Un niño nos es naçido

Spanish Villancicos for the pre-Christmas season
Sun 28.11.21

Barfüsserkirche
Historical Museum Basel

"Un niño nos es naçido" - Spanish Villancicos for the Pre-Christmas Season

L

iving, hoping, suffering… Drinking… and faith. The villancico developed into one of the most successful genres of polyphonic music on the Iberian Peninsula during the Renaissance. Towards the end of the era, in the late 16th century, as in the Latin American colonies, sacred villancicos became increasingly popular along with secular ones. Our program rings in Advent with Christmas villancicos from the Cancionero de Upsala (1556) and sacred villanescas by Francisco Guerrero (1589). Secular villancicos in Spanish and Portuguese by Juan del Encina, Luis Milan, Cristóbal de Morales, complemented by instrumental pieces by Diego Ortiz and Antonio de Cabezón, show how diverse this genre was and is.

Ivo Haun – voice, lute; conductor | Florencia Menconi – voice | Giovanna Baviera – viola da gamba, voice | Elam Rotem – voice, harpsichord | Félix Verry – renaissance violin | Maria Ferré – vihuela, renaissance guitar | ReRenaissance conducting team: Marc Lewon

Interview

Elam Rotem – singer, harpsichordist and composer

Thomas Christ (TC): You are not yet 40 years old and already belong to the profound connoisseurs of early music. How did you get into singing? When did you discover the harpsichord?

Elam Rotem (ER): I started learning the piano when I was eight years old. In high school (when I was around 16) I also started singing in the school choir. Gradually I realized that the music I liked the most – both at the piano and in the choir – were works from the older periods of music history. So it was obvious that to play these repertoires I would have to switch to harpsichord or organ.

Since there are very few organs in Israel, the harpsichord was the more viable option (although harpsichords are quite hard to find in Israel, they are still easier to find than organs). With the harpsichord I discovered more and more the musical world of the 17. and 18th century and also earlier works when I was looking for vocal music. It became obvious that this was the repertoire that impressed me the most and I did everything in my power to learn and perform it.

TC: You founded the internationally renowned ensemble Profeti della Quinta during your training in Israel. Can you tell us something about that and also about the choice of name?

ER: As my interest in old repertoire continued to grow in high school, I started a small singing group with friends. We sang motets from the 15th century in the corridors of the school (the place with the best acoustics we could find) and were thus an interesting attraction for our fellow students. On the last day of high school, we gave our first official concert in a large drainage tunnel (again, the place with the best acoustics we could find, in the absence of churches or old palaces). We sang a mixed program, from 15th century motets to barbershop songs. The group’s name, NEVIE’I HAKVINTA – literally, “The Prophets of the Pure Fifth” in Hebrew – was basically a joke. While we used “prophets” as something biblical, serious and historical, it sounded like the name of a heavy rock band. We agreed that we needed to change it, but for lack of a better suggestion, it just stayed that way. When we moved to Europe and recorded our first album, we had to decide on an international name. We found that when translated into Italian, it sounds good and arouses curiosity.

TC: You are also known as a composer. Make full use of the composition patterns of the 17th and 16th centuries? Is it possible to draw boundaries between imitation and inspiration?

ER: For me personally, it’s always been pretty natural to compose and I’ve cultivated it throughout my studies. As I researched older practices of music making, I found that musicians in earlier times had to regularly deliver and create music, and rarely drew on older, familiar repertoire (as performers almost always do today). If we imitate historical performance practices, there is no reason why we should not also imitate historical music-making practices – namely, composing and improvising. The boundaries between imitation and inspiration are fluid in every work of art.

TC: Do your “style copies” leave enough room for your own creative expression? Are your compositions meant to recognize certain early musicians or do you rather lead the listener into the world of experience of the Renaissance and the Italian early Baroque?

ER: I imagine I would have lived during that time and been active as a musician (and, of course, as a student of the masters I cherish). My goal is to learn the style so that I am able to express both emotions and my personal ideas as a composer from that era would. And just like the music of a composer from that period, it would be a mixture of common idioms, influences from certain other masters, and, of course, original moments. The composers I looked up to the most when composing were from the early 17th century Italian Baroque; composers like Emilio de’ Cavalieri, Claudio Monteverdi and others.

TC: In contrast to the world of the Baroque, the rich musical treasure of the Renaissance is still largely unknown. Do you have a rationale for this?

ER: I think it’s generally the case that the focus of the classical music scene shifted around the end of the 18. and the 19th century revolves, and the further the repertoire is from it, the less it is known. If you look specifically for the difference between the 16th century (“Renaissance”) and the 17th century (“Baroque”), one can assume that the tendency toward monodies and catchy melodies of the later century is somewhat easier to grasp and hear than the sometimes confusing polyphony of the earlier period.

weiterlesen

Column

“I’m in … ” by David Fallows on “Un niño nos es naçido”, Nov 2021

If my first love among early music repertoires may have been the English Carol, my second was clearly the Spanish Villancico, as found in the Cancionero de Palaci and the Cancionero de la Colombina – both collections of carols from around 1500. Here, too, there is an immediacy of expression: the ability to convey a clear mood with the simplest musical means and a sheer power of sound. These characteristics can also be found in the Spanish music of the next century.
What changes, however, is the meaning of the word “villancico”. By 1500 it was clearly a poetic form, a rather light genre, but still a form to begin with. Towards the end of the century, it means a Christmas carol, but still with a lightness that I find very appealing. And once again I wonder how the Brits managed to go so astray with their Christmas music over time, when they had a wonderful repertoire at their disposal. I have no idea how they celebrate Christmas in the Iberian Peninsula, but looking at the number of recordings of riu riu chiu that can even be found on YouTube, maybe they do appreciate their heritage a bit more than the British.
In any case, I can’t imagine a better and more joyful start to the Christmas season than ReRenaissance’s November concert. My mouth is already watering.

(Translation: Marc Lewon)

Program

Program Booklet November 2021

1. un niño nos es naçido
Villancicos de diversos Autores, a dos, y a tres, y a quatro, y a cinco
bozes, agora nuevamente corregidos, (“Cancionero de Uppsala”),
Jerome Scotus: Venice 1556, fol. 37v-38r (fol. K4v-L1r)

2. riu riu chiu
Cancionero de Uppsala, fol. 41v-42r (fol. L4v-M1r)

3rd Fantasia del quarto tono – Luys de Narváez (active ca. 1526 to
after 1549)
Los seys libros del Dolphin (Libro segundo), Diego Hernández de
Cordova: Valladolid 1538, fol. 27r-28v (fol. D3r-D4v)

4. o Reyes magos benditos– Juan del Encina (1468-1529)
Cancionero Musical de Palacio (Madrid, Biblioteca Real,
MS II-1335), ca. 1470 – early 16th century, fol. 270v-271r
(fol. 228v-229r)

5. quinta pars on an ostinato [Ruggiero] – improvisation
according to Diego Ortiz (ca. 1510/1525-1570)
Tratado de glosas sobre clausulas y otros generos de puntos en la
musica de violones, Valerio et Luigi Dorico: Rome 1553, fol. 60v

6. los Reyes siguen la estrella – Francisco Guerrero (1527/28-1599)
Canciones y Villanescas espirituales, Iago Vincentio: Venice
1589, No. 52

7. diferencias sobre el canto llano del Caballero – Antonio de
Cabezón (1510-1566)
Obras de musica para tecla, arpa y vihuela, Francisco Sanchez:
Madrid 1578, p. 189

8. yo me soy la morenica
Cancionero de Uppsala, fol. 39v-40r (fol. L3v-L4r)

9. romerico – Juan del Encina
Cancionero de Palacio, fol. 248v (fol. 206v)
Cancioneiro Musical de Elvas (Biblioteca Municipal Pública
Hortênsia de Elvas, MS 11973), mid-16th century, fol. 94v-95r.

10. si n’os huviera mirado – [Cristóbal de Morales (ca. 1500-1553)]
Cancionero de Uppsala, fol. 6v-7r (fol. B4v-C1r)

11 Pavan Italian – Antonio de Cabezón
Obras de musica, p. 187

12. niño diós d’amor herido – Francisco Guerrero
Canciones y Villanescas espirituales, No. 53

13th Fantasia – Luys Milán (ca. 1500 – ca. 1560)
Libro de musica de vihuela de mano intitulado el Maestro,
Francisco Diaz Romano: Valencia 1536, fol. Bv

2023

Februar

Canti C

In the labyrinth of revolution
Sun 26.02.23 Intro 17:45 Concert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche
Basel Historical Museum

März

Songs without words

The mystery of a textless chansonnier (c1473)
Sun 26.03.23 Intro 17:30 Concert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche
Historical Museum Basel

April

Dialogue of the keys II

Ammerbach with double m (and singing)
Sun 30.04.23 Theme 17:45 Concert 18:15

Mai

All in a Garden Green

Melodies to dance along ... or listen and look
Sun 28.05.23 afternoon

Place still open

Juni

The donkey crown

Animals & Creatures invite to the finissage
Sun 25.06.23 Theme 17:45 Concert 18:15

September

Biennale ReRenaissance 2023

Music and Power - Maximilian's Triumphal Procession
Fri 22.09.23 Opening Concert 19:30

Barfüsserkirche
Historical Museum Basel

Un niño nos es naçido

Spanische Villancicos zur Vorweihnachtszeit
So 28.11.21

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

L

ieben, Hoffen, Leiden… Trinken… und Glauben. Das Villancico entwickelte sich in der Renaissance zu einer der erfolgreichsten Gattungen mehrstimmiger Musik auf der iberischen Halbinsel. Gegen Ende der Epoche, im späten 16. Jahrhundert, wurden hier, wie in den latein-amerikanischen Kolonien, neben den weltlichen auch die geistlichen Villancicos immer beliebter. Unser Programm läutet den Advent mit weihnächtlichen Villancicos aus dem Cancionero de Upsala (1556) und geistlichen Villanescas von Francisco Guerrero (1589) ein. Weltliche Villancicos auf Spanisch und Portugiesisch von Juan del Encina, Luis Milan, Cristóbal de Morales, ergänzt um Instrumentalstücke von Diego Ortiz und Antonio de Cabezón, zeigen, wie vielfältig diese Gattung war und ist.

Ivo Haun – Gesang, Laute; Leitung | Florencia Menconi – Gesang | Giovanna Baviera – Gambe, Gesang | Elam Rotem – Gesang, Cembalo | Félix Verry – Renaissancevioline | Maria Ferré –Vihuela, Renaissancegitarre | Leitungsteam ReRenaissance: Marc Lewon

Kolumne

«Ich bin dabei … » von David Fallows zu «Un niño nos es naçido», Nov 2021

Wenn meine erste Liebe unter den Repertoires der Alten Musik dem englischen Carol (Weihnachtslied) gegolten haben mag, so war meine zweite ganz eindeutig das spanische Villancico, wie es im Cancionero de Palaci und im Cancionero de la Colombina zu finden ist – beides Liedersammlungen aus der Zeit um 1500. Auch hier gibt es eine Unmittelbarkeit im Ausdruck: die Fähigkeit, mit einfachsten musikalischen Mitteln eine klare Stimmung zu vermitteln und eine schiere Kraft des Klangs. Diese Merkmale sind auch in der spanischen Musik des nächsten Jahrhunderts zu finden.
Was sich jedoch ändert, ist die Bedeutung des Wortes «villancico». Um 1500 war es ganz eindeutig eine poetische Form, eine eher leichte Gattung, aber dennoch zunächst einmal eine Form. Gegen Ende des Jahrhunderts meint es ein Weihnachtslied, aber immer noch mit einer Leichtigkeit, die ich als sehr reizvoll empfinde. Und wieder einmal frage ich mich, wie die Briten es geschafft haben, über die Zeit mit ihrer Weihnachtsmusik dermassen auf Abwege zu geraten, wo sie doch ein wunderbares Repertoire zur Verfügung hatten. Ich habe keine Ahnung, wie man auf der iberischen Halbinsel Weihnachten feiert, aber wenn ich mir die Anzahl der Aufnahmen von Riu riu chiu anschaue, die sogar auf YouTube zu finden sind, dann schätzen sie ihr Erbe vielleicht doch ein bisschen mehr als die Briten.
Auf jeden Fall kann ich mir keinen besseren und freudigeren Start in die Weihnachtszeit vorstellen als das Novemberkonzert von ReRenaissance. Mir läuft schon jetzt das Wasser im Munde zusammen.

(Übersetzung: Marc Lewon)

Interview

Elam Rotem – Sänger, Cembalist und Komponist

Thomas Christ (TC): Sie sind noch keine 40 Jahre alt und gehören bereits zu den profunden Kennern der Frühen Musik. Wie kamen Sie zum Gesang? Wann entdeckten Sie das Cembalo?

Elam Rotem  (ER): Mit acht Jahren begann ich, Klavier zu lernen. In der Oberstufe (als ich um die 16 war) habe ich auch angefangen, im Schulchor zu singen. Allmählich merkte ich, dass die Musik, die ich am meisten mochte – sowohl am Klavier als auch im Chor –, Werke aus den älteren Epochen der Musikgeschichte waren. So lag es auf der Hand, dass ich zum Spielen dieser Repertoires auf Cembalo oder Orgel umsteigen müsste.

Da es in Israel nur sehr wenige Orgeln gibt, war das Cembalo die praktikablere Option (zwar sind Cembali in Israel ziemlich schwer zu finden, aber immer noch einfacher als Orgeln). Mit dem Cembalo entdeckte ich mehr und mehr die Musikwelt des 17. und 18. Jahrhunderts und auch frühere Werke, wenn ich nach Vokalmusik suchte. Es wurde offensichtlich, dass dies das Repertoire ist, das mich am meisten beeindruckte und ich tat alles was in meiner Macht stand, um es zu erlernen und aufzuführen.

TC: Das international bekannte Ensemble Profeti della Quinta haben Sie bereits während ihrer Ausbildung in Israel gegründet. Können Sie uns dazu und auch zur Wahl des Namens etwas erzählen?

ER: Als mein Interesse an altem Repertoire auch in der Highschool weiter wuchs, begann ich mit Freunden eine kleine Gesangsgruppe zu gründen. Wir sangen Motetten aus dem 15. Jahrhundert in den Gängen der Schule (dem Ort mit der besten Akustik, den wir finden konnten) und waren dadurch eine interessante Attraktion für unsere Mitschüler. Am letzten Tag des Gymnasiums gaben wir unser erstes offizielles Konzert in einem grossen Entwässerungstunnel (wieder der Ort mit der besten Akustik, den wir finden konnten, in Ermangelung von Kirchen oder alten Palästen). Wir sangen ein gemischtes Programm, von Motetten aus dem 15. Jahrhundert bis zu Barbershop-Songs. Der Name der Gruppe, NEVIE’I HAKVINTA, – auf Hebräisch wörtlich: «Die Propheten der reinen Quinte» – war im Grunde ein Scherz. Während wir «Propheten» als etwas Biblisches, Ernstes und Historisches verwendeten, klang es wie der Name einer Heavy-Rock-Band. Wir waren uns einig, dass wir ihn ändern mussten, aber in Ermangelung eines besseren Vorschlags blieb er einfach so. Als wir nach Europa zogen und unser erstes Album aufnahmen, mussten wir uns für einen internationalen Namen entscheiden. Wir fanden, dass er, wenn er ins Italienische übersetzt wird, gut klingt und Neugierde erweckt.

TC: Sie sind auch als Komponist bekannt. Bedienen Sie sich dabei ganz der Kompositionsmuster des 17. und 16. Jahrhunderts? Ist es möglich, Grenzen zwischen Imitation und Inspiration zu ziehen?

ER: Für mich persönlich war es schon immer ziemlich natürlich, zu komponieren und ich habe es während meines ganzen Studiums gepflegt. Als ich mich mit älteren Praktiken des Musizierens beschäftigte, stellte ich fest, dass Musiker in früheren Zeiten regelmässig Musik liefern und erschaffen mussten und nur selten auf ältere, bekannte Repertoires zurückgriffen (wie es Interpreten heutzutage fast immer tun). Wenn wir historische Aufführungspraktiken nachahmen, gibt es keinen Grund, warum wir nicht auch die historischen Praktiken des Musikmachens – nämlich das Komponieren und Improvisieren – nachahmen sollten. Die Grenzen zwischen Nachahmung und Inspiration sind in jedem Kunstwerk fliessend.

TC: Lassen Ihre «Stilkopien» genügend Raum für den eigenen gestalterischen Ausdruck? Sollen bei Ihren Kompositionen bestimmte frühe Musiker wiedererkannt werden oder führen Sie vielmehr den Zuhörer in die Erlebniswelt der Renaissance und des italienischen Frühbarocks?

ER: Ich stelle mir vor, ich hätte in dieser Zeit gelebt und wäre als Musiker (und natürlich auch als Schüler der von mir geschätzten Meister) tätig gewesen. Mein Ziel ist es, den Stil so zu erlernen, dass ich in der Lage bin, sowohl Emotionen als auch meine persönlichen Ideen so auszudrücken, wie es ein Komponist aus dieser Zeit tun würde. Und genau wie die Musik eines Komponisten aus dieser Zeit, wäre sie eine Mischung aus gängigen Idiomen, Einflüssen von bestimmten anderen Meistern und natürlich auch originellen Momenten. Die Komponisten, zu denen ich beim Komponieren am meisten aufgeschaut habe, stammen aus dem italienischen Barock des frühen 17. Jahrhunderts; Komponisten wie Emilio de’ Cavalieri, Claudio Monteverdi und andere.

TC: Im Gegensatz zur Welt des Barocks ist der reiche musikalische Schatz der Renaissance noch weitgehend unbekannt. Haben Sie dafür eine Begründung?

ER: Ich denke, es ist allgemein so, dass sich der Schwerpunkt der klassischen Musikszene um das Ende des 18. und das 19. Jahrhundert dreht, und je weiter das Repertoire davon entfernt ist, desto weniger ist es bekannt. Wenn man speziell nach dem Unterschied zwischen dem 16. Jahrhundert («Renaissance») und dem 17. Jahrhundert («Barock») sucht, kann man vermuten, dass die Tendenz zu Monodien und eingängigen Melodien des späteren Jahrhunderts etwas leichter zu erfassen und zu hören ist als die bisweilen unübersichtliche Polyphonie der früheren Periode.

weiterlesen

2022

Oktober

Frisch gezwickt

Ein Basler Lautenparcours
So 30.10.22 16–17/18–19h Kaffee 17–18h

Klein- und Grossbasel
Haus zum Hohen Dolder

November

Transeamus: nach Bethlehem!

Spanische Vokalpolyphonie
So 27.11.22 17:30 Thema 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Dezember

Noël normand St. Ursanne

Rouen 1474
Sa 17.12.22 20:00 concert

St. Ursanne
Collégiale

Noël normand Zürich

Rouen 1474
So 18.12.22 11:00 Konzert

Zürich
Wasserkirche

Noël normand Basel

Rouen 1474
So 18.12.22 17:30 Thema 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Noël normand Berne

Rouen 1474
Mo 19.12.22 19:30 Concert

Berne
Eglise française

Noël normand Liestal

Rouen 1474
Di 20.12.22 19:30 Konzert

Liestal
Stadtkirche

Noël normand Brugg

Rouen 1474
Mi 21.12.22 19:30 Konzert

Brugg
Stadtkirche

Noël normand Biel/Bienne

Rouen 1474
Do 22.12.22 19:30 Concert

Biel/Bienne
Stadtkirche

2023

Januar

31 statt 12

Grenzgänge mit Vicentino
So 29.01.23 Thema 17:30 Konzert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Februar

Canti C

Im Labyrinth der Revolution
So 26.02.23 Talk 17:30 Konzert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche Historisches Museum Basel