24th April 2022

Grünewald’s Groẞgeige – the presentation of a new instrument for ReRenaissance

Basel, 1511: Sebastian Virdung published his «Musica getutscht» with descriptions of all kinds of instruments, including the bowed and fretted Groẞgeige.

Basel, 2021: A gift from Hartmut Raguse led to the construction of a Groẞgeige by Jacob Mariani, based on the painting in the Isenheim Altarpiece by Matthias ​Grünewald. Angels and demons step out of the painting and play music by Agricola, Senfl, and other contemporaries of Grünewald in a programme of music for Kleingeige and Groẞgeige. The string consort developed together with the music around 1500, and was to enjoy increasing popularity in the first decades of the 16th century. The polyphony in sources from this period – the early prints in particular – expressly invites instrumental performance, with the Groẞgeige being specifically emphasized as a suitable ensemble instrument. Marketing certainly played a role in this, with music printers hoping to reach a broader clientele among the players of these instruments. But the pieces work so beautifully with such a homogeneous ensemble, that ReRenaissance will follow contemporary advice and trace Grünewald’s life through the use of an early family of instruments.

Baptiste Romain – Kleingeige; Musical Co-director | Elizabeth Rumsey – Grossgeige; Musical Co-director | Marc Lewon – Lute, Grossgeige | Tabea Schwartz – Recorder, Grossgeige | Jacob Lawrence – Tenor

May 29th

In Mayen - Lasso to sing along

 

As early as the Renaissance, there were innumerable songs for the merry month of May. Love poems and vivacious texts with a seasonal reference like the famous Im Mayen you can hear the cocks krayen are also set to music in Orlando di Lasso. In this concert, these pieces are performed by a mixed vocal quartet, which accompanies itself on instruments and sometimes inserts artistic vocal decorations into the sung lines. The special sound of the lute duo, which was heard in the September 2020 concert, is experiencing a comeback with a younger repertoire from the later decades of the 16th century. But not only the vocal quartet, but also interested choir singers have the opportunity to join in after a small workshop and get to know Lasso's famous ensemble music from a new perspective using the original notation.

 

Ivo Haun - vocals, lute; Co-management

Jessica Jans - vocals

Giovanna Baviera - vocals, viol

Rui Stähelin - vocals, lute

ReRenaissance management team: Tabea Schwartz 


June 26th
 

Psalmy Dawida - Melodies for the Polish Psalter by Mikołaj Gomółka (1580)

In addition to the somewhat earlier polyphonic version of the Geneva Psalter by Claude Goudimel, Gomółka's work is a complete setting of the Psalms of David that is unique in the Renaissance. Gomółka created a national Polish art style with his work. Even if he used well-known dance rhythms and melodic formulas, he attached great importance to the connection between text and music and achieved a new quality through the use of the colorful and consonant-rich Polish language. The strophic songs, which at first glance often appear simple, but sometimes astonishingly artistic, were widespread in Poland at the end of the 16th century and were valued by Catholics and Protestants alike. ReRenaissance interprets these movements with a mixture of homogeneous strings and plucking sounds, as well as a broken consort from both types of instruments. While the harp, lute and lirone provide rich harmonic timbres, the viols emphasize the polyphonic lines of the psalm movements.

Agnieszka Budzinska-Bennett - vocals, organ, direction | Marc Lewon - Lute | Caroline Ritchie - bass viol and lirone | Leonardo Bortolotto - bass viol and treble viol | NN - Triple Harp | Elizabeth Rumsey: co-lead

July 31
 

Vasilissa ergo gaude - The motets of Guillaume Du Fay
 

"Well rejoice, Basel", one might think, is the title of the beginning of the earliest motet by the Burgundian composer Guillaume Du Fay in translation. But “Basilea” (or “Vasilissa”) is an ambiguous word and in Greek also means “queen”. This work was dedicated to the future Queen Cleofa of the house of the Malatesta of Pesaro, to see her off to Constantinople on her marriage. And like this, most of Du Fay's motets can be linked to a very specific occasion - a place, a time and a story - which makes them all the more interesting. The "motet" was one of the most important forms of vocal music from the High Middle Ages to the High Baroque and changed enormously during this time. Dufay's motets still show the strict order of medieval composition techniques, which he mastered so masterfully and adapted to the taste of his time that following these rules set no limits to his artistic expression: here the spirit of the early Renaissance blows through the demanding constructs of the Late Gothic, interpreted by the a cappella ensemble from ReRenaissance.
 

Tessa Roos - vocals, co-lead | NN, NN, NN, NN - vocal ensemble | Coaching and coordination: Marc Lewon


 

August 28th

La Fontegara -
Homage to Sylvestro Ganassi
 

«You have to know that all musical instruments […] have a lower value than this compared to the human voice. That is precisely why we try to learn from it and to imitate it. " This is the opening movement of the most important explicit recorder textbook of the Renaissance. Printed in Venice in 1535, the «Opera Intitulata Fontegara» continues to set standards for our understanding of music and especially the virtuoso play with diminutions. The focus of this first major work by Sylvestro Ganassi is the recorder, but it does not contain finished pieces that could be performed. Rather, it is a stylized snapshot of the diminution practice at that time, which should be relived in this concert in its own transfers and improvisations. According to the clear instructions from the first chapter of Fontegara, the main task of the instruments is to “imitate the human voice with all its abilities” and Ganassi is convinced that the recorder can achieve this feat.
 

Tabea Schwartz - recorder; Management | Andreas Böhlen - recorder | NN - singing | NN - keyboard instruments | NN - harp

 

25th of September 

Unitas et Varietas -
Expanded forms and miniatures from 1547
 

A viol consort in the mid-16th century would have played many types of repertoire, including the often neglected instrumental ricercari. This practice is to be honored in this concert with three collections from 1547. Thanks to the special instrumental fantasies of Jacques Buus, some of the extremes of the instrumental music played at the time become noticeable. Instrumental ricercari can range from a few phrases to something much longer; Jacques Buus' Ricercari are dense and complicated and are among the longest pieces in the fantasy style of the time. At the other extreme are the dances in Attaingnant's collection, which are miniatures of form, tiny pavans and galliards mixed with branles and tourdions. The third pillar of the gamba consort is vocal music - here the focus is on the unknown Dominique Phinot, whose beautiful five-part motets give the viols plenty of scope for word painting and ornamentation.
 

Filipa Meneses - viol | Leonardo Bortolotto - viol | Alexandra Polin - viol | Ryosuke Sakamoto - viol and lute | Elizabeth Rumsey - viol; management

30th of October

Freshly tweaked -
a Basel lute course
 

In the basement of the Barfüsserkirche, Basel Historical Museum, some of the most beautiful Renaissance rooms in Basel have been reconstructed and furnished for the public. With their wood paneling, windows made of mouth-blown slug panes and heavy furniture, it was probably those rooms that provided the actual backdrop for making music in private rooms in the 15th and 16th centuries - and for this purpose, playing the lute came first. The repertoire for this was written down in manuscripts or distributed by printing notes - and a notation was specially developed for this: the lute tablature. Whether personal copying or printing, the early lute tablatures contain the repertoire that was played here, because this music was intended for domestic use, and was played and heard in small groups in the rooms and chambers - or all by yourself. For our “Basel Lute Parcours”, four Basel lutenists present four short programs, each inviting a small group of listeners to listen to their chambers and take part in the intimate setting. Solo lute pieces are interpreted from sources from the late 15th to the late 16th century, which are often related to Basel. A tour through the four stations lets you experience the sound spectrum of one of the most popular instruments of the Renaissance for a century: the plectrum-played lute of the 15th century as well as the finger-plucked (or in the jargon of the time: "pinched") lute of the 16th century.
 

Marc Lewon, Julian Behr, Peter Croton, Ziv Braha - lute | Head: Marc Lewon

November 27th

Transeamus: to Bethlehem! -
Spanish vocal polyphony
 

Born around 1520, Francisco Guerrero was allowed to call himself “maestro de capilla” at the age of 17. His life begins and ends in Seville, but his vocation as a musician and priest does not only lead him to Italy. The saying of the shepherds in the Christmas story "Let us go to Bethlehem!" he put it into practice in 1589 and traveled to the Promised Land. His setting of that very quotation from the Bible should therefore be heard again along with other motets. In this concert, a cooperation between ReRenaissance and the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis enables a unique experience: As in the 16th century, children's voices and professional singers come together in a common capella. Accompanied by typical instruments of the Spanish Renaissance, the beginning of the Advent season is heralded.
 

Ivo Haun - vocals | NN, NN– singing | NN - Dulcian | Management team: Federico Sepúlveda, Ivo Haun, Tabea Schwartz

December 18th

Noël normand, Rouen 1474 -
Music for angels and shepherds
 

Rouen, 1474. The story of the Nativity is told here every year, as in every city, town, and hamlet, following the narrative’s inevitable path to the joyful conclusion with the holy family at its centre. But step back and take a wider view, and we see the supporting players; the Shepherds making their way to Bethlehem, and the Angels who watch over them. They have their own music, which we will hear through compositions of the time, taken from the beautifully decorated songbooks of the nobility and adapted to the verses of the Rouen play. The Angels sing to the accompaniment of lute, harp and organ; the Shepherds to the lively fiddle and flute, bagpipes and hurdy-gurdy.

Grace Newcombe – Voice, Harp | Tessa Roos – Voice, Bells | N.N. – Voice | N.N. – Voice | Raitis Grigalis – Voice | Claire Piganiol – Portative organ, Harp | Baptiste Romain – Vielle, Rebec, Bagpipes | Tabea Schwartz – Recorders | Tobie Miller – Hurdy-gurdy, Recorders | Marc Lewon – Lute, Gittern | Leitungsteam: Elizabeth Rumsey, Marc Lewon, David Fallows

24. April

Grünewalds Grossgeige – Taufe eines Spezialinstruments für ReRenaissance

Basel, 1511: Sebastian Virdung veröffentlicht «Musica getutscht», darin enthalten: Beschreibungen aller Arten von Instrumenten, einschliesslich der gestrichenen, mit Bünden versehenen Grossgeige.
Basel, 2021: Ein Geschenk ermöglicht den Auftrag an Jacob Mariani aus Oxford für den Bau einer Grossgeige. Der Isenheimer Altar von Matthias Grünewald birgt in der Mitteltafel ein Engelskonzert, gespielt mit den von Virdung beschriebenen Streichinstrumenten. Diese Darstellung zählt zu den stärksten der Spätgotik und ist geprägt von den mystischen Visionen der heiligen Birgitta von Schweden. 

Zur Eröffnung erklingen weltliche Lieder aus Grünewalds Jugendzeit. Das Engelskonzert wird mit religiösen Werken aus den 1510er Jahren heraufbeschworen und gipfelt in einer deutschen Motette des Baslers Ludwig Senfl. Das Ende von Grünewalds Leben muss vom Aufkommen der Reformation und den Bauernkriegen geprägt gewesen sein, eine Zeit im Umbruch, die den Abschluss des Programmes bestimmt.

 

Jacob Lawrence – Gesang
Marc Lewon – Laute, Quinterne, Grossgeige
Tabea Schwartz – Blockflöte, Einhandflöte, Grossgeige
Elizabeth Rumsey – Grossgeige; Produktion
Baptiste Romain – Kleingeige, Dudelsack; Leitung


29. Mai
 

Im Mayen – Lassoprojekt

 

Zum Wonnemonat Mai gibt es bereits in der Renaissance unzählige Lieder. Liebesgedichte und lebensfreudige Texte mit einem jahreszeitlichen Bezug wie das berühmte Im Mayen hört man die Hahnen krayen werden auch bei Orlando di Lasso vertont. Im Programm werden diese Stücke durch ein gemischtes Vokalquartett aufgeführt, das sich auf Instrumenten selbst begleitet und bisweilen kunstvolle Vokalverzierungen in die gesungenen Linien einfügt. Der besondere Klang des Lautenduos, das bereits im Septemberkonzert 2020 zu hören war, erfährt ein Comeback mit jüngerem Repertoire aus den späteren Jahrzehnten des 16. Jahrhunderts. Aber es sind auch interessierte Chorsänger*innen eingeladen, Musik gemeinsam mit dem Vokalquartett vorzubereiten und so im Konzert aktiv dabei zu sein. Sie können Lassos berühmte Ensemblemusik anhand der originalen Notation aus einer neuen Perspektive kennenlernen.

Ivo Haun – Gesang, Laute; Leitung

Jessica Jans – Gesang

Giovanna Baviera – Gesang, Gambe

Rui Stähelin – Gesang, Laute

Elizabeth Rumsey – Produktion


26. Juni
 

Psalmy Dawida – Melodien für den polnischen Psalter 

Die aus Polen stammende Sängerin Agnieszka Budzińska-Bennett und andere Spezialist:innen der frühen Musik nehmen uns mit auf die Spuren von Mikołaj Gomółka (1535–1609).


Der polnische Komponist vertonte die von Jan Kochanowski in Reime gesetzten Psalmen Davids. Dabei legte er höchsten Wert auf die Verbindung von Text und Musik. Seine Raffinesse im Umgang mit den Nuancen der polnischen Sprache bereitete den Weg zu einem nationalen Kunststil.


Agnieszka Budzińska-Bennett – Gesang, Leitung
Marc Lewon – Laute, Renaissancegitarre und Altgambe
Leonardo Bortolotto – Bass- und Diskantgambe
Masako Art – Tripel- und Renaissanceharfe
Caroline Ritchie – Bassgambe
Elizabeth Rumsey: Produktion

31. Juli
 

Du Fay – A cappella!
 

«Nun freue dich, Basel», so könnte man meinen, heisst der Anfang der frühesten Motette des burgundischen Komponisten Guillaume Du Fay in Übersetzung. Doch «Basilea» (oder «Vasilissa») ist ein vieldeutiges Wort und bedeutet im Griechischen eben auch «Königin». Dieses Werk war der angehenden Königin Cleofa aus dem Hause der Malatesta von Pesaro gewidmet, um sie zu ihrer Verheiratung nach Konstantinopel zu verabschieden. Und so wie diese, lassen sich die meisten von Du Fays Motetten mit einem ganz bestimmten Anlass – also einem Ort, einer Zeit und einer Geschichte – verbinden, was sie umso interessanter macht. Die «Motette» war vom Hochmittelalter bis in den Hochbarock eine der wichtigsten Formen von Vokalmusik und wandelte sich in dieser Zeit enorm. Du Fays Motetten zeigen in ihrer Anlage immer noch die strenge Ordnung mittelalterlicher Kompositionstechniken, die er aber so meisterhaft beherrschte und dem Geschmack seiner Zeit anpasste, dass die Befolgung dieser Regeln seinem künstlerischen Ausdruck keine Grenzen setzte: hier weht der Geist der Frührenaissance durch die anspruchsvollen Konstrukte der Spätgotik, interpretiert durch das A-cappella-Ensemble von ReRenaissance.
 

Gesang: Hanna Marti, Loïc Paulin, Simon MacHale, Jed Allen, Koordination: Marc Lewon
Tessa Roos – Gesang, Leitung
 

28. August

Mit der Flöte singen! –
 La Fontegara von Ganassi

«Ihr müsst wissen, dass alle Musikinstrumente […] im Vergleich mit der menschlichen Stimme einen geringeren Wert haben als diese. Eben darum bemühen wir uns, von ihr zu lernen und sie zu imitieren.» Dies ist der eröffnende Satz zum wichtigsten expliziten Blockflötenlehrbuch der Renaissance. Gedruckt in Venedig 1535 setzt die «Opera Intitulata Fontegara» bis heute Massstäbe für unser Musikverständnis und insbesondere das virtuose Spiel mit Diminutionen. Im Mittelpunkt dieses ersten grossen Werks Sylvestro Ganassis steht die Blockflöte, doch es enthält nicht etwa fertige Stücke, die man aufführen könnte. Es handelt sich vielmehr um eine stilisierte Momentaufnahme der Diminutionspraxis zu jener Zeit, die in diesem Konzert in eigenen Übertragungen und Improvisationen wiedererfahrbar werden soll. Entsprechend der klaren Anweisung aus dem ersten Kapitel der Fontegara kommt hierbei den Instrumenten vor allem die Aufgabe zu, «die menschliche Stimme mit all ihren Fähigkeiten nachzuahmen» und Ganassi ist überzeugt, dass der Blockflöte dieses Kunststück gelingen kann.
 

Andreas Böhlen – Leitung, Blockflöte | Tabea Schwartz – Blockflöte, Viola d'arco | Claire Piganiol – Arpa doppia, Blockflöte | Ivo Haun, Gesang, Laute | Félix Verry – Renaissancegeige

 

25. September 

Über kurz oder lang –
Erweiterte Formen und Miniaturen von 1547
 

Ein Gambenconsort in der Mitte des 16. Jahrhunderts hätte viele Arten von Repertoire gespielt, darunter auch die oft vernachlässigten instrumentale Ricercari. Dieser Praxis soll in diesem Konzert anhand von drei Sammlungen aus dem Jahr 1547 gewürdigt werden. Dank der besonderen Instrumentalfantasien von Jacques Buus machen sich so einige der Extreme der damals gespielten Instrumentalmusik bemerkbar. Instrumentale Ricercari können von einigen wenigen Phrasen bis hin zu etwas viel Längerem reichen; Jacques Buus' Ricercari sind dicht und kompliziert und gehören zu den längsten Stücken im Fantasiestil der Zeit. Das andere Extrem sind die Tänze in Attaingnants Sammlung, die Miniaturen der Form sind, winzige Pavanen und Galliarden gemischt mit Branles und Tourdions. Die dritte Säule des Gambenconsorts ist die Vokalmusik – hier liegt der Schwerpunkt auf dem unbekannten Dominique Phinot, dessen schöne fünfstimmige Motetten den Gamben grossen Spielraum für Wortmalerei und Verzierungen lassen.
 

Filipa Meneses – Gambe | Leonardo Bortolotto – Gambe | Alexandra Polin – Gambe | Ryosuke Sakamoto – Gambe und Laute | Elizabeth Rumsey – Gambe; Leitung

30. Oktober

Frisch gezwickt –
Ein Basler Lautenparcours
 

Im Kellergeschoss der Barfüsserkirche, Historisches Museum Basel, wurden einige der schönsten Renaissancestuben Basels für das Publikum rekonstruiert und eingerichtet. Mit ihren Holzvertäfelungen, Fenstern aus mundgeblasenen Butzenscheiben und schweren Möbeln waren es wohl solche Stuben, die im 15. und 16. Jahrhundert die eigentliche Kulisse für das Musizieren im privaten Raum stellten – und für diesen Zweck stand das Spiel auf der Laute an erster Stelle. Das Repertoire dazu wurde in Handschriften niedergelegt oder per Notendruck verbreitet – und es wurde eigens eine Notenschrift dafür entwickelt: die Lautentabulatur. Ob persönliche Abschrift oder Druck, die frühen Lautentabulaturen bergen das Repertoire, das hier erklang, denn diese Musik war für den Hausgebrauch gedacht, wurde in den Stuben und Kemenaten im kleinen Kreis – oder ganz für sich allein – gespielt und gehört. Für unseren «Basler Lautenparcours» warten vier Basler Lautenisten mit vier Kurzprogrammen auf und laden jeweils einen kleinen Zuhörerkreis ein, in ihre Kammer zu lauschen und am intimen Rahmen teilzuhaben. Dabei werden Solo-Lautenstücke aus Quellen des späten 15. bis späten 16. Jahrhunderts interpretiert, die häufig einen Bezug nach Basel aufweisen. Ein Rundgang durch die vier Stationen lässt so das Klangspektrum eines der beliebtesten Instrumente der Renaissance über ein Jahrhundert hinweg erfahren: die plektrumgespielte Laute des 15. Jahrhunderts ebenso wie die fingergezupften (oder im Jargon der Zeit: «gezwickten») Lauten des 16. Jahrhunderts.
 

Marc Lewon, Bor Zuljan, Peter Croton, Ziv Braha – Laute | Leitung: Marc Lewon

27. November

Transeamus: nach Bethlehem! –
Spanische Vokalpolyphonie
 

Um 1520 geboren, darf sich Francisco Guerrero schon im Alter von 17 Jahren «maestro de capilla» nennen. Sein Leben beginnt und endet in Sevilla, doch seine Berufung als Musiker und Priester führt ihn nicht nur nach Italien. Den Ausspruch der Hirten in der Weihnachtsgeschichte «Lasset uns ziehen nach Bethlehem!» setzt er 1589 in die Tat um und bereist das Gelobte Land. Seine Vertonung eben jenes Bibelzitats soll deshalb nebst anderen Motetten wieder erklingen. In diesem Konzert ermöglicht eine Kooperation zwischen ReRenaissance und der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis ein einmaliges Erlebnis: Wie im 16. Jahrhundert kommen Kinderstimmen und professionelle Sänger*innen in einer gemeinsamen Capella zusammen. Begleitet von typischen Instrumenten der spanischen Renaissance wird der Beginn der Adventszeit eingeläutet.
 

Künstlerische Leitung – Federico Sepúlveda, Ivo Haun, Juan Diaz de Corcuera, Tabea | Musiker:innen – Kinderensemble Oy ... cantemos!, Studierende der SCB

18. Dezember

Noël normand, Rouen 1474 –
Musik für Engel und Hirten
 

Rouen, 1474: Wie in den Städten und auf dem Land üblich wird die Weihnachtsgeschichte erzählt; man folgt dem bekannten Ablauf bis zum freudigen Abschluss mit der Heiligen Familie im Zentrum. Es lohnt sich aber, einen Schritt zurückzutreten und die Geschehnisse aus einer grösseren Perspektive zu betrachten; so rücken die vermeintlichen Neben-charaktere ins Blickfeld: Die Hirten machen sich auf den Weg nach Bethlehem und die Engel wachen über sie. Sie alle treten mit ihrer eigenen Musik in zeitgenössischen Kompositionen auf; Engel singen mit Laute, Harfe und Orgel, Hirten zu den pastoralen Klängen von Fidel und Flöte, Dudelsack und Drehleier. Die Verse des Rouen-Spiels werden nach Art der Zeit den Melodien aus wunderschön dekorierten Liederbüchern des Adels unterlegt und verschmelzen so zu einer einzigartigen Interpretation des traditionsreichen Werkes.
 

Grace Newcombe – Gesang, Harfe | Tessa Roos – Gesang, Glocken | Matthieu Romanens – Gesang | Raitis Grigalis – Gesang | Claire Piganiol – Organetto, Harfe | Baptiste Romain – Fidel, Dudelsack | Tabea Schwartz – Blockflöte | Tobie Miller – Drehleier, Gesang | Marc Lewon – Laute, Gesang | Leitungsteam: Elizabeth Rumsey, Marc Lewon, David Fallows