Reopening Gaffurius’ Libroni

Motets at Milan Cathedral
Sun 30.01.22

Barefoot
Historical Museum Basel

Performance of the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis in the Cathedral of Milan 2019

E

n the late 15th century, Milan was one of the most remarkable musical centers in Europe. In the international environment of the Sforza dukes, a court chapel flourished with Italian, German and especially Franco-Flemish singers and composers. The Cathedral Chapel was entrusted during this period to Franchinus Gaffurius, an authoritative theorist and maestro di cappella, whose death anniversary in 2022 will be the 500th anniversary of his death. anniversary. He was responsible for the production of four large manuscripts, the so-called “Libroni”. In a prestigious research project, the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis shed new light on the Libroni as the only source of the time for Milan’s polyphonic sacred music. The concert is based on a cooperation between the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis and ReRenaissance.

Musical direction: Federico Sepúlveda – voice | Catherine Motuz – trombone | Ivo Haun – voice | Agnese Pavanello – research

Students of the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis:
Kimon Barakos, Silas Bischoff, Annelise Ellars, Amy Farnell, Robert Hernandez, Nathan Julius, Parvati Maeder, Julia Marty, Matthieu Romanens, Elizabeth Sommers, Caroline Sordia, Henry van Engen, and Arthur Wilkens (vocals, instruments); Clément Gester (cornett).
Ian Harrison (Pommer); ReRenaissance: Marc Lewon and Tabea Schwartz

Video

Motets, Libroni, and Guidonian Feet

Vlog January 2022 on “Reopening’ Gaffurius Libroni” – Motets at Milan Cathedral

Gaffurius’ Libroni – Ave regina caelorum

From the concert Reopening Gaffurius’ Libroni – Motets in Milan in Barfüsserkirche January 30, 2022 Basel Historisches Museum Basel

Gaffurius’ Libroni – Gloria Credo breves

Concert clip January 2022 from “Reopening Gaffurius’ Libroni” – Motets from Milan

Gaffurius’ Libroni – Spes reorum es

From the sequence Ave virgo gloriosa, Heerenberg, Castle Huis Bergh, MS 34, fol. 135r-138r

From the concert Reopening Gaffurius’ Libroni – Motets in Milan, January 30, 2022, Barfüsserkirche Historisches Museum Basel

Gaffurius’ Libroni – Ave Maria gratia plena (Loyset Compère) (2nd part: Sancte Michael)

Librone 3, 187v-189r

From the concert Reopening Gaffurius’ Libroni – Motets in Milan, January 30, 2022, Barfüsserkirche Historisches Museum Basel

Gaffurius’ Libroni – Mater digna Dei

Gaspar van Weerbeke, Gaffurius Librone 1, fol. 115v-116r

From the concert Reopening Gaffurius’ Libroni – Motets in Milan, January 30, 2022, Barfüsserkirche Historisches Museum Basel

Interview

Dr. Agnese Pavanello – Lecturer in Music History at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis

Thomas Christ (TC): After your studies in musicology in Pavia, your path led you not to Rome or Naples, despite your publications on Corelli, Tartini, Locatelli and Bonporti, but to Regensburg, Freiburg and Basel – can you explain that briefly?

Agnese Pavanello (AP): When I studied in Regensburg for a semester, I decided that I wanted to continue my education in the German-speaking world. I was fascinated by the German university culture, taken by the fantastic libraries that were easily accessible, and I felt enriched by all the impulses I received as a young Italian abroad.

From the University of Freiburg im Br. I came to Basel on a research fellowship. I wanted to take a closer look at Corelli’s sources, which were collected at the Musicology Institute. At the Basel Institute I found a particularly fertile environment to develop myself in musicology, and I rediscovered at that time my passion for early music, respectively for other historical fields also thanks to my visits to the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis (concerts and events of various kinds). I loved working late at night at the Basel Musicology Institute, back then its library was always open for us students. A dream for me. Subsequently, I received a scholarship to Basel and worked for two years at the institute as an assistant. When, after many years of working in musicology in Austria, I was offered a research position at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, I clearly had the feeling that I had arrived at the right place professionally.

TC: In our ReRenaissance concert series, we begin the year with a cycle of motets and other pieces from the well-known Libroni of Milan. At the SCB, you led a research project on these libroni called “Polifonia Sforzesca” – what is special about this project? In what way is this year’s performance a premiere?

AP: What was special about this project was that we wanted to create an online platform in which the Milan Libroni, which are among the most important musical manuscripts of sacred vocal polyphony of the Renaissance, could be made available digitally and explored from new points of view. We planned from the beginning that this portal should contain not only a catalog and an inventory of the works (with detailed information, such as concordances, bibliography on each work, etc.) but also critical digital editions from the libroni, as well as targeted studies on the manuscripts and the repertoire they contain. In particular, we planned to make the repertoire of the so-called “motetti missales,” cycles of motets performed during the divine service, available in new critical editions in open access and to shed new light on them thanks to new research. We have all achieved these goals. Our international team of researchers worked on it for a total of almost seven years – first on researching only the motets cycles, then on opening up the musical and cultural context of Milan Cathedral under the Sforza Dukes. Several publications and online resources have resulted.

From the beginning, we had the opportunity to work with musicians from the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis and to experiment sonically with the music we were studying. The ReRenaissance concert is a result of this collaboration. The composition of the program is a first – single motets, series of motets (a cycle and smaller cycles of motets) and ordinarium movements are combined, evoking a practice well attested for Milan. The special thing about this concert is the improvisational part. Based on the chorale melodies, the singers and musicians try out various improvisation techniques. This also demonstrates how close the relationships were between different singing practices (monophonic and polyphonic traditions) in the sacred realm. For example, in the sequences (chants with rhymed and rhythmically aligned verses): In the Middle Ages, voices were always improvised to the melodies of these monophonic chants! So in this concert we hear improvised polyphony – and that’s something you don’t often get to experience in concerts.

TC: In studies of music history, historical bridges are often built, and rightly so, to neighboring disciplines, such as instrument making, the courtly culture of that region, influences from other countries, but also to painting at the time of the Libroni. Do you welcome these interdisciplinary, art-historical contacts, or are they more of a sideshow in musicology?

AP: Interdisciplinary dialogue is essential in our field. It gives access to knowledge that would otherwise be impossible to obtain and broadens the spectrum with methodological approaches, which is essential for research and its implementation in the practical field. At the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, we always strive for interdisciplinary exchange, since the study of early music absolutely requires it. In dealing with church music of the Renaissance, it is necessary to work in an interdisciplinary way, also in order to grasp, for example, its theological dimension, which shaped its form and content just as much as practical musical circumstances. For example, if certain pieces were sung during the liturgy, it is clear that one should be familiar with the liturgy of the time, even just in terms of whether the function or context of the performance influenced formal and stylistic aspects of the music in question (for example, in the structure of a piece or in the distribution of homophonic or polyphonic sections). However, the liturgy of the Middle Ages is a discipline in itself, which requires specific historical research. It is very important for us musicologists to grow in this interdisciplinary dialogue in order to gain new insights and interpretations of musical works.

TC: How must one imagine the notation of these polyphonic compositions, how many of the parts are fully notated, how much is assumed or learned as “variant knowledge” of the accompanying parts?

AP: The works performed in the concert are notated for four voices. On a double page of a choral book there are usually only the parts that make up the contrapuntal framework. We don’t know exactly how many singers performed one voice, or when and how instruments amplified the vocals. It depends on the specific situation of the performance. Even then, at the end of the 15th century, individual voices were often split up into many voices for homophonic passages – or occasionally even into choirs in order to achieve a richer harmonic richness. Even in those cases where lists of singers have been preserved, we can only hypothetically reconstruct how many musicians actually participated in a musical event and how they were involved in a particular piece. Therefore, it is important to repeatedly experiment with the instrumentation in terms of sound (e.g., with the spatial placement, the distribution of solo and choral entries, timbre and ornamentation, etc.). Nowadays we can allow ourselves a lot of freedom in dealing with older repertoire – if one deals consciously with the specific repertoire in each case. Regarding monophonic musical tradition: as mentioned above, we know that monophonic melodies were not infrequently performed in multiple voices. A second voice was common in some chants such as the sequences, but improvisation was also done with multiple voices. So in summary: The note image tells us only part of the story. We need a deeper engagement with the music in order to be able to revive or interpret it convincingly.

TC: Baroque music and also its historically informed performance practice have enjoyed great popularity for several decades; every opera house now includes baroque operas on its program with increasing success. Has interest in Renaissance music also changed, or are we still at the beginning of a journey of discovery?

AP: It seems to me that the interest in Renaissance music is much greater than it was 30 years ago, but we are in fact dealing with a music that still appeals to a relatively small audience because it is unknown to most. Perhaps we are not at the very beginning of a journey of discovery, but the potential of this music is far from exhausted. Even though we in Basel experience a thoroughly exceptional and privileged situation, since we are often lucky enough to enjoy unheard music from the Middle Ages and Renaissance in concerts here, the ReRenaissance series clearly shows what an immense wealth of works the Renaissance period offers. This music deserves to be heard again and thereby enjoy a new life because of its beauty, diversity and expressiveness.

weiterlesen

Column



I’m in … ” by Martin Kirnbauer to



Reopening Gaffurius’ Libroni
“, Jan 2022

Two years ago, in October 2019, when “Corona” was still either a beer or a phenomenon of musical notation (depending on your interest), I was privileged to witness an impressive performance in Milan Cathedral: In the nave of this huge church building, on a special lectern, was one of the large-format choir books (libroni) from the end of the 15th 6nbsp;century, which Francesco Gaffurio (1451-1522) had had made for use in the cathedral.

Singers and instrumentalists of the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis gathered in front of the Librone and performed motets by Binchois, Busnoys, Josquin des Prez and, of course, Gaffurio, as they sounded in the same place more than 500 years ago. This particular setting led me into a very special musical experience: I did not attend a “concert”, but I heard this music in appropriate sound form in the “right” place – and it touched me immensely. In order to make this performance possible, some preliminary work had to be done. In a research project of several years at the Schola Cantorum, the famous Libroni were researched and edited. The performance was certainly one of the highlights of this project, materializing the research on the (silent) sources in sounding music again.

Now you can hear music from the Milan choir books in the January concert in Basel – in a new program! (Will it probably be another unique experience without the presence of the original Libroni and in the somewhat more “modestly” sized church space?)

weiterlesen

Program

Program Booklet January 2022

1st sequence Salve mater salvatoris – anonymous
Heerenberg, Netherlands, Castle Huis Bergh, MS 34, fol. 71v-74v

2nd cycle of motets Salve mater salvatoris – Franchinus Gaffurius (1451-1522)
Milan, Archivio della Veneranda Fabbrica del Duomo, Librone 1, fol. 84v-93r
Salve mater salvatoris | Salve decus virginum| Tu thronus es Salomonis| Imperatrix gloriosa

3rd antiphon Ave regina caelorum – anonymous
Copenhagen, Det kongelige Bibliotek Slotsholmen, Gl. Kgl. P. 3449, 8o [14] XIV, fol. 113r-v

4th Ave regina caelorum – Loyset Compère? (c1445-1518)
Librone 1, fol. 150v-151r

5th Gloria – Credo breves – Loyset Compère
Librone 3, fol. 159v-162r Sequence

6. Ave virgo gloriosa
Heerenberg, Castle Huis Bergh, MS 34, fol. 135r-138r

7th Sanctus – O sapientia – Loyset Compère?
Librone 2, fol. 35v-36r

8th Ave virgo gloriosa Maria mater gratiae – Loyset Compère
Librone 1, fol. 149v-150r; Librone 2, fol. 36v-37r

9. o genitrix gloriosa – Loyset Compère
Librone 3, fol. 51v-52r

10th Ave Maria gratia plena (2nd part: Sancte Michael) – Loyset Compère
Librone 3, 187v-189r

11. Christi mater ave – Gaspar van Weerbeke (c1445 to after 1517)
Librone 1, fol. 114v-115r

12. mater digna Dei – Gaspar van Weerbeke
Librone 1, fol. 115v-116r

13th Ave stella matutina – Gaspar van Weerbeke
Librone 1, fol. 116v-117r

2023

Februar

Canti C

In the labyrinth of revolution
Sun 26.02.23 Intro 17:45 Concert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche
Basel Historical Museum

März

Songs without words

The mystery of a textless chansonnier (c1473)
Sun 26.03.23 Intro 17:30 Concert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche
Historical Museum Basel

April

Dialogue of the keys II

Ammerbach with double m (and singing)
Sun 30.04.23 Theme 17:45 Concert 18:15

Mai

All in a Garden Green

Melodies to dance along ... or listen and look
Sun 28.05.23 afternoon

Place still open

Juni

The donkey crown

Animals & Creatures invite to the finissage
Sun 25.06.23 Theme 17:45 Concert 18:15

September

Biennale ReRenaissance 2023

Music and Power - Maximilian's Triumphal Procession
Fri 22.09.23 Opening Concert 19:30

Barfüsserkirche
Historical Museum Basel

Reopening Gaffurius’ Libroni

Motetten am Mailänder Dom
So 30.01.22 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkiche
Historisches Museum Basel

Aufführung der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis im Dom zu Mailand 2019

E

nde des 15. Jahrhunderts gehörte Mailand zu den bemerkenswertesten Musikzentren in Europa. Im internationalen Umfeld der Sforza-Herzöge gedieh eine Hofkapelle mit italienischen, deutschen und vor allem franco-flämischen Sängern und Komponisten. Die Domkapelle wurde in dieser Zeit Franchinus Gaffurius anvertraut, einem massgeblichen Theoretiker und Maestro di cappella, dessen Todestag sich 2022 zum 500. Mal jährt. Er zeichnete sich verantwortlich für die Herstellung von vier grossen Manuskripten, den sogenannten «Libroni». In einem prestigeträchtigen Forschungsprojekt beleuchtete die Schola Cantorum Basiliensis die Libroni als einzige Quelle der Zeit für die polyphone geistliche Musik Mailands neu. Das Konzert fusst auf einer Kooperation zwischen der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis und ReRenaissance.

Musikalische Leitung: Federico Sepúlveda – Stimme | Catherine Motuz – Posaune | Ivo Haun – Stimme | Agnese Pavanello – Forschung

Studierende der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis:
Kimon Barakos, Silas Bischoff, Annelise Ellars, Amy Farnell, Robert Hernandez, Nathan Julius, Parvati Maeder, Julia Marty, Matthieu Romanens, Elizabeth Sommers, Caroline Sordia, Henry van Engen und Arthur Wilkens (Gesang, Instrumente); Clément Gester (Zink).
Ian Harrison (Pommer); ReRenaissance: Marc Lewon und Tabea Schwartz

Programm

1. Sequenz Salve mater salvatoris – anonym
Heerenberg, Netherlands, Castle Huis Bergh, MS 34, fol. 71v–74v

2. Motettenzyklus Salve mater salvatoris – Franchinus Gaffurius  (1451–1522)
Mailand, Archivio della Veneranda Fabbrica del Duomo, Librone 1, fol. 84v–93r
Salve mater salvatoris | Salve decus virginum| Tu thronus es Salomonis| Imperatrix gloriosa

3. Antiphon Ave regina caelorum – anonym
Kopenhagen, Det kongelige Bibliotek Slotsholmen, Gl. Kgl. S. 3449, 8o [14] XIV, fol. 113r–v

4. Ave regina caelorum – Loyset Compère? (c1445–1518)
Librone 1, fol. 150v–151r

5. Gloria – Credo breves – Loyset Compère
Librone 3, fol. 159v–162r Sequenz

6. Ave virgo gloriosa
Heerenberg, Castle Huis Bergh, MS 34, fol. 135r–138r

7. Sanctus – O sapientia – Loyset Compère?
Librone 2, fol. 35v–36r

8. Ave virgo gloriosa Maria mater gratiae – Loyset Compère
Librone 1, fol. 149v–150r; Librone 2, fol. 36v–37r

9. O genitrix gloriosa – Loyset Compère
Librone 3, fol. 51v–52r

10. Ave Maria gratia plena (2. Teil: Sancte Michael) – Loyset Compère
Librone 3, 187v–189r

11. Christi mater ave – Gaspar van Weerbeke (c1445 bis nach 1517)
Librone 1, fol. 114v–115r

12. Mater digna Dei – Gaspar van Weerbeke
Librone 1, fol. 115v–116r

13. Ave stella matutina – Gaspar van Weerbeke
Librone 1, fol. 116v–117r

Kolumne

«Ich bin dabei … » von Martin Kirnbauer zu «Reopening Gaffurius’ Libroni», Jan 2022

Vor zwei Jahren, im Oktober 2019, als «Corona» noch entweder ein Bier oder ein Phänomen der musikalischen Notation war (je nach Interesse), durfte ich im Mailänder Dom eine beeindruckende Aufführung erleben: Im Schiff dieses riesigen Kirchenbaus lag auf einem speziellen Pult eines der grossformatigen Chorbücher (Libroni) aus dem Ende des 15.6nbsp;Jahrhunderts, die Francesco Gaffurio (1451–1522) für den Gebrauch im Dom hatte anfertigen lassen.

Sänger:innen und Instrumentalist:innen der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis versammelten sich vor dem Librone und musizierten daraus Motetten von Binchois, Busnoys, Josquin des Prez und natürlich Gaffurio, wie sie an der gleichen Stelle vor über 500 Jahren erklangen. Dieses besondere Setting führte mich in ein sehr spezielles Musikerlebnis: Ich wohnte nicht einem «Konzert» bei, sondern ich hörte diese Musik in angemessener Klanggestalt am «richtigen» Ort – und sie berührte mich dabei ungemein. Damit diese Aufführung möglich wurde, musste einiges an Vorarbeit geleistet werden. In einem mehrjährigen Forschungsprojekt an der Schola Cantorum wurden die berühmten Libroni erforscht und ediert. Die Aufführung war sicher eines der Highlights dieses Projekts, materialisierte sich die Forschung an den (stummen) Quellen doch in wieder klingender Musik.

Nun kann man im Januarkonzert in Basel Musik aus den Mailändern Chorbüchern hören – in einem neuen Programm! (Wird es ohne die Präsenz der originalen Libroni und in dem etwas «bescheidener» dimensionierten Kirchenraum wohl wieder ein einmaliges Erlebnis werden?)

weiterlesen

Interview

Dr. Agnese Pavanello – Dozentin für Musikgeschichte an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis

Thomas Christ (TC): Nach Ihrem Studium der Musikwissenschaften in Pavia führte Sie Ihr Weg trotz Ihrer Publikationen zu Corelli, Tartini, Locatelli und Bonporti nicht nach Rom oder Neapel, sondern nach Regensburg, Freiburg und Basel – können Sie uns das kurz erklären?

Agnese Pavanello (AP): Als ich in Regensburg ein Semester studierte, entschied ich, dass ich mich weiter im deutschsprachigen Raum ausbilden wollte. Ich war von der deutschen Universitätskultur fasziniert, von den fantastischen Bibliotheken angetan, die unkompliziert zugänglich waren, und ich fühlte mich bereichert von all den Impulsen, die ich als junge Italienerin im Ausland erhielt.

Von der Universität Freiburg im Br. kam ich mit einem Forschungsstipendium nach Basel. Ich wollte mich mit den Quellen Corellis, die am Musikwissenschaftlichen Institut gesammelt waren, näher beschäftigen. Am Basler Institut fand ich ein besonders fruchtbares Umfeld vor, um mich in der Musikwissenschaft weiterzuentwickeln, und ich entdeckte damals neu meine Leidenschaft zur alten Musik, bzw. zu weiteren historischen Bereichen auch dank meinen Besuchen an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis (Konzerte und Veranstaltungen verschiedener Art). Ich liebte es, bis spät in der Nacht am Basler Musikwissenschaftlichen Institut zu arbeiten, damals war dessen Bibliothek für uns Studierende immer offen. Ein Traum für mich. Im Folgenden erhielt ich ein Stipendium für Basel und anschliessend arbeitete ich zwei Jahre am Institut als Hilfsassistentin. Als ich nach vielen Jahren musikwissenschaftlicher Tätigkeit in Österreich eine Forschungsstelle an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis erhielt, hatte ich eindeutig das Gefühl, beruflich am richtigen Ort angekommen zu sein.

TC: In unserer ReRenaissance-Konzertreihe beginnen wir das Jahr mit einem Motettenzyklus und anderen Stücken aus den bekannten Mailänder Libroni. Sie haben an der SCB ein Forschungsprojekt zu diesen Libroni mit dem Titel «Polifonia Sforzesca» geleitet – was ist das Besondere an diesem Projekt? Inwiefern ist die diesjährige Aufführung eine Premiere?

AP: Das besondere an diesem Projekt war, dass wir eine Online-Plattform kreieren wollten, in welcher man die Mailänder Libroni, die zu den wichtigsten Musikhandschriften geistlicher Vokalpolyphonie der Renaissance zählen, digital verfügbar machen und sie unter neuen Gesichtspunkten erforschen kann. Wir planten von Anfang an, dass dieses Portal nicht nur einen Katalog und ein Inventar der Werke enthalten sollte (mit detaillierten Informationen, wie Konkordanzen, Bibliographie zu den einzelnen Werken, etc.) sondern auch kritische digitale Editionen aus den Libroni sowie gezielte Studien zu den Handschriften und dem enthaltenen Repertoire. Insbesondere hatten wir vor, das Repertoire der sogenannten «motetti missales», Motettenzyklen, die während des Gottesdienstes aufgeführt wurden, in neuen kritischen Editionen im Open Access zugänglich zu machen und dank neuer Forschung neu zu beleuchten. Diese Ziele haben wir alle erreicht. Insgesamt fast sieben Jahre hat unser internationales Forscherteam daran gearbeitet – zuerst nur an der Erforschung der Motettenzyklen, danach an der Erschliessung des musikalischen und kulturellen Kontextes des Mailänder Doms unter den Sforza-Herzögen. Mehrere Publikationen und Online-Ressourcen sind dadurch entstanden.

Von Anfang an hatten wir die Möglichkeit, mit Musikern der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis zu arbeiten und mit der von uns untersuchten Musik klanglich zu experimentieren. Das ReRenaissance-Konzert ist ein Resultat dieser Zusammenarbeit. Die Zusammensetzung des Programms ist eine Premiere – einzelne Motetten, Serien von Motetten (ein Zyklus und kleinere Motettenzyklen) und Ordinariums-Sätze werden kombiniert und evozieren somit eine Praxis, die für Mailand gut belegt ist. Das Besondere an diesem Konzert ist der improvisatorische Teil. Ausgehend von den Choralmelodien erproben die Sänger:innen und Musiker:innen verschiedene Improvisationstechniken. Dadurch wird auch demonstriert, wie eng die Beziehungen zwischen verschiedenen Gesangspraktiken (einstimmige und mehrstimmige Traditionen) im geistlichen Bereich waren. Zum Beispiel bei den Sequenzen (Gesänge mit gereimten und rhythmisch angeglichenen Versen): Auf die Melodien dieser einstimmigen Gesänge wurden im Mittelalter stets Stimmen dazu improvisiert! In diesem Konzert hören wir also improvisierte Mehrstimmigkeit – und das ist etwas, das man nicht so oft in Konzerten erleben kann.

TC: Bei musikgeschichtlichen Studien werden gerne und zu Recht historische Brücken zu Nachbardisziplinen gebaut, etwa zum Instrumentenbau, zur höfischen Kultur jener Region, zu Einflüssen aus anderen Ländern, aber auch zur Malerei zur Zeit der Libroni. Begrüssen Sie diese interdisziplinären, kunsthistorischen Kontakte oder sind sie in der Musikwissenschaft eher ein Nebenschauplatz?

AP: Der interdisziplinäre Dialog ist von wesentlicher Bedeutung in unserem Fach. Er gibt Zugang zu Kenntnissen, die sonst nicht zu erlangen wären und erweitert das Spektrum mit methodischen Ansätzen, was essenziell für die Forschung und ihre Umsetzung im praktischen Bereich ist. An der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis bemühen wir uns stets um interdisziplinären Austausch, da die Beschäftigung mit Alter Musik, dies unbedingt voraussetzt. Im Umgang mit Kirchenmusik der Renaissance ist es nötig, interdisziplinär zu arbeiten, auch um z. B. ihre theologische Dimension zu erfassen, die genauso wie musikpraktische Gegebenheiten ihre Form und Inhalte geprägt hat. Wenn z. B. bestimmte Stücke während der Liturgie gesungen wurden, ist es klar, dass man mit der Liturgie der Zeit vertraut sein sollte, auch nur in Bezug auf die Frage, ob die Funktion oder der Kontext der Aufführung formale und stilistische Aspekte der betreffenden Musik beeinflusst haben (beispielweise im Aufbau eines Stückes oder in der Verteilung von homophonen oder polyphonen Abschnitten). Die Liturgie des Mittelalters ist aber eine Disziplin für sich, die spezifische historische Forschungen voraussetzt. Uns Musikwissenschaftler:innen ist sehr wichtig, in diesem interdisziplinären Dialog heranzuwachsen, um neue Erkenntnisse und Interpretationsmöglichkeiten von Musikwerken zu erlangen.

TC: Wie muss man sich das Notenbild dieser polyphonen Kompositionen vorstellen, wie viele der Stimmen sind vollständig notiert, wie viel wird als «Variantenkenntnis» der Begleitstimmen vorausgesetzt oder erlernt?

AP: Die Werke, die im Konzert erklingen, sind vierstimmig notiert. Auf einer Doppelseite eines Chorbuchs stehen üblicherweise nur die Stimmen, die das kontrapunktische Gerüst ausmachen. Wir wissen nicht, wie viele Sänger genau eine Stimme ausführten, oder wann und wie Instrumente die Vokalstimmen verstärkten. Das hängt von der spezifischen Situation der Aufführung ab. Schon damals, Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts, wurden einzelne Stimmen für homophone Passagen gerne vielstimmiger aufgespalten – oder gelegentlich sogar in zwar Chöre aufgeteilt, um eine reichere harmonische Fülle zu erreichen. Auch in den Fällen, bei denen Listen der Sänger erhalten sind, können wir nur hypothetisch rekonstruieren, wie viele Musiker tatsächlich an einem musikalischen Ereignis teilnahmen und wie sie an einem speziellen Stück beteiligt waren. Deswegen ist es wichtig, immer wieder auch mit der Besetzung klanglich zu experimentieren (z. B. mit der räumlichen Aufstellung, der Verteilung von solistischen und chorischen Einsätzen, Klangfarbe und Ornamentierung usw.). Heutzutage können wir uns viel Freiheit im Umgang mit älterem Repertoire erlauben – wenn man jeweils bewusst mit dem spezifischen Repertoire umgeht. Bezüglich der einstimmigen musikalischen Überlieferung: Wie oben erwähnt, wissen wir, dass einstimmige Melodien nicht selten mehrstimmig aufgeführt wurden. Eine zweite Stimme war üblich bei einigen Gesängen wie z. B. den Sequenzen, aber es wurde auch mit mehreren Stimmen improvisiert. Also zusammengefasst: Das Notenbild erzählt uns nur einen Teil der Geschichte. Wir brauchen eine vertiefte Auseinandersetzung mit der Musik, um sie überzeugend wiederbeleben oder interpretieren zu können.

TC: Die Barockmusik und auch ihre historisch informierte Aufführungspraxis erfreuen sich seit einigen Jahrzehnten einer grossen Beliebtheit, jedes Opernhaus setzt heute mit zunehmendem Erfolg Barockopern auf sein Programm. Hat sich auch das Interesse für die Renaissancemusik gewandelt oder stehen wir da noch am Anfang einer Entdeckungsreise?

AP: Mir scheint das Interesse für die Renaissancemusik wesentlich grösser als noch vor 30 Jahren, aber wir haben es in der Tat mit einer Musik zu tun, die noch ein relativ kleines Publikum anspricht, weil sie den meisten unbekannt ist. Vielleicht stehen wir nicht ganz am Anfang einer Entdeckungsreise, doch ist das Potential dieser Musik noch lange nicht ausgeschöpft. Auch wenn wir in Basel eine durchaus aussergewöhnliche und privilegierte Situation erleben, da wir hier oft das Glück haben, ungehörte Musik aus Mittelalter und Renaissance in Konzerten zu geniessen, zeigt die ReRenaissance-Reihe deutlich, welchen immensen Reichtum an Werken das Renaissance-Zeitalter bietet. Diese Musik verdient, wieder gehört zu werden und dadurch aufgrund ihrer Schönheit, ihrer Vielfalt und ihrer Ausdruckskraft ein neues Leben zu geniessen.

weiterlesen

Video

Motets, Libroni, and Guidonian Feet

Vlog Januar 2022 zu  «Reopening’ Gaffurius Libroni» – Motetten am Mailänder Dom

Gaffurius’ Libroni – Ave regina caelorum

Aus dem Konzert Reopening Gaffurius’ Libroni – Motetten in Mailand in Barfüsserkirche 30. Januar 2022 Basel Historisches Museum Basel

Gaffurius’ Libroni – Gloria Credo breves

Konzertclip Januar 2022 aus «Reopening Gaffurius’ Libroni» – Motetten aus Mailand

Gaffurius’ Libroni – Spes reorum es

Aus der Sequenz Ave virgo  gloriosa, Heerenberg, Castle Huis Bergh, MS 34, fol. 135r–138r

Aus dem Konzert Reopening Gaffurius’ Libroni – Motetten in Mailand, 30. Januar 2022, Barfüsserkirche Historisches Museum Basel

Gaffurius’ Libroni – Ave Maria gratia plena (Loyset Compère) (2. Teil: Sancte Michael)

Librone 3, 187v–189r

Aus dem Konzert Reopening Gaffurius’ Libroni – Motetten in Mailand, 30. Januar 2022, Barfüsserkirche Historisches Museum Basel

Gaffurius’ Libroni – Mater digna Dei

Gaspar van Weerbeke, Gaffurius Librone 1, fol. 115v–116r

Aus dem Konzert Reopening Gaffurius’ Libroni – Motetten in Mailand, 30. Januar 2022, Barfüsserkirche Historisches Museum Basel

Bilder

2022

Oktober

Frisch gezwickt

Ein Basler Lautenparcours
So 30.10.22 16–17/18–19h Kaffee 17–18h

Klein- und Grossbasel
Haus zum Hohen Dolder

November

Transeamus: nach Bethlehem!

Spanische Vokalpolyphonie
So 27.11.22 17:30 Thema 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Dezember

Noël normand St. Ursanne

Rouen 1474
Sa 17.12.22 20:00 concert

St. Ursanne
Collégiale

Noël normand Zürich

Rouen 1474
So 18.12.22 11:00 Konzert

Zürich
Wasserkirche

Noël normand Basel

Rouen 1474
So 18.12.22 17:30 Thema 18:15 Konzert

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Noël normand Berne

Rouen 1474
Mo 19.12.22 19:30 Concert

Berne
Eglise française

Noël normand Liestal

Rouen 1474
Di 20.12.22 19:30 Konzert

Liestal
Stadtkirche

Noël normand Brugg

Rouen 1474
Mi 21.12.22 19:30 Konzert

Brugg
Stadtkirche

Noël normand Biel/Bienne

Rouen 1474
Do 22.12.22 19:30 Concert

Biel/Bienne
Stadtkirche

2023

Januar

31 statt 12

Grenzgänge mit Vicentino
So 29.01.23 Thema 17:30 Konzert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche
Historisches Museum Basel

Februar

Canti C

Im Labyrinth der Revolution
So 26.02.23 Talk 17:30 Konzert 18:15

Barfüsserkirche Historisches Museum Basel