly after Guillaume Dufay (1400-1474) also used a “fauxbourdon” (three-part chant over a psalm melody) in his compositions. And in the Renaissance, Polish composers and musicians become known throughout Europe – a prime example is Wacław z Szamotuł, whose motets are printed in Nuremberg, alongside Orlando di Lasso, Thomas Crequillon, Clemens non Papa, Adrian Willaert, Philippe Verdelot, Nicolas Gombert and Josquin.

TC: Given the occasion, I will take the liberty of traveling even more to the edge of Europe with my question. Not only did you perform early Icelandic music, but you also devoted yourself to studying Scandinavian studies. Is there a Scandinavian Baroque or even Renaissance music, or were these not rather imported courtly or ecclesiastical melodies?

ABB: The CD series “Mare Balticum” of my ensemble Peregrina is dedicated to Scandinavia (4 albums, released by Tacet 2017-21). The late introduced Christianity has promoted very individual solutions, in this respect the music from Denmark, Sweden or Finland is already somewhat different. On the one hand, there are common imported melodies (also contrafactures) – as an example I can mention here the mass parts with well-known chorale melodies but in Old Finnish (we also recorded them!). On the other hand, there are many experiments in the north, also in the field of polyphony, which are very peculiar. And thus incredibly fascinating!

TC: Almost 35 years ago you founded your ensemble for medieval music “Peregrina” – there we stay again with the topic, because the name has a programmatic meaning in its meaning of the wanderer or pilgrim. Did musical styles spread with the migration of peoples and enrich local melodies or rather displace them?

ABB: Diverse influences from traveling musicians have always existed. Our Notker Balbulus (scholar and poet from Carolingian times) from Saint Gall mentions a manuscript brought from Jumièges that gave him a revolutionary idea (it is about early sequences). On the other hand, many local idioms of the chant were lost with the Gregorian reform. It is an eternal game of mutually beneficial influences, but also a story of losses due to the onset of new trends.

TC: My last question, as always, is about the compositional, but also media comparison of the Renaissance discoveries to the Baroque music played today. The latter has enjoyed great popularity for several decades, while Renaissance music has remained somewhat intimate. Is this due to the spirit of the times, or to media mediation, or simply to the relative “unexploredness” of that early music?

ABB: Renaissance music (as well as medieval) demands much more from the listener. They are (unfortunately still) foreign sounds, foreign languages, complicated forms and genres whose context is not at all easy to explain and understand. The fast pace of life and the “unspectacular” nature of ancient art do not particularly favor the teaching of Renaissance music. But I have the confidence, and I see it in my many travels around the world, that there is an ever wider and more aware audience that appreciates and supports our work. This gives us a lot of strength. And that’s a good thing, because the work has only just begun.

weiterlesen

Column



I’m in … ” by Martin Kirnbauer on

“Psalmy Dawida
“, June 2022

(written in May 2022)

In a “hit parade”, the popularity of music titles is to be measured on the basis of the sales figures of sound carriers (incidentally, this was done before the triumph of the record initially on the basis of sold sheet music and later from jukeboxes set up in public, today streaming is also included). If one wanted to identify a “hit parade” of the Renaissance, one would have to look for it in the various Psalter settings that spread throughout the Reformed areas of Europe in the course of the Protestant Reformation. For it was mainly this music that was sung and played in the Reformed church service as well as for devotions at home.

In several concerts of “ReRenaissance” various examples of how Jean Calvin’s metrical translations of the biblical Psalter were musically realized could already be heard (I remember well the concert last October, where also the singularly in the Basel University Library preserved Hebrew “Rücktextierung” to a melody of the Geneva Psalter sounded). The next concert will feature the Psalter settings of the Polish composer Mikołaj Gomółka, which were published as “Melodies for the Polish Psalter” in Kraków in 1580 and were widely used in Poland. I am curious to see what place they will occupy in the Renaissance charts I have imagined …

 

…by David Fallows

(in January 2021; The concert is postponed to June 2022. Translation Marc Lewon)

For any music lover with a few years under their belt, one of the great fascinations in life is the sheer amount of music out there that you’ve never heard before. And that is the case for me with Gomółka. I know that his only known work is a set of 150 four-part psalm settings in plain style printed in 1580; furthermore, I know that Agnieszka Budzińska-Bennett and Marc Lewon have been recording a complete set with Elizabeth Rumsey for some time. But to date I have not heard a single note, and I am really looking forward to learning about the composer to whom these wonderful musicians have devoted so much time and energy.

weiterlesen

Program

Program Booklet June 2022

Music: Mikołaj Gomółka (c1535 to after 1591)
Text: Jan Kochanowski (1530-1584)

1.
Niech co chce będźie

Quam bonus Israhel Deus (Ps.73)

2. Pana wołam
Voce mea ad Dominum clamavi (Ps.142bis)
(Consort)

3. Broń mię, móy panie
Eripe me Domine (Ps.140)

4.
A Pollish Ayre
– Tobias Hume (c1579-1645)
The First Part of Ayres, French, Pollish and Others, London (John Windet) 1605.
(Bass viol)

5. Mocą imienia swego
Deus in nomine Tuo (Ps.54)

6.
In te Domine speravi
(Ps.31) – Wacław z Szamotuł (c1520-c1560)
Psalmorum selectorum, Tomus 4, Nuremberg (Johann vom Berg) 1554
(harp)

7. Jako na puszczy prędkimi psy szczwana
Quemadmodum desiderat cervus (Ps.42)
(bass viol & harp)

8. Chwalćie Pana prze dobroć Iego niewymowną
Confitemini Domino quoniam bonus (Ps.107)

9.
Ricercar
– anonymous (c1590)
The Hague, Gemeentemuseum, Musziekafdeling, Ms. 28.B.39 (“The Siena Lute Book,” c1590), fol.20r-v
(Lute)

10. Mam przecz Pana miłować
Dilexi quoniam exaudiet Dominus (Ps.116)

11. Panie, za Twoią zawżdy pomocą
Domine in virtute Tua laetabitur rex (Ps.21)

12. Błogosław, duszo moia
Benedic anima mea (Ps.103)

13.
Cantate Domino
(Ps.149) – Adam Jarzębski (c1590-c1648)
Contrafactum on “Vestiva i colli” – Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina (1525-1594)

Canzoni è Concerti a due, tre è quattro voci cum Basso Continuo, 1627 (Berlin, Staatsbibliothek, Ms.mus.111)
(treble viol, bass viol, harp)

14. Kto syę w opiekę poda Panu swemu
Qui habitat in adiutorio altissimi (Ps.91)

15. Pomni, Panie, Dawida
Memento Domine David (Ps.132)

16. Serce mi każe śpiewać
Eructavit cor meum (Ps.45bis)
(Consort)

17. Panu swemu daymy cześć rymy nowemi
Cantate Domino canticum novum (Ps.149)

18. panu swemu daymy czesc rymy nowemi Cantate Domino canticum novum
(Ps. 149)

Texts & History

Polish-born singer Agnieszka Budzińska-Bennett and other specialists in early music take us on the trail of Mikołaj Gomółka (1535-1609).

The Polish composer set to music the Psalms of David set to rhyme by Jan Kochanowski. He placed the highest value on the connection between text and music. His sophistication in handling the nuances of the Polish language paved the way for a national style of art.

Agnieszka Budzińska-Bennett – voice, direction
Marc Lewon – lute, renaissance guitar and alto viola da gamba
Leonardo Bortolotto – bass and treble viola da gamba
Masako Art – Triple and Renaissance Harp
Caroline Ritchie – bass viol

Elizabeth Rumsey: Production

 

Admission free – collection

 

2023

Februar

Canti C

In the labyrinth of revolution
Sun 26.02.23 Intro 17:45 Concert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche
Basel Historical Museum

März

Songs without words

The mystery of a textless chansonnier (c1473)
Sun 26.03.23 Intro 17:30 Concert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche
Historical Museum Basel

April

Dialogue of the keys II

Ammerbach with double m (and singing)
Sun 30.04.23 Theme 17:45 Concert 18:15

Mai

All in a Garden Green

Melodies to dance along ... or listen and look
Sun 28.05.23 afternoon

Place still open

Juni

The donkey crown

Animals & Creatures invite to the finissage
Sun 25.06.23 Theme 17:45 Concert 18:15

September

Biennale ReRenaissance 2023

Music and Power - Maximilian's Triumphal Procession
Fri 22.09.23 Opening Concert 19:30

Barfüsserkirche
Historical Museum Basel

Psalmy Dawida

Melodien für den polnischen Psalter
So 26.06.22

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Krakau, Kolorierter Kupferstich Aus Civitates Orbi Terrarum, Braun And Hogenberg, 1576

D

ie aus Polen stammende Sängerin Agnieszka Budzińska-Bennett und andere Spezialisten der frühen Musik nehmen uns mit auf die Spuren von Mikolaj Gomólka (1535-1609).

Der polnische Komponist vertonte die von Jan Kochanowski in Reime gesetzten Psalmen Davids. Dabei legte er höchsten Wert auf die Verbindung von Text und Musik. seine Raffinesse im Umgang mit den Nuancen der polnischen Sprache bereitete den Weg zu einem nationalen Kunststil.

Agnieszka Budzińska -Bennett – Gesang, Leitung | Marc Lewon – Laute, Renaissancegitarre und Altgambe | Leonardo Bortolotto – Bass- und Diskantgambe | Caroline Ritchie – Bassgambe | Masako Art – Tripelharfe und Renaissanceharfe | Elizabeth Rumsey: Produktion

Programm

Musik: Mikołaj Gomółka (c1535 bis nach 1591)
Text: Jan Kochanowski (1530–1584) 

1. Niech co chce będźie
Quam bonus Israhel Deus (Ps.73)

2. Pana wołam
Voce mea ad Dominum clamavi (Ps.142bis)
(Consort) 

3. Broń mię, móy Panie
Eripe me Domine (Ps.140)

4. A Pollish Ayre – Tobias Hume (c1579–1645)
The First Part of Ayres, French, Pollish and Others, London (John Windet) 1605.
(Bassgambe) 

5. Mocą imienia swego
Deus in nomine Tuo (Ps.54)

6. In te Domine speravi (Ps.31) – Wacław z Szamotuł (c1520–c1560)
Psalmorum selectorum, Tomus 4, Nürnberg (Johann vom Berg) 1554
(Harfe) 

7. Jako na puszczy prędkimi psy szczwana
Quemadmodum desiderat cervus (Ps.42)
(Bassgambe & Harfe) 

8. Chwalćie Pana prze dobroć Iego niewymowną
Confitemini Domino quoniam bonus (Ps.107)

9. Ricercar – anonym (c1590)
Den Haag, Gemeentemuseum, Musziekafdeling, Ms. 28.B.39 («Das Siena Lautenbuch», c1590), fol.20r–v
(Laute) 

10. Mam przecz Pana miłować
Dilexi quoniam exaudiet Dominus (Ps.116)

11. Panie, za Twoią zawżdy pomocą
Domine in virtute Tua laetabitur rex (Ps.21)

12. Błogosław, duszo moia
Benedic anima mea (Ps.103)

13. Cantate Domino (Ps.149) – Adam Jarzębski (c1590–c1648)
Contrafactum auf «Vestiva i colli» – Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina (1525–1594)

Canzoni è Concerti a due, tre è quattro voci cum Basso Continuo, 1627 (Berlin, Staatsbibliothek, Ms.mus.111)
(Diskantgambe, Bassgambe, Harfe) 

14. Kto syę w opiekę poda Panu swemu
Qui habitat in adiutorio altissimi (Ps.91)

15. Pomni, Panie, Dawida
Memento Domine David (Ps.132) 

16. Serce mi każe śpiewać
Eructavit cor meum (Ps.45bis)
(Consort) 

17. Panu swemu daymy cześć rymy nowemi
Cantate Domino canticum novum (Ps.149)

18. Panu swemu daymy czesc rymy nowemi Cantate Domino canticum novum
(Ps. 149)

Kolumne

«Ich bin dabei … » von Martin Kirnbauer zu «Psalmy Dawida», Juni 2022

(geschrieben im Mai 2022)

Bei einer «Hitparade» soll anhand der Verkaufszahlen von Tonträgern die Beliebtheit von Musiktiteln gemessen werden (dies geschah übrigens vor dem Siegeszug der Schallplatte anfangs anhand von verkauften Notenblättern und später von öffentlich aufgestellten Jukeboxen, heute wird auch das Streaming einbezogen). Wollte man nun eine «Hitparade» der Renaissance ermitteln, so hätte man in den verschiedenen Psaltervertonungen zu suchen, die sich im Zuge der Protestantischen Reformation sich in den reformierten Gebieten Europas verbreiteten. Denn vorwiegend diese Musik wurde im reformierten Gottesdienst wie zur Andacht zu Hause gesungen und musiziert.

In mehreren Konzerten von «ReRenaissance» waren schon verschiedene Beispiele davon zu hören, wie Jean Calvins metrische Übersetzungen des biblischen Psalters musikalisch umgesetzt wurden (ich erinnere mich gut an das Konzert im letzten Oktober, wo auch die singulär in der Basler Universitätsbibliothek erhaltene hebräische «Rücktextierung» zu einer Melodie des Genfer Psalters erklang). Im nächsten Konzert sind die Psaltervertonungen des polnischen Komponisten Mikołaj Gomółka zu entdecken, die als «Melodien für den Polnischen Psalter» 1580 in Kraków erschienen und in Polen weit verbreitet waren. Ich gespannt, welchen Platz sie in den von mir imaginierten Renaissance-Charts einnehmen werden …

 

…von David Fallows

(im Januar 2021; Das Konzert ist auf Juni 2022 verschoben. Übersetzung Marc Lewon)

Für jeden Musikliebhaber, der schon ein paar Jahre auf dem Buckel hat, ist eine der grossen Faszinationen im Leben die schiere Menge an Musik, die es gibt und die man noch nie zu Ohren bekommen hat. Und das ist bei mir der Fall mit Gomółka. Ich weiss, dass sein einziges bekanntes Werk eine Reihe von 150 vierstimmigen Psalmvertonungen in schlichtem Stil ist, die 1580 gedruckt wurden; ausserdem weiss ich, dass Agnieszka Budzińska-Bennett und Marc Lewon mit Elizabeth Rumsey seit einiger Zeit ein Gesamteinspielung vorgenommen haben. Aber bis heute habe ich keine einzige Note gehört, und ich freue mich wirklich darauf, etwas über den Komponisten zu erfahren, dem diese wunderbaren Musiker so viel Zeit und Energie gewidmet haben. 

weiterlesen

Interview

Agnieszka Budzińska-Bennett – Sängerin, Harfenistin und Musikwissenschaftlerin

Thomas Christ (TC): Wie kommt man als diplomierte polnische Pianistin von Stettin via Posen nach Basel an die Schola Cantorum? Kamst du über die Musikwissenschaft zur Frühen Musik oder gibt es – wie so oft – ein musikalisches Schlüsselerlebnis?

Agnieszka Budzińska-Bennett (ABB): Seit ich eine Teenagerin war, schlug mein Herz für die Alte Musik. Zuerst war es die Barockmusik. Schlüsselerlebnisse waren dabei die Stimmen von Emma Kirkby, Paul Elliott und David Thomas im legendären «Messias» mit Christopher Hogwood – bis heute kriege ich Gänsehaut, wenn ich diese Interpretation höre.

Dann aber, als ich so 16 Jahre alt war, habe ich das Mittelalter entdeckt. Es waren die visionären Aufnahmen von René Clemencic, David Munrow und Gothic Voices (damals in Polen sehr schwierig zu kriegen). Ich finde sie auch heute unglaublich wichtig dank ihrer Transparenz, ihrem Respekt dem Werk gegenüber und dank der unglaublich schöpferischen Kraft – das waren ja eigentlich die grossen Pioniere!
Die von Dir angesprochene «Grenzerfahrung» war ein Ausschnitt aus dem «Beowulf», vorgetragen von Benjamin Bagby (Sequentia), einem der grossartigsten Künstler der Alten Musik, die mir je begegnet sind. Stell Dir ein Fragment eines angelsächsischen Epos vor, das vielleicht irgendwann einmal gesungen wurde (ohne erhaltene Musiknotation) und von dem kein Wort zu verstehen ist, vorgetragen von einem einzelnen Sänger, der sich selbst auf einer sechssaitigen Leier begleitet. Manchmal konnte man ein Wort heraushören, das wie eine Mischung aus Englisch, Deutsch oder Altnordisch klang, aber im Allgemeinen war nichts zu verstehen (das war noch die Zeit, als Ben dieses Epos ohne Untertitel aufführte!). Und doch war es ein so erstaunliches Erlebnis, auf seine eigene Weise eine so klare Botschaft, dass jeder von uns (und es geschah während eines der legendären mittelalterlichen Musikfestivals in Stary Sącz in Südpolen) genau wusste, wann in diesem melodramatisch rezitierten Text der Drache die dritte Klaue seines linken Hinterbeins bewegte und was in der Seele des heldenhaften Beowulf vor sich ging. Das hat mich unendlich fasziniert. In diesem Moment erkannte ich mit grosser Klarheit die Macht der Worte, die den Zuhörer so direkt erreichen können, sowohl intellektuell als auch emotional. Da kam mir der Gedanke, dass auch ich eines Tages so etwas machen möchte und könnte.

So verdanke ich mein Werdegang und meine Ästhetik meinem Mentor und Freund Ben, durch diesen Einfluss bin ich auch in Basel gelandet, damals der einzige Ort, wo man mittelalterliche Musik studieren konnte.

TC: Du hast dich eingehend mit den Wurzeln der Musik, insbesondere der Volkslieder beschäftigt. Wir kennen ansatzweise die Frühe Musik Italiens, Frankreichs, Deutschlands und Englands – worin bestehen die wesentlichen Unterschiede zur Frühen Musik in Osteuropa, insbesondere in deiner musikalischen Heimat Polen?

ABB: Ich habe mich nie mit Volksmusik beschäftigt (lediglich ein paar ethnomusikwissenschaftliche Module im Studium belegt), hingegen aber mit den ältesten schriftlichen Zeugen des musikalischen Schaffens vieler Länder – darunter auch Polen, das übrigens zu Zentraleuropa gehört. Die Unterschiede sind nicht so gross: am Anfang gibt es liturgische Musik auf Latein mit ausgeliehenem Material, dann kommt die lokale Produktion auf Latein und dann auch in der Landessprache, es gibt viel Austausch mit Nachbarländern (Deutschland, Böhmen, etc.) und ebenso einen grossen Repertoiretransfer. Wegen der relativ späten Christianisierung (966) entwickelt sich alles etwas später als in Westeuropa, aber schon im späten 13. Jahrhundert finden sich in den südpolnischen Klarissenklöstern die Fragmente der Handschriften aus der Pariser Notre Dame – ob sie tatsächlich aufgeführt worden sind, ist eine andere Frage – und man weiss von lokalen Versuchen, die damals äusserst seltene Vierstimmigkeit zu studieren. Und im 15. Jahrhundert sind wir in Polen tatsächlich up-to-date: die internationalen und lokalen Repertoires leben harmonisch nebeneinander und es gibt Komponisten, die die neusten Errungenschaften sofort in die lokale Praxis inkorporieren, wie z. B. Nikolaus de Radom, der kurz nach Guillaume Dufay (1400–1474) auch einen «Fauxbourdon» (dreistimmiger Gesang über eine Psalmmelodie) in seinen Kompositionen einsetzt. Und in der Renaissance werden die polnischen Komponisten und Musiker in ganz Europa bekannt – ein Paradebeispiel ist Wacław z Szamotuł, dessen Motetten in Nürnberg gedruckt werden, neben Orlando di Lasso, Thomas Crequillon, Clemens non Papa, Adrian Willaert, Philippe Verdelot, Nicolas Gombert and Josquin.

TC: Aus gegebenem Anlass erlaube ich mir, mit meiner Frage noch mehr an den Rand Europas zu reisen. Du bist nicht nur mit früher isländischer Musik aufgetreten, sondern hast dich auch dem Studium der Skandinavistik gewidmet. Gibt es eine skandinavische Barock- oder gar Renaissancemusik, oder waren das nicht vielmehr importierte höfische oder kirchliche Melodien?

ABB: Skandinavien ist die CD-Reihe «Mare Balticum» meines Ensembles Peregrina gewidmet (4 Alben, beim Tacet 2017–21 erschienen). Das spät eingeführte Christentum hat sehr individuelle Lösungen gefördert, insofern ist die Musik aus Dänemark, Schweden oder Finnland schon etwas anders. Einerseits gibt es gängige importierte Melodien (auch Kontrafakturen) – als Beispiel kann ich hier die Messteile mit bekannten Choralmelodien aber auf Altfinnisch erwähnen (haben wir auch aufgenommen!). Anderseits gibt es im Norden viele Experimente, auch im Bereich der Mehrstimmigkeit, die sehr eigenartig sind. Und dadurch unglaublich faszinierend!

TC: Vor bald 35 Jahren hast du dein Ensemble für mittelalterliche Musik «Peregrina» gegründet – da bleiben wir abermals beim Thema, denn der Name hat in seiner Bedeutung des Wanderers oder Wallfahrers eine programmatische Bedeutung. Haben sich Musikstile mit der Völkerwanderung verbreitet und lokale Melodien bereichert oder eher verdrängt?

ABB: Diverse Einflüsse durch die reisenden Musiker gab es immer. Unser Notker Balbulus (Gelehrter und Dichter aus karolingischer Zeit) aus Sankt Gallen erwähnt eine Handschrift, die aus Jumièges gebracht wurde und ihn auf eine revolutionäre Idee gebracht hat (es handelt sich um frühe Sequenzen). Anderseits gingen mit der gregorianischen Reform viele lokale Idiome des Chorals verloren. Es ist ein ewiges Spiel mit gegenseitig befruchtenden Einflüssen, aber auch eine Geschichte der Verluste durch das Einsetzen neuer Trends.

TC: Meine letzte Frage betrifft wie immer den kompositorischen, aber auch medialen Vergleich der Renaissanceentdeckungen zur heute gespielten Barockmusik. Letztere erfreut sich seit einigen Jahrzehnten einer grossen Beliebtheit, während die Renaissancemusik etwas in ihrer Intimität verharrt. Liegt das am Zeitgeist oder an der medialen Vermittlung oder schlicht an der relativen «Unerforschtheit» jener frühen Musik?

ABB: Renaissancemusik (wie auch die mittelalterliche) verlangt viel mehr vom Zuhörer. Es sind (leider immer noch) fremde Klänge, fremde Sprachen, komplizierte Formen und Gattungen, deren Kontext gar nicht so einfach zu erklären und verstehen ist. Die Schnellheit des Lebens und das «Unspektakuläre» der alten Kunst begünstigen die Vermittlung von Renaissancemusik nicht besonders. Ich habe aber das Vertrauen und sehe es auch bei meinen vielen Reisen durch die Welt, dass es ein immer breiteres und bewussteres Publikum gibt, welches unsere Arbeit schätzt und fördert. Das gibt uns viel Kraft. Und das ist gut so, denn die Arbeit hat erst angefangen.

weiterlesen

Texte & Geschichte

Die aus Polen stammende Sängerin Agnieszka Budzińska-Bennett und andere Spezialist:innen der frühen Musik nehmen uns mit auf die Spuren von Mikołaj Gomółka (1535–1609).

Der polnische Komponist vertonte die von Jan Kochanowski in Reime gesetzten Psalmen Davids. Dabei legte er höchsten Wert auf die Verbindung von Text und Musik. Seine Raffinesse im Umgang mit den Nuancen der polnischen Sprache bereitete den Weg zu einem nationalen Kunststil.

Agnieszka Budzińska-Bennett – Gesang, Leitung
Marc Lewon – Laute, Renaissancegitarre und Altgambe
Leonardo Bortolotto – Bass- und Diskantgambe
Masako Art – Tripel- und Renaissanceharfe
Caroline Ritchie – Bassgambe

Elizabeth Rumsey: Produktion

 

Eintritt frei – Kollekte

 

Video

New Words, New Music – Polnische Psalmodie

Vlog Juni 2022 zu «Psalmy Dawida» – Melodien aus dem polnischen Psalter

Bilder

2022

September

Über kurz oder lang

Consort 1547
So 25.09.22 17:30 Thema 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Oktober

Frisch gezwickt

Ein Basler Lautenparcours
So 30.10.22 16–17/18–19h Kaffee 17–18h

Klein- und Grossbasel
Haus zum Hohen Dolder

November

Transeamus: nach Bethlehem!

Spanische Vokalpolyphonie
So 27.11.22 17:30 Thema 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Dezember

Noël normand St. Ursanne

Rouen 1474
Sa 17.12.22 20:00 concert

St. Ursanne
Collégiale

Noël normand Zürich

Rouen 1474
So 18.12.22 11:00 Konzert

Zürich
Wasserkirche

Noël normand Basel

Rouen 1474
So 18.12.22 17:30 Thema 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Noël normand Berne

Rouen 1474
Mo 19.12.22 19:30 Concert

Berne
Eglise française

Noël normand Liestal

Rouen 1474
Di 20.12.22 19:30 Konzert

Liestal
Stadtkirche

Noël normand Brugg

Rouen 1474
Mi 21.12.22 19:30 Konzert

Brugg
Stadtkirche

Noël normand Biel/Bienne

Rouen 1474
Do 22.12.22 19:30 Concert

Biel/Bienne
Stadtkirche

2023

Januar

31 statt 12

Grenzgänge mit Vicentino
So 29.01.23 Thema 17:30 Konzert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Februar

Canti C

Im Labyrinth der Revolution
So 26.02.23 Talk 17:30 Konzert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche Historisches Museum Basel