La Margarite

Dances for a princess
Sun 27.03.22

Barfüsserkirche
Historical Museum Basel

© Luc Quaglia

A

he manuscript 9085 of the Bibliothèque Royale Albert Ier in Brussels, written on blackened parchment in gold and silver ink, presents itself in princely garb through and through. In fact, the owner Marguerite d’Autriche was of royal blood and an outspoken music lover. What makes this little booklet special are the dance steps that have been lettered to most of the tenor lines. Alta Capella and improvisation specialist Ian Harrison leads a wind ensemble that accompanies the dancers under the direction of Véronique Daniels, providing a festive backdrop for the artificial step combinations. Thus, music and dance for the princess can still be performed after more than 500 years.

Véronique Daniels – dance; reconstruction of the choreographies | Alain Christen – dance | Catherine Motuz – renaissance trombone | Josué Melendez – zinc | Raffaella Bortolini – pommer | Ian Harrison – shawm, pommer, bagpipes; direction | Team ReRenaissance – Marc Lewon

Video

Dances for a Princess

Vlog March 2022 on “La Margarite” – Dances for a Princess

Interview

Ian Harrison – Lecturer for shawm and pommer at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis

Thomas Christ (TC): You started your musical career as a professional singer in the choir of Canterbury Cathedral, to what experience do you/we owe your preference for the old wind instruments? Where did you discover the shawm or the zinc?

Ian Harrison (IH): Dear Thomas, Thank you for the pertinent questions.
Like many others, I discovered medieval or Renaissance music at an English medieval market. When I was 12 years old, I visited the “Barsham Fair” in the East of England in the summer with my family.

After admiring the artisan stalls for a while, medieval music was suddenly announced in an amphitheater. I can’t say what exactly was played there, nor what instruments they were (in retrospect, I suspect it was Renaissance dance music – Susato or something). From that moment on, I was enthralled and captivated, and I spent all my pocket money on LPs of medieval and Renaissance music, listening to the discs until the grooves were flat, and reading the “sleevenotes” (lyrics on the record covers, ReRen’s note) until I knew them by heart. That’s how I got to know the zinc and the shawm. The cornett was, according to the relevant CD texts, “the most versatile wind instrument” of the time. So I decided to learn zinc. But the shawm sounded great too, and besides, I was already playing bassoon, a double-reed instrument like the shawm. After all, I didn’t start learning these instruments until I was 21 – it was a long way until I could find these instruments and also the teachers.

TC: The shawm, the pommer or the bombarde, but also the zinc and the bagpipes are instruments that may not be very familiar to many of our listeners. Can you briefly tell us something about the history and places of origin of these instruments?

IH: This is one of my favorite topics, but I’ll try to be brief. It is impossible to name a single place of origin for the shawm or the zinc, because they are products of long processes of development. Just as every child at some point has cut the end of a drinking straw and blown a note on it, people from time immemorial have played on stalks, reeds and other pipes that grew in their area. Natural plant tubes are almost all acoustically cylindrical. As far as we can see from the pictures, the ancient Greek aulos or the Roman tibia, which are depicted on numerous vases, were also cylindrical reed instruments. Typical of these instruments is that the players each played two pipes, one for each hand.

In contrast, the European medieval and Renaissance shawm has a conical bore, which gives it quite different characteristics. It is higher, louder, and richer in overtones, and its conical profile must be artificially drilled by an instrument maker. Until now, the prevailing theory was that the conical shawms came to Western Europe from the Islamic world, either via North Africa to Spain or from the East as a result of the Crusades. However, I am not aware of any evidence for this theory. “Folk” shawms were played in a variety of forms all over the world – very intensively in the countries east and south of the Mediterranean, but also in Western Europe – for example, in central Italy, Istria, Brittany and northern Spain. In the course of the 14th century, a type of shawm with a very long funnel developed in Europe, enabling the player to play chromatically over two octaves with a large dynamic range. This instrument was still played until the end of the 17th century.

Zinc also has its roots in prehistory. Animal horns, unlike plant stems, are almost always acoustically conical. Who first cut off the tip of a horn, blew into it through his lips, and enjoyed the sound development through the conical bore – and when that happened – we will never know. Very few notes are possible on an animal horn. However, several tones can be produced by finger holes and hand combing. Such fingerhole horns were played, for example, in Sweden. From the 11th century onwards, there are images showing conically bored instruments blown through the lips, made of wood or other materials. There have been repeated attempts to circumvent the irregularity of natural horns and build a standard instrument, which we now call zinc in German. Unlike the shawm, which can be found everywhere in paintings and sculptures, however, the zinc never seems to have really gained a foothold in the early Middle Ages and remained an exotic item. In the late 15th century, however, this changed abruptly. Within 20 to 30 years, the cornett spread throughout Europe, replacing the shawm as the leading soprano wind instrument. A generation of players and instrument makers cracked the construction secret of the tine, causing one of the biggest and fastest revolutions in the history of musical instrument making.

The Pomeranian is a great and deep relative of the shawm. Together, shawm and pommer form the first family of instruments in the history of music. Just as the shawm got its classical form in the course of the 14th century, the pommer also developed at the same time – both, we assume, out of the desire to play polyphonic music in the style of the singers:inside. The name “Pommer” is a Germanization of the French name “bombarde”, which first appears in Strasbourg in 1326. The trademark of the Pomeranian is a barrel-shaped capsule with many small holes, just above the funnel, the fontanelle. The keys next to the finger holes allow players to play lower.

The very first images of the bagpipe come from 13th century Spain. So until further evidence surfaces, we must assume that the bagpipe is a Spanish invention. The instrument still enjoys great popularity there and is played in various traditional forms similar to medieval images. I will play a Galician gaita in our concert. The big question for me is whether only one person had the brilliant idea of combining a shawm with a sack, from which all the bagpipes in the whole world were born, or whether several people independently had the same idea.

TC: We like to place the music of the Middle Ages, and even more so that of the Renaissance, in a courtly and – even more so – in an ecclesiastical context; we know little of early instrumental music in a folkloristic setting. Weren’t the woodwind instruments also popular accompaniments of folk music and folk dance?

IH: Yes, certainly. We can see this in numerous pictures. Most famous are the rural scenes by the Breughels, where bagpipes were played for dancing, alone or in pairs. Also very often depicted was the pairing of bagpipes and shawm. Here’s the big question: what did they play? From the beginning, the early music movement has more or less consciously relied on written culture. We always need a written source, a manuscript, an early print, notes, tracts, descriptions, poetry. Oral folk traditions of the Renaissance have disappeared with very few exceptions. Every now and then, however, folk music and written sources meet. Many of the polyphonic compositions of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance are based on a pre-existing piece, a cantus firmus. These melodies often came from Gregorian or other chorales, but sometimes it was also common to use folk melodies as cantus firmus. As an example, we play Heinrich Isaac’s four-part piece E qui la dira dira on pommer, zinc and trombone – and the original melody on the bagpipes for dancing.

TC: You are touring with your early music ensembles in Europe, the USA, but also in Asia, one group calls itself “The Early Folk Band” – this raises two questions at once, namely that of improvising in the absence of clear notations and that of experimenting with other styles of the new music scene. Are you a friend of fusion or rather of separation of musical styles?

IH: In the years of the turn of the millennium, I thought that no one would be interested in listening to “pure” early music anymore, and that in the 21st century we would only produce early music in combination with jazz, world music, hip-hop and the like. So I’m always surprised how many people still want to hear concerts of “authentic” Renaissance music (not that I’m disappointed: I like it too!). However, The Early Folk Band is one of the most authentic early music ensembles I know. We perform music from sources before 1600 on period instruments and also use contemporary performance elements such as mime, drama, humor and dance. Our project “Ars Supernova”, on the other hand, was a deliberate crossover to show how jazz and “old” musicians can improvise on themes from the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.

That the sources of the Renaissance and especially of the Middle Ages often transmit only a sketch of what was played at that time is well known and gives this music a great charm for me. The dance music in this program is a good example – it is notated in unison in the handwritten source. Contemporary pictures of courtly dances very often depict an ensemble like ours, which definitely played polyphonically. Our challenge is to fill in the “missing” voices. We do this through a mixture of composition and improvisation.

TC: And finally, I always like to ask the stars of the Renaissance music scene the question of the mediation of early music – while Baroque music has enjoyed great popularity among a broad population for a few decades, the richly
Renaissance music world still largely undiscovered. Is this merely due to the lack of communication of a musical epoch that is still little known?

IH: Every generation makes the mistake of thinking that their early music revival is the first. Baroque music actually became very popular for a few decades – for about two decades. However, the most popular baroque pieces performed and sung today under historically informed performance practice are usually the same popular pieces that have been performed for a long time. With Renaissance music it’s not quite like that – here it’s more about discovering music that no one knows. In addition, unlike the Baroque, Renaissance music was not conceived for a concert setting. A baroque opera was meant for a full opera house, but a 16th-century chanson might be meant only for the people who played or sang it. When there are more people in the audience than on stage at a concert of Renaissance music, it is essentially no longer historical performance practice. We still hope that will be the case at our concert!

weiterlesen

Column



I’m in … ” by David Fallows on

“La Margarite
“, March 2022

The Basse danse repertoire associated with the ducal court of Burgundy (not in Burgundy, of course, but in what is now Belgium, where the dukes acquired most of their fabulous wealth) has survived in two main sources. One is an extremely sloppy print, made perhaps in the mid-1490s and preserved in only one copy (now in London). The other, which contains more or less the same dances with the same choreographies, is the magnificent manuscript in Brussels, written with gold and silver ink on black colored parchment.

Various dates have been suggested, but I am inclined to agree with musicologist Frederick Crane, who, based on another five manuscripts also copied on black-stained parchment, estimates it to date from around 1470 – which would, of course, mean that it was notated before Margaret of Austria was born, although she certainly owned it later. The bizarre thing about this repertoire, however, is that it must date back to around 1420, at least if we assume the (now) five polyphonic songs that provide the only known links to the dance tunes: The recent discovery of the fifth song (in a manuscript fragment now in New Jersey) confirms the finding. And even if you add three slightly later, related pieces, the result is always the same: that each perfect semibreve note (consisting of three minims) in the polyphonic versions corresponds to two double steps in the choreography. And this can only mean that the dance has nothing to do with the traditional polyphonic versions and in some cases is even considered to be their origin. So for today’s performers, there is no easy solution, indeed, as far as I can see, no solution at all. Therefore, I am curious how these experienced musicians and dancers solve the riddle.

(Translation: Marc Lewon)

weiterlesen

Program

Program Booklet March 2022

Music for the chapel

1. Sanctus / Agnus Dei from “Missa de Beata Virgine” – Pierre de La Rue (c1452-1518)
Misse Petri de la Rue. Beate virginis. Puer natus. Sexti. Utfa. Lomme arme. Nunqua fue pena maior, Venice (Ottaviano Petrucci) 1503, Superius: fol. Aaa3r-Aaa4r / Altus: fol. Ddd2v-Ddd3v / Tenor: fol. Ccc2v-Ccc3r / Bassus: fol. Fff2v-Fff3v

2. vexilla regis prodeunt / Passio Domini*– Pierre de La Rue
Brussels, Koninklijke Bibliotheek / Bibliothèque royale, MS 11239, fol. 14v-15r & MS 228, fol. 29v-30r

3. in pace in idipsum*– Josquin des Prez (c1450/55-1521)
Brussels, MS 11239, fol. 31v-32r

Music and dance for the yard

4. O devotz cueurs / O vos omnes* – Loyset Compère (c1445-1518)
Brussels, MS 228, fol. 59v-60r

5. Triste plaisir – Gilles de Bins dit Binchois (c1400-1460)
Oxford, Bodleian Library, MS Canon. misc. 213 (“Oxford Codex”), fol. 56v

6. triste plaisir – anonymous basse danse
Dance booklet of Margaret of Austria, fol. 15r

7. Lesperance de boubon* – anonymous Basse danse
Dance booklet of Margaret of Austria, fol. 21v

8. Tous les regretz – Antoine Brumel (c1460-1512/13)
Brussels, MS 11239, fol. 8v-9r

9. beaulte de castille – anonymous
Choreography: Paris, Bibliothèque Nationale, f. ital. 973 (tract of Guglielmo Ebreo da Pesaro), fol. 32r-v
Music: Brussels, Brussels, Koninklijke Bibliotheek / Bibliothèque royale, MS 9085 (“Dance Booklet of Margaret of Austria”), fol. 13r

10. Sans faire de vous departie – Pierre Fontaine (c1380-c1450)
Oxford Codex, fol. 86v-87r

11. sans faire de vous departie*– anonyme Basse danse
Dance booklet of Margaret of Austria, fol. 12v

12. la franchoise nouvelle – anonymous basse danse
Dance booklet of Margaret of Austria, fol. 22v

13. E qui la dira dira – reconstructed monody

14. e qui la dira dira*– Henricus Isaac (c1450/55-1517)
Brussels, MS 11239, fol. 17v-18r

15 Une fois avant que mourir – anonymes Rondeau
London, British Library, MS Cotton Titus A. xxvi, fol. 4v-5r

16 Une fois avant que mourir – anonyme Basse danse
Dance booklet of Margaret of Austria, fol. 13r

17. la danse de cleves*– anonymous Basse danse
Dance booklet of Margaret of Austria, fol. 22r, 23r-v

18. le petit Rouen – anonymous Basse danse
Dance booklet of Margaret of Austria, fol. 11r

19
.
Roti boully joyeulx*– Domenico da Piacenza (c1400-c1476)
Dance booklet of Margaret of Austria, fol. 21r & intavolation by Johannes Weck (c1495-1536): “Hopper dancz”, in: Basel, University Library, F.IX.58 (“Tabulatur des Bonifacius Amerbach”), fol. 2v

* arranged by Ian Harrison and/or improvised by the musicians of the ensemble

2023

Februar

Canti C

In the labyrinth of revolution
Sun 26.02.23 Intro 17:45 Concert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche
Basel Historical Museum

März

Songs without words

The mystery of a textless chansonnier (c1473)
Sun 26.03.23 Intro 17:30 Concert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche
Historical Museum Basel

April

Dialogue of the keys II

Ammerbach with double m (and singing)
Sun 30.04.23 Theme 17:45 Concert 18:15

Mai

All in a Garden Green

Melodies to dance along ... or listen and look
Sun 28.05.23 afternoon

Place still open

Juni

The donkey crown

Animals & Creatures invite to the finissage
Sun 25.06.23 Theme 17:45 Concert 18:15

September

Biennale ReRenaissance 2023

Music and Power - Maximilian's Triumphal Procession
Fri 22.09.23 Opening Concert 19:30

Barfüsserkirche
Historical Museum Basel

La Margarite

Tänze für eine Prinzessin
So 27.03.22

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

© Luc Quaglia

A

uf geschwärztem Pergament in goldener und silberner Tinte geschrieben präsentiert sich das Manuskript 9085 der Brüsseler Bibliothèque Royale Albert Ier durch und durch in fürstlichem Gewand. In der Tat war die Inhaberin Marguerite d’Autriche königlichen Geblüts und eine ausgesprochene Musikliebhaberin. Das Besondere an diesem kleinen Büchlein sind die Tanzschritte, die zu den meisten der Tenorlinien mit Buchstaben festgehalten wurden. Der Alta Capella- und Improvisationsspezialist Ian Harrison leitet ein Bläserensemble, das die Tänzer unter Leitung von Véronique Daniels begleitet und eine festliche Kulisse für die artifiziellen Schrittkombinationen bietet. So können Musik und Tanz für die Prinzessin auch nach über 500 Jahren noch zur Aufführung kommen.

​Véronique Daniels – Tanz; Rekonstruktion der Choreographien | Alain Christen – Tanz | Catherine Motuz – Renaissanceposaune | Josué Melendez – Zink | Raffaella Bortolini – Pommer | Ian Harrison – Schalmei, Pommer, Dudelsack; Leitung | Team ReRenaissance – Marc Lewon

Programm

Musik für die Kapelle 

 1. Sanctus / Agnus Dei aus «Missa de Beata Virgine» – Pierre de La Rue (c1452–1518)
Misse Petri de la Rue. Beate virginis. Puer natus. Sexti. Utfa. Lomme arme. Nunqua fue pena maior, Venedig (Ottaviano Petrucci) 1503, Superius: fol. Aaa3r–Aaa4r / Altus: fol. Ddd2v–Ddd3v / Tenor: fol. Ccc2v–Ccc3r / Bassus: fol. Fff2v–Fff3v

2. Vexilla regis prodeunt / Passio Domini* – Pierre de La Rue
Brüssel, Koninklijke Bibliotheek / Bibliothèque royale, MS 11239, fol. 14v–15r & MS 228, fol. 29v–30r

3. In pace in idipsum* – Josquin des Prez (c1450/55–1521)
Brüssel, MS 11239, fol. 31v–32r 

Musik und Tanz für den Hof 

 4. O devotz cueurs / O vos omnes* – Loyset Compère (c1445–1518)
Brüssel, MS 228, fol. 59v–60r 

 5. Triste plaisir – Gilles de Bins dit Binchois (c1400–1460)
Oxford, Bodleian Library, MS Canon. misc. 213 («Oxford-Codex»), fol. 56v

6. Triste plaisir – anonyme Basse danse
Tanzbüchlein der Margarete von Österreich, fol. 15r 

7. Lesperance de boubon* – anonyme Basse danse
Tanzbüchlein der Margarete von Österreich, fol. 21v 

8. Tous les regretz – Antoine Brumel (c1460–1512/13)
Brüssel, MS 11239, fol. 8v–9r

9. Beaulte de Castille – anonym
Choreographie: Paris, Bibliothèque Nationale, f. ital. 973 (Traktat des Guglielmo Ebreo da Pesaro), fol. 32r–v
Musik: Brüssel, Brüssel, Koninklijke Bibliotheek / Bibliothèque royale, MS 9085 («Tanzbüchlein der Margarete von Österreich»), fol. 13r 

10. Sans faire de vous departie – Pierre Fontaine (c1380–c1450)
Oxford-Codex, fol. 86v–87r

11. Sans faire de vous departie* – anonyme Basse danse
Tanzbüchlein der Margarete von Österreich, fol. 12v 

12. La Franchoise nouvelle – anonyme Basse danse
Tanzbüchlein der Margarete von Österreich, fol. 22v 

13. E qui la dira dira – rekonstruierte Monodie

14. E qui la dira dira* – Henricus Isaac (c1450/55–1517)
Brüssel, MS 11239, fol. 17v–18r 

15. Une fois avant que mourir – anonymes Rondeau
London, British Library, MS Cotton Titus A. xxvi, fol. 4v–5r

16. Une fois avant que mourir – anonyme Basse danse
Tanzbüchlein der Margarete von Österreich, fol. 13r

17. La danse de cleves* – anonyme Basse danse
Tanzbüchlein der Margarete von Österreich, fol. 22r, 23r–v

18. Le petit Rouen – anonyme Basse danse
Tanzbüchlein der Margarete von Österreich, fol. 11r

19. Roti boully joyeulx* – Domenico da Piacenza (c1400–c1476)
Tanzbüchlein der Margarete von Österreich, fol. 21r & Intavolierung von Johannes Weck (c1495–1536): «Hopper dancz», in: Basel, Universitätsbibliothek, F.IX.58 («Tabulatur des Bonifacius Amerbach»), fol. 2v 

 

* arrangiert von Ian Harrison und/oder improvisiert von den Musiker:innen des Ensembles 

 

Kolumne

«Ich bin dabei … » von David Fallows zu «La Margarite», März 2022

Das Basse danse-Repertoire, das mit dem herzoglichen Hof von Burgund (natürlich nicht in Burgund, sondern im heutigen Belgien, wo die Herzöge den grössten Teil ihres märchenhaften Reichtums erwarben) in Verbindung gebracht wird, ist im Wesentlichen in zwei Quellen überliefert. Bei der einen handelt es sich um einen äusserst schlampigen Druck, der vielleicht Mitte der 1490er Jahre entstand und nur in einem einzigen Exemplar (heute in London) erhalten ist. Die andere, die mehr oder weniger die gleichen Tänze mit den gleichen Choreographien enthält, ist die prächtige Handschrift in Brüssel, die mit Gold- und Silbertinte auf schwarz gefärbtem Pergament geschrieben wurde. 

Es wurden verschiedene Datierungen vorgeschlagen, aber ich bin geneigt, mich dem Musikforscher Frederick Crane anzuschliessen, der sie auf Grundlage weiterer fünf Manuskripte, die ebenfalls auf schwarz gefärbtem Pergament kopiert wurden, auf die Zeit um 1470 schätzt – was natürlich bedeuten würde, dass es vor der Geburt von Margarete von Österreich notiert wurde, obwohl sie es sicherlich später besass. Das Bizarre an diesem Repertoire ist jedoch, dass es auf die Zeit um 1420 zurückgehen muss, zumindest wenn man von den (inzwischen) fünf mehrstimmigen Liedern ausgeht, die die einzigen bekannten Verbindungen zu den Tanzmelodien herstellen: Mit der jüngsten Entdeckung des fünften Liedes (in einem Manuskriptfragment, das sich jetzt in New Jersey befindet) bestätigt sich der Befund. Und selbst wenn man drei etwas spätere, verwandte Stücke hinzufügt, ist das Ergebnis immer dasselbe: dass jede perfekte Semibrevis-Note (bestehend aus drei Minimen) in den polyphonen Fassungen zwei Doppelschritten in der Choreographie entspricht. Und das kann nur bedeuten, dass der Tanz nichts mit den überlieferten mehrstimmigen Fassungen zu tun hat und in einigen Fällen sogar als deren Ursprung gilt. Für die heutigen Interpreten gibt es also keine einfache Lösung, ja, soweit ich sehe, überhaupt keine Lösung. Deshalb bin ich gespannt, wie diese erfahrenen Musiker und Tänzer das Rätsel lösen.

(Übersetzung: Marc Lewon)

weiterlesen

Interview

Ian Harrison – Dozent für Schalmei und Pommer an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis

Thomas Christ (TC): Sie begannen Ihre musikalische Karriere als Berufssänger im Chor der Kathedrale von Canterbury, welchem Erlebnis verdanken Sie/wir Ihre Vorliebe für die alten Blasinstrumente? Wo haben Sie die Schalmei oder den Zink entdeckt?

Ian Harrison (IH): Lieber Thomas, Danke, für die treffenden Fragen.
Wie viele andere habe ich die Mittelalter- oder Renaissancemusik bei einem englischen Mittelaltermarkt entdeckt. Mit 12 Jahren besuchte ich im Sommer mit meiner Familie den «Barsham Fair» in Ostengland.

Nachdem wir die Handwerkerstände eine Weile bewundert hatten, wurde in einem Amphitheater plötzlich Mittelaltermusik angekündigt. Ich kann nicht sagen, was dort genau gespielt wurde, noch welche Instrumente das waren (im Nachhinein vermute ich, dass es Renaissance-Tanzmusik war – Susato oder so). Ab diesem Moment war ich begeistert und gefesselt, und ich habe all mein Taschengeld für LPs mit Mittelalter- und Renaissancemusik ausgegeben, die Discs so oft gehört, bis die Rillen platt waren und die «Sleevenotes» (Texte auf den Plattencovern, Anmerkung von ReRen) so oft gelesen, bis ich sie auswendig konnte. So lernte ich den Zink und die Schalmei kennen. Der Zink war, laut den einschlägigen CD-Texten, «das vielfältigste Blasinstrument» der Zeit. So beschloss ich, Zink zu lernen. Die Schalmei klang aber auch ganz toll, und ausserdem spielte ich schon Fagott, ein Doppelrohrblattinstrument wie die Schalmei. Schliesslich habe ich erst mit 21 angefangen, diese Instrumente zu lernen – es war ein langer Weg, bis ich diese Instrumente und auch die Lehrer finden konnte.

TC: Die Schalmei, der Pommer oder die Bombarde, aber auch der Zink und der Dudelsack sind Instrumente, die vielen unserer Zuhörer:innen möglicherweise wenig vertraut sind. Können Sie uns kurz etwas über die Entstehungsgeschichte und Entstehungsorte dieser Instrumente erzählen?

IH: Dies ist eines meiner Lieblingsthemen, aber ich versuche mich kurz zu fassen. Es ist unmöglich, einen einzigen Entstehungsort für die Schalmei oder den Zink zu nennen, weil sie Produkte langer Entwicklungsprozesse sind. Sowie jedes Kind irgendwann das Ende eines Trinkhalms angeschnitten und darauf einen Ton geblasen hat, haben die Menschen seit Urzeiten auf Halmen, Schilf und anderen Rohren, die in ihrer Gegend wuchsen, gespielt. Natürliche pflanzliche Rohre sind fast alle akustisch gesehen zylindrisch. Soweit wir aus den Bildern sehen können, waren der altgriechische Aulos oder die römische Tibia, die auf zahlreiche Vasen abgebildet sind, auch zylindrische Rohrblattinstrumente. Typisch bei diesen Instrumenten ist, dass die Spieler:innen jeweils zwei Rohre spielten, für jede Hand eines.

Die europäische mittelalterliche und Renaissance-Schalmei hat demgegenüber eine konische Bohrung, die ihr ganz andere Eigenschaften verleiht. Sie ist höher, lauter und obertonreicher, und ihr konisches Profil muss von einem Instrumentenbauer oder einer Instrumentenbauerin künstlich gebohrt werden. Bisher herrschte die Theorie vor, dass die konischen Schalmeien aus der islamischen Welt nach Westeuropa kamen, entweder via Nordafrika nach Spanien oder aus dem Osten als Folge der Kreuzzüge. Mir ist aber kein Beweis für diese Theorie bekannt. «Volks»-Schalmeien wurden in den unterschiedlichsten Formen auf der ganzen Welt gespielt – sehr intensiv in den Ländern östlich und südlich des Mittelmeers, aber auch in Westeuropa – z. B. in Zentralitalien, Istrien, der Bretagne und Nordspanien. Im Laufe des 14. Jahrhunderts entwickelte sich in Europa eine Art Schalmei mit einem sehr langen Trichter, die es dem Spieler oder der Spielerin ermöglicht, chromatisch über zwei Oktaven mit einem grossen dynamischen Umfang zu spielen. Dieses Instrument wurde noch bis zum Ende des 17. Jahrhunderts gespielt.

Auch der Zink hat seine Wurzeln in der Urgeschichte. Tierhörner, im Gegensatz zu Pflanzenhalmen, sind fast immer akustisch konisch. Wer zuerst die Spitze eines Horns abschnitt, durch seine Lippen hineinblies und die Klangentwicklung durch die konische Bohrung genoss – und wann das geschah – werden wir nie wissen. Auf einem Tierhorn sind sehr wenige Töne möglich. Mehrere Töne können jedoch durch Grifflöcher und das Abdämmen mit der Hand produziert werden. Solche Griffloch-Hörner wurden z. B. in Schweden gespielt. Ab dem 11. Jahrhundert gibt es Bilder, die konisch gebohrte, durch die Lippen geblasene Instrumente aus Holz oder anderen Materialien zeigen. Es wurde immer wieder versucht, die Unregelmässigkeit der Naturhörner zu umgehen und ein Standardinstrument, das wir jetzt auf Deutsch Zink nennen, zu bauen. Im Gegensatz zur Schalmei, die überall auf Bildern und Skulpturen zu finden ist, scheint der Zink im frühen Mittelalter aber nie richtig Fuss gefasst zu haben und blieb ein Exot. Im späten 15. Jahrhundert änderte sich das aber schlagartig. Innerhalb von 20 bis 30 Jahren breitete sich der Zink über ganz Europa aus und ersetzte die Schalmei als führendes Sopran-Blasinstrument. Eine Generation von Spielern und Instrumentenbauern knackte das Konstruktionsgeheimnis des Zinken und verursachte so eine der grössten und schnellsten Revolutionen in der Geschichte des Musikinstrumentenbaus.

Der Pommer ist ein grosser und tiefer Verwandter der Schalmei. Zusammen bilden Schalmei und Pommer die erste Instrumentenfamilie der Musikgeschichte. So, wie die Schalmei im Laufe des 14. Jahrhunderts ihre klassische Form bekam, entwickelte sich auch gleichzeitig der Pommer – beides, nehmen wir an, aus dem Wunsch heraus, mehrstimmige Musik im Stil der Sänger:innen zu spielen. Der Name «Pommer» ist eine Verdeutschung des französischen Namens «bombarde», welcher zuerst 1326 in Strassburg aufscheint. Markenzeichen des Pommers ist eine fässchenförmige Kapsel mit vielen kleinen Löchern, kurz oberhalb des Trichters, die Fontanelle. Die Klappen neben den Grifflöchern erlauben den Spielern tiefer zu spielen.

Die allerersten Bilder des Dudelsacks kommen aus dem Spanien des 13. Jahrhunderts. Bis weitere Belege auftauchen, müssen wir also davon ausgehen, dass der Dudelsack eine spanische Erfindung ist. Das Instrument geniesst dort noch heute eine grosse Beliebtheit und wird in verschiedenen traditionellen Formen gespielt, die den mittelalterlichen Bildern ähnlich sind. Ich werde in unserem Konzert eine galizische gaita spielen. Die grosse Frage für mich ist, ob nur eine Person die geniale Idee hatte, eine Schalmei mit einem Sack zu kombinieren, woraus alle Dudelsäcke auf der ganzen Welt entstanden sind, oder ob mehrere Menschen unabhängig voneinander die gleiche Idee hatten.

TC: Die Musik des Mittelalters und erst recht jene der Renaissance verorten wir gerne in einen höfischen und – noch mehr – in einen kirchlichen Kontext, von der frühen Instrumentalmusik in einem folkloristischen Umfeld wissen wir wenig. Waren die Holzblasinstrumente nicht auch beliebte Begleiter der Volksmusik und des Volkstanzes?

IH: Ja sicherlich. Das sehen wir auf zahlreichen Bildern. Am berühmtesten sind die ländlichen Szenen von den Breughels, auf denen Dudelsäcke zum Tanz gespielt wurden, allein oder in Paaren. Auch sehr häufig abgebildet war die Paarung von Dudelsack und Schalmei. Hier ist die grosse Frage: was haben sie gespielt? Die Alte Musik-Bewegung hat sich von Anfang an mehr oder weniger bewusst auf die Schriftkultur gestützt. Wir brauchen immer eine schriftliche Quelle, eine Handschrift, einen frühen Druck, Noten, Traktate, Beschreibungen, Dichtungen. Mündliche Volkstraditionen der Renaissance sind mit sehr wenigen Ausnahmen verschwunden. Ab und zu aber treffen sich Volksmusik und schriftliche Quellen. Viele der mehrstimmigen Kompositionen des Mittelalters und der Renaissance basieren auf einem präexistierenden Stück, einem cantus firmus. Diese Melodien stammten oft aus gregorianischen oder anderen Chorälen, aber mitunter war es auch üblich, Volksmelodien als cantus firmus zu verwenden. Als Beispiel hierzu spielen wir Heinrich Isaac’s vierstimmiges Stück E qui la dira dira auf Pommer, Zink und Posaune – und die Ursprungsmelodie auf dem Dudelsack zum Tanz.

TC: Sie sind mit Ihren Ensembles für Frühe Musik in Europa, den USA, aber auch in Asien unterwegs, eine Gruppe nennt sich «The Early Folk Band» – da stellen sich gleich zwei Fragen, nämlich jene des Improvisierens mangels klarer Notierungen und jene des Experimentierens mit anderen Stilrichtungen der neuen Musikszene. Sind Sie ein Freund von Fusion oder eher von Trennung von Musikstilen?

IH: In den Jahren der Jahrtausendwende dachte ich, dass niemand mehr Interesse hätte, «reine» Alte Musik zu hören und dass wir im 21. Jahrhundert Alte Musik nur noch in Kombination mit Jazz, Worldmusik, Hip-Hop und so ähnlich produzieren würden. So bin ich immer wieder überrascht, wie viele Menschen noch Konzerte mit «authentischer» Renaissancemusik hören möchten (nicht, dass ich enttäuscht wäre: ich mag das auch!). The Early Folk Band ist aber eines der authentischsten Ensembles für Alte Musik, die ich kenne. Wir spielen Musik aus Quellen vor 1600 auf historischen Instrumenten und verwenden dabei auch zeitgemässe Aufführungselemente, wie Pantomime, Schauspiel, Humor und Tanz. Unser Projekt «Ars Supernova» hingegen war ein bewusstes Crossover, um zu zeigen, wie man beim Zusammentreffen von Jazz- und «Alten» Musiker:innen mit Themen aus dem Mittelalter und der Renaissance improvisatorisch umgehen kann.

Dass die Quellen der Renaissance und vor allem des Mittelalters oft nur eine Skizze von dem überliefern, was damals gespielt wurde, ist bekannt und verleiht dieser Musik für mich einen grossen Reiz. Die Tanzmusik in diesem Programm ist ein gutes Beispiel – sie ist in der handschriftlichen Quelle einstimmig notiert. Auf zeitgenössischen Bildern von höfischen Tänzen ist sehr oft ein Ensemble wie das Unsrige abgebildet, das definitiv mehrstimmig spielte. Unsere Herausforderung ist es, die «fehlenden» Stimmen zu ergänzen. Das tun wir durch eine Mischung aus Komposition und Improvisation.

TC: Und schliesslich stelle ich den Stars der Renaissance-Musikszene immer gerne die Frage der Vermittlung der Frühen Musik – während sich die Barockmusik seit wenigen Jahrzehnten bei einer breiten Bevölkerung grosser Beliebtheit erfreut, bleibt die reich
Renaissance-Musikwelt noch weitgehend unentdeckt. Liegt das lediglich an der mangelnden Vermittlung einer noch wenig bekannten Musikepoche?

IH: Jede Generation macht den Fehler zu denken, dass ihr Alte Musik-Revival das erste ist. Die barocke Musik wurde tatsächlich seit einigen Jahrzehnten sehr beliebt – seit ungefähr zwei Jahrzehnten. Die beliebtesten barocken Stücke, die heutzutage unter historisch informierter Aufführungspraxis gespielt und gesungen werden, sind aber meist die gleichen beliebten Stücke, die seit langem aufgeführt worden sind. Bei der Renaissancemusik ist das nicht ganz so – hier geht es mehr darum, Musik zu entdecken die niemand kennt. Hinzu kommt, dass im Gegensatz zum Barock, die Renaissancemusik nicht für eine Konzertsituation konzipiert wurde. Eine Barockoper wurde für ein volles Opernhaus bestimmt, eine Chanson des 16. Jahrhunderts aber vielleicht nur für die Menschen, die sie spielten oder sangen. Wenn bei einem Konzert mit Renaissancemusik mehr Leute im Publikum anwesend sind als auf der Bühne, ist das im Grunde keine historische Aufführungspraxis mehr. Wir hoffen trotzdem, dass das bei unserem Konzert der Fall sein wird!

weiterlesen

Video

Dances for a Princess

Vlog März 2022 zu «La Margarite» – Tänze für eine Prinzessin

Bilder

2022

Oktober

Frisch gezwickt

Ein Basler Lautenparcours
So 30.10.22 16–17/18–19h Kaffee 17–18h

Klein- und Grossbasel
Haus zum Hohen Dolder

November

Transeamus: nach Bethlehem!

Spanische Vokalpolyphonie
So 27.11.22 17:30 Thema 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Dezember

Noël normand St. Ursanne

Rouen 1474
Sa 17.12.22 20:00 concert

St. Ursanne
Collégiale

Noël normand Zürich

Rouen 1474
So 18.12.22 11:00 Konzert

Zürich
Wasserkirche

Noël normand Basel

Rouen 1474
So 18.12.22 17:30 Thema 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Noël normand Berne

Rouen 1474
Mo 19.12.22 19:30 Concert

Berne
Eglise française

Noël normand Liestal

Rouen 1474
Di 20.12.22 19:30 Konzert

Liestal
Stadtkirche

Noël normand Brugg

Rouen 1474
Mi 21.12.22 19:30 Konzert

Brugg
Stadtkirche

Noël normand Biel/Bienne

Rouen 1474
Do 22.12.22 19:30 Concert

Biel/Bienne
Stadtkirche

2023

Januar

31 statt 12

Grenzgänge mit Vicentino
So 29.01.23 Thema 17:30 Konzert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Februar

Canti C

Im Labyrinth der Revolution
So 26.02.23 Talk 17:30 Konzert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche Historisches Museum Basel